We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For sure not Hampton Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For sure not Hampton Quality”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The property is wedged into one area with two other hotels and across Ohio 43 from a few more. Nothing made it stand out from the cheaper places on the same side.

I normally stay at what I term "high end mid hotels," such as Fairfield, hampton, Holiday Inn Express and the like. Although this hotel had the "Hampton" name it was truly not much than Super 8 or Days Inn, in quality.

The rooms had some of the richness normally found in Hampton Inns but there was lots of plainness too. The bathroom and shower, while clean did not have a "just cleaned" look. One could tell that the bed was going to be lumpy by just looking at it, in its "just made" condition. The looks were not deceiving. Lumpy is as lumpy was. The carpet was splotchy and ready to be cleaned. The biggest complaint was the thin windows. Loud trucks and motorcycles were heard all night roaring up Ohio 43. Luckily I could not hear individual traffic on I-76 but could still discern the drone. The interior hallways were boiling hot. The daughter's room was almost unbearable by clicking noises from the air conditioner.

Reception was good and the breakfast was a bright point.

Long story short - I shoulda shopped around. An okay night's sleep but not worth the rate that I paid....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodle1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    99
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
150
57
19
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and quiet. All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libbyglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Friendly staff and very clean room. You can tell the owner takes a lot of pride in the property. Nice breakfast selection. Will definitely stay there again when in the Kent area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lettersb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed for our daughter's graduation from Kent State U. The hotel was fully booked, but service was excellent. We did have a problem with the toilet in our room, which was fixed immediately. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast went very smoothly, despite the full house. Food was kept stocked, coffee filled and tables were all clean. The location is convenient, right off the highway, but it is sandwiched between two other hotels, the Hampton being the best of the lot. We didn't have time to swim or work out, but the pool looked very nice, as did the exercise room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandfun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We made reservations online to another hotel next door to Hampton Inn. We were attending an Anniversary Party in Cuyahoga Falls. We drove several hours from Indy. Upon our arrival in Kent we checked in and out of the other "Inn" within an hour because of the horrible condition of our room. We went to Hampton Inn and explained our problem. The staff was friendly and understanding and found us a room. We were able to relax and unwind before heading out to meet with family members. The hotel was tastefully decorated, clean, quiet with one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in. Unfortunately because we had time restrictions we did not have an opportunity to try the breakfast or use any of the other facilities on site. This hotel was the complete opposite from our initial experience in Kent and the quiet, clean, comfortable night went a long way in improving our experience. We were able to enjoy our trip and went away with good memories.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jperdue192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkinnear, Director of Revenue Management at Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am very pleased that your trip was salvaged and we allowed you to leave Kent with happy memories. It will be my pleasure to pass along your compliments to our wonderful staff!

Best Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

This, like most Hampton Inn's is conveniently located right off of the highway. Access is strange as it shares a driveway for multiple hotels but it wasn't difficult. We were a late arrival (11pm) and after 12 hours of driving ready for shower and a good night's sleep. Check in at the front desk was quick but indifferent. Whatever..I was so tired at that point, I didn't care. The one thing that was pretty off putting was the lighting, every light in the place used the energy saving compact fluorescent bulbs and not the good ones. This gave the hotel the vibe of a 1970's inner-city hospital with its harsh, blue light in the halls and rooms.

The room was very clean and bed was extremely comfortable. The free wi-fi was sufficient, but painfully slow even for doing email and basic surfing. Breakfast was the standard fare at these types of places but the staff overseeing the seating area was extremely friendly and did a great job keeping the breakfast items stocked and the tables clean. All in all, a good choice if you get past the lighting.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I was more than pleased with the Kent Ohio Hampton Inn, the rooms were immaculate! Rooms were super clean, fresh and comfortable bedding, the staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was great, and even had "breakfast on the go" for those who didn't have time to sit down for breakfast. Great location to Kent State University. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivinityUnique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Kent
Comfort Inn Kent
#3 of 8 in Kent
252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Stow
Hampton Inn Stow
#1 of 4 in Stow
430 reviews
7.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area

Property: Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
Address: 4406 State Route 43, Kent, OH 44240-6922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Kent/Akron is conveniently located in Kent, Ohio just minutes from Kent State University. Our hotel has 76 guestrooms, accessible rooms, pool, business center and fitness center to accommodate all of your traveling needs. In addition to the free hot breakfast, fresh Hampton Bed and free high speed internet in every room, our hotel proudly offers the 100% Hampton Guarantee on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area Hotel Kent
Kent Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing