We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin Center, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Loved everything!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

To be honest, I was not expecting much from an "Express" hotel. To my surprise, this hotel blew me away with its value for the price. I booked a standard double queen room, but walking in, the room did not seem "standard". It was very roomy and cozy, and most important; crisp and clean. The staff was phenomenal from check in to check out. Every person that I encountered on the staff was genuinely friendly and willing to help. The man at the desk at night delivered Disney-like service with my children and was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction of local activities. Kids loved the pool, and if the kids are happy, that makes everything worth while. All in all, this was a quality hotel with a crisp and friendly atmosphere. We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the west so the sun doesn't rise through the window in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaiah007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    37
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
54
17
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A friend and I attended a 2-day workshop and Kent State and decided to stay nearer campus. The desk clerk was friendly--he even kept a couple of white chocolate cranberry cookies warm for us until we returned from dinner! The queen room was plenty spacious, very clean, and comfortable. I have never been able to sleep on my first night in any hotels, but I slept like a baby as soon as my head hit the pillow here. The mattress was firm but soft, if that makes sense, and the pillows were just like mine at home. I was worried about noise as we stayed in a first floor room, and there were some children staying, but there was no noise to speak of. Breakfast was wonderful, and included a wide range of hot and cold foods as well as fruit, juices and coffee. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Mom_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was really impressed with the level of service that I received while at this Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed at more upscale hotels and not been treated as well. The hotel was spotless and friendly, the breakfast great. I almost did not stay because of a couple of the pics and the reviews...you can't go by them, you must experience this hotel first hand. Thanks Holiday Inn Express Kent Ohio!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Extremely clean and updated hotel.
Clean, unstained sheets and towels
No dirt on the carpet
clean walls
bathroom looked brand new
the pool was immaculate
breakfast had a good variety, however no fruit which I thought was weird
plenty of parking

My only issue is how thin and hollow feeling the floors were. You can hear people just walking around above you. I stayed off the kent state school season so it wasn't too bad, but I could imagine if this place was packed it'd be a problem for a lot of people. One would have thought with all the upgrades at this place, they would have invested in some basic floor insulating. It seems like the floors were constructed like a normal house.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Loui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have stayed here several times and it is clean and well maintained. The staff at the front desk (Stuart) was very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was we went a bit later for breakfast one morning and there wasn't much left. Otherwise things were fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

From Dean the friendly night manager to a great breakfast this is the place to stay. Dean gave great directions to local stores. The adjoining rooms were somewhat loud when we arrived, but very quickly got quiet after we all got settled in. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor was easy to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reynolds3701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were in town for a baseball tournament. We booked one of the Suites with a Sofa bed! The fridge and counter space in the room was wonderful! The floors seem a little thin either that or the people above us were from the Circus!!! I swear they were moving Elephants up there! They woke us up at 6:20am on the one morning we got to sleep in. Over all our stay was pretty good. Breakfast in the morning was perfect for the boys. Nutritious and plenty of it! The pool in this hotel was perfect for the kids! There were basketball nets to keep them entertained! We would stay here again but would request the top floor to avoid noise!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockeymum514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Kent
Comfort Inn Kent
#3 of 8 in Kent
250 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
7.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kent State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kent State University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
Address: 1215 Sanctuary View Dr, Kent, OH 44240-8205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kent State University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kent, Ohio is a 74 room and suites hotel, easily accessible of I-76 at exit 33. We are the smart choice when choosing a hotel in the Kent, Akron, Ravenna and Tallmadge areas.Rapidly rising in popularity of hotels in Northeast Ohio, this hotel is the most convenient location to the Kent State University Campus, Northeast Ohio College of Medicine (NEOUCOM), Summit Racing, Hess Print Solution, Goodyear Tire & Rubber, Bridgestone Invitational, and Lockheed Martin.Business travelers look to our hotel to provide them with more amenities than they could find elsewhere. We Feature an over sized fitness room, state-of-the-art aerobic equipment, with a view into our elongated indoor pool. Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel meets every guest s need. The Smart Start breakfast is always a hit, but we are told that the sweet tidbits and evening snacks served with a smiling face, take hospitality to an excellent level.Leisure travelers find our hotel convenient to the Kent Folk Festival, Portage County Fairgrounds, Summit County Fairgrounds, Soap Box Derby, Hartville Flee Market, NFL Hall of Fame, Ravenna Balloon-A-Thon, Firestone & other Ohio Golf Courses. Visit nearby Downtown Akron W/First Night, AA Founders Day & Akron U.We are one of the first hotels in Ohio to offer a 100% smoke free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kent State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University Hotel Kent
Holiday Inn Kent
Kent Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing