We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEDBUGS!!!!! January 31, 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Kent - Akron
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kent
St. Andrews, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEDBUGS!!!!! January 31, 2012”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

One night here and look at my arms. The manager was supposed to call me today regarding my stay but still hasn't!!!!!!! I am absolutely miserable!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkilps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Kent - Akron, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
I am very sorry for the incident occurred. I wanted to assure you though that we have taken care of the problem. We Have received all new beds and bedding and we have someone come spray every 2 - 3 weeks so the problem does not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    63
    67
    55
    96
See reviews for
133
38
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The location is excellent for what we need. Before the trip, I researched the hotel. I found out there was 1 bed bug incident in 2010 (also confirmed by bed bug registry). I checked the hotel for bed bugs are there was no evidence. I reserved a double bed but was told I have 2 single beds (I think the hotel clerk meant 2 double beds). I'm not sure what happened to the 1 double bed request. The room was adequate but old and outdated. The carpet appeared it was vacuumed but really old. The bathroom was tiny and there was something questionable behind the toilet. I called to ask if it's mold or if anyone had reported any work done but the hotel clerk didn't seem to know. I was told that some bathrooms were being worked on. Anyway, we needed the room and I've spent time checking for bed bugs so didn't request for another room (see picture). The furniture in the room was really old. The rate was definitely within our budget and the breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viscountesslily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Kent - Akron, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us! I wanted to assure you that since your stay we have renovated our rooms and the bathrooms and received all new chairs, beds and bedding. Again I am very sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kent hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Good value, clean and with a friendly staff.We have stayed here many times while visting family in Kent --this is an older motel that has been well maintained . It is very reasonably priced ,has a microwave and refigerater in each room--even a free newspaper in the morning and a decent buffet breakfast-- and a nice small pool.it is older so if that bothers you be aware. All the negative reviews puzzle me --it is in an area of several other motels( some much more expensive)--so I question the truthfullness of several of these reviews.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardener46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Price could be attractive with this hotel. But there is a reason for the price. They will give you unpleasant feeling from the response by the telephone! Especially, Indian woman's response is so horrible that I can guarantee you will feel miserable. I will never come back to use this hotel in the future. If you want to be treated just like a nornal customer, think again to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akemi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Almost didn't stay because of the bad reviews.... It was pleasant and so was the staff. We stayed 4 nights.
Jim --- Ohio

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfreiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemlock, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were initially disappointed because the mattress the 1st night was SO SOFT, so bumpy, that we had a terrible nights rest. However, in the morning, we were relocated to another room w/two beds and staff said if one did not satisfy, it was hoped the other would- they did!! The pool was nice- small but clean. Get towels at the office when you check in. There are many eateries within a drive.

Room Tip: If something is amiss, bring it to the desk's attention..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HemlockMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Bed bugs - bed bugs - bed bugs. If you enjoy being eaten alive while you sleep, having to launder your clothes repeatedly, end up tossing most of them out along with your suitcase, being covered in red, severely itching welts for weeks, not knowing if you've now infested your own home, and being shunned by friends and family - and all while not getting your money returned for the joy of staying in this nightmare of a hotel - then this is the place for you. Stay out!!!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank twschaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Kent
Comfort Inn Kent
#2 of 8 in Kent
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Streetsboro
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kent - Akron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kent - Akron

Property: Days Inn Kent - Akron
Address: 4422 Edson Rd, I-76 & State Route 43, Kent, OH 44240-6996
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Kent - Akron 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Kent - Akron is conveniently located off I-76 Exit 33, at State Route 43, just 3 miles from Kent State University. Our hotel features Free Continental Breakfast, Free High Speed Internet, Free Local Calls, Fitness Center, and a Seasonal Outdoor Heated Pool. Our rooms are equipped with Coffee Makers, Hair Dryers, Alarm Clock Radios and 27 Inch Cable Television with HBO. We offer Clean, Comfortable rooms that are the Best Value Under the Sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Kent - Akron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kent-Akron Hotel Kent
Kent Days Inn
Days Inn Kent - Akron Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing