We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Nearby Hotels
Surf Motel(Marblehead)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Hotel(Put in Bay)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Resort(Put in Bay)
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Lodging Resort(Put in Bay)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$164
$118
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers(Sandusky)
$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Port Clinton)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
178
20
6
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
20
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchmy husband and iget awaylake eriecheese and crackerscedar pointa wonderful staybreakfast was deliciousgreat hospitalityfeel welcomebed breakfastlong weekendsound of the wavesb bsmade us feelsitting areabrownie
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 207 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We are native Clevelanders who never ventured to the Lake Erie islands until we discovered Waters Edge Retreat which is the most beautiful B&B we've ever stayed at . My wife and I immensely enjoyed the wine, amazing sunsets, a warm fire, and an incredible breakfast. We fell asleep listening to the lapping waves of Lake Erie. One tip: Get up early in the morning for a run along the lakeshore because after devouring Tim and Beth's great breakfast spread -- forget the run and take a bike ride!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northcoastrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Beth & Tim offer first class hospitality at the B & B. Wonderful breakfasts, afternoon wine, lots of amenities like golf carts, bikes, hot tub. Huge porch with rockers to enjoy the view of Lake Erie. You couldn't have a better get-away favorite. We have been going there almost annually since they opened, and look forward to going again. Fun island to explore.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We have been guests at A Water's Edge Retreat every year for the past four years. It is a "double wow"! All rooms are en-suite and are tastefully appointed, providing the comfort of home on an The island itself is as delightful as the carefully designed house, providing escape to nature and access to serenity. Wine and cheese at 4:00 pm provided by the hosts, is a brilliant touch that extends the B and B magic into the evening.

Tim and Beth's breakfasts continue to amaze. We leave the island with breakfast ideas to try with our friends. If only we could be as gracious and talented as our island hosts, we could perhaps make it work.

We hope to return man times to A Water's Edge Retreat where we continue to enjoy elegance and tranquilit at a bargain price. It's a necessary luxury and we love to recommend
this special place to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnow4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

After reading the reviews on this site, we were really looking forward to staying at The Water;s Edge. We were very disappointed with our stay. The main part of the house was very warm and had an unpleasant odor.

There was a general cheapness to how the house was run also. We only received a small bottle of shampoo--no conditioner or moisturizer. It also seemed like they set out the refreshments at times when the fewest people would eat them.

They put out cheese and crackers around 4:30 when people were getting ready to go out for dinner, the evening snacks around 8pm as people were retirng to their rooms, and the breakfast wasn't until 9am! This was very inconvenient if you planned to get started before 10am in the morning.

The lady running the house seemed much more generous but her husband seemed to want to cut corners that made our stay less enjoyable and not the pampering kind of trip you would expect for the pricey nightly rate. We had to ask to be reimbursed for our golf cart which was an agreement in writing if weather prevented you from the promised boat ride.

We wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TonkaBeanOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

While the view is fantastic and it's quiet, we would've wanted a place a little closer to the "downtown" area. It's about a mile and there are no streetlights or sidewalks so at night you need to drive. Rooms are clean and the service is accommodating, but we thought it was overpriced, especially if you purchase a package, which we do not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews