We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”
Review of Island House

Island House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We loved our dinner at the island house!
We began with French 75 martinis--light and refreshing. We enjoyed the goat roulade. The dates with chorizo and bacon were delicious. Nice big fresh salad was next. Then we ordered the ribeye cooked perfectly to medium rare with lots of fresh black pepper.
And then we had island house coffee with our delicious bread pudding.
Janelle was our server who was so much fun and informative about the great food options.
Probably going back for dinner tonight!

Helpful?
Thank PattiLW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fantastic service, great beer list”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We spent the day on Kelley's Island and decided to eat a late lunch around 2pm. We sat on the patio and had delicious bruschetta with fresh, local tomatoes and lamb shawarma sandwiches. The standout portion of the meal was a Soba noodle side with fresh red peppers. Their beers on tap were extensive with several limited edition brews and super reasonable prices ($5!). We loved the atmosphere and quality of food so much we returned there for dinner the same day and had no regrets. At night they light the fire table and tiki torches and the patio is a great place to finish out the evening. What an absolute gem on the island!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food, island service”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the place to go on Kelleys Island if you want a tasty meal beyond typical bar food.
The stuffed dates appetizer is by far my favorite! The wines are good as are the mixed drinks. I seem to experience the restaurant being out of many dishes when I come. Not sure if that is poor planning or unexpected volumes.
The bar service is better than the table service in my experience. That's not to say the servers are not delightful because they are friendly. I just find the bartenders to be more attentive.
I've tried several items on the menu when they are available. I'll keep going back to try those things that seem to always be out...they must be really good!!!
It's a bit pricier than most other places on the island but different fare.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NannylouG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not our type of restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Lunch on July 4 weekend. Kelley's Island wasn't as crowded as we thought it would be. Few people in the restaurant and almost all at the bar. We chose an outside table that was really nice. Waiter was very attentive, but brought our drinks a few at a time. Bartender seemed to have difficulty making the signature Martinis, as they came long after the rest of the drinks.

Stuffed crab mushrooms were not good and very tiny, especially for the $8 price. Crustini were pretty but again not wonderful. 4 for a nice price again. Lunch choices were slim on the menu. Choice of appetizer or salad, bison burger or gyro type of sandwiches. We were too early for dinner selections.

Chicken gyro had very little substance and I think the taziki (?) sauce was just waved over it. My roasted red potatoes were definitely roasted well.

Bison burgers were a big hit with the few in our party that ordered those.

It was nice to try a different type of restaurant other than the typical burger and fries, but this was not a wonderful lunch for us on Kelley's Island....especially for the $160.00 price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayrshirefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Geauga County, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Sean (not sure of the spelling) was our server and was "lighting fast"! I also asked for 2 items not on the menu (bread and a shrimp salad) and they were able to accommodate. The wine selection was very good, but I would have liked to have had more seafood selections, (crab, scallops, shrimp). Island House is one of our "go to" restaurants every year on Kelleys. We look forward to going again next year!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island House also viewed

 

Been to Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing