We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ray's Place

Ray's Place
Ranked #1 of 112 Restaurants in Kent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roostown, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I just discovered this little gem in downtown Kent and we love it. I would highly recommend the Mo Fo burger. It was probably the best burger I've ever had! They have an amazing beer selection and great atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    74
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had dinner here and had to wait half hour for a table. Food is just average bar food and tends to be a little on the spicy side.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook Park, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I heard about this place from Michael Symon Food Channel apperence. I ordered the Mofo which on TV looked huge. It was average but tasty with no fries and at $7.99 was a bit pricey for a burger. My wife ordered the Ruben which came out fatty and lots of bread. Thanks to our server they took it back and came out with an egg plant parm which my liked. The place was neat and there was plenty of beer selection to be had. It's about an hour from where I live in Cleveland so I do not think I will go back. If you are in the Kent area I would reconvened trying

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cds1macy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor Food, Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I went to Ray's Place while visiting KSU in mid-august based on the notoriety the joint received from Chef Michael Symon. We ordered two of burgers and a Ruben. The burgers were dry and similar to a hockey puck. The fries we ordered were greasy and cooked in old shortening. The Ruben was dry, missing the 1000 islands dressing. I don't think this place knows how to cook or prepare food. While the beer might be cheap and delicious, I can't say the same for the food. If you want a good burger, check out Five Guys or Burger King.

The server was very slow. We were seated by the kitchen and noticed the abundance of food sitting, waiting for additional sides, etc. A little organization would go a long way to fixing these problems!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been going to Ray's for more than 30 years and it has managed to keep its original charm even with some renovations. The food is mostly bar food but we are able to find something for our vegan and vegetarian family members. Don't expect to have great dinner conversation if you are with a group but a table of 4 can converse over the roar. Great local joint.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CFBau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ray's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing