We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to visit”
Review of Mike's Place

Mike's Place
Ranked #2 of 128 Restaurants in Kent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We have always seen this place and wanted to eat there. Tonight we stopped by for dinner with the family. The place is real eclectic with different themes throughout the restaurant. We got to sit in the Margaritaville room. There are other rooms such as a bus a boat and near the bar. The wait staff was friendly and new the menu. Since they serve breakfast lunch and dinner all at the same time this was a huge benefit for us. A few of us ordered the dinners one ordered from the lunch and one ordered breakfast. The dinner and lunch portions were huge and offered so much more than the breakfast. The breakfast was very disappointing because it was a small portion and cost nearly the same as the dinner portions. When we asked about the differences and portion size our waitress did not have an answer. We will be back to visit again but we will only go for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank BRADH520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 378 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We were visiting an antique store in the area and asked about a good lunch stop. Mike ' s was recommended, so off we went. What a fun place! Our granddaughter enjoyed the decor - lots to talk about. Our meals: salads, wings and a turkey wrap, were delicious. The smothered tater tots were especially tasty. Friendly and efficient staff too. Definitely worth a return trip.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Mike's place...an eclectic dining experience if ever there was one! From the castle dungeon to the bus in the building...from "The Dump" breakfast to "The Stuanator Burger"...the food is AWESOME and PLENTIFUL!!! The menu is worth reading from cover-to-cover...as is exploring all of the momentos on the walls and hanging from the ceiling! BEST food and BEST atmosphere in this part of Ohio!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alceran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

One of the only places I've ever ate and left feeling drunk, without alcohol. LOL. Generous servings, good food and great service. My fave: Bed of fries topped with BBQ pork, cheddar cheese, bacon and coke slaw. Never left disappointed. Love the decor as well as the prices.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

A friend told me about the great food, huge portions and quirkiness of the decor at Mike's Place in Kent, Ohio, and he wasn't wrong about any of that. We arrived at the restaurant on a Saturday night, were told we'd have a 20-or-so-minute wait -- which turned out to be less than 10.

Once seated -- and the walk to our table was fun -- we had never been there before and there's something great to look at on every wall and every nook and cranny in the place -- we ordered -- at least for me -- what I like to call "comfort food" -- meat loaf. My wife ordered a fish dish. Both were very tasty and quite reasonably priced. Our portions were quite large -- and, just as we had seen just about every customer do when they left the restaurant, we carried out our leftovers in "doggy bags"

The menu is extensive -- and very humorous, service very attentive -- all in all means a fun place, good food and a nice dining experience. We can hardly wait to sample their breakfasts, which, as our friendly waitress described them, are "awesome."

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Adman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Place also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing