We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful home”
Reviewed August 18, 2008

The house is one of the most beautiful on the island. Though it appears to be an older home, it’s actually new construction so it’s clean and well maintained. The breakfasts and coffee were wonderful, and our bed and sheets were incredibly comfortable. Tim and Beth took us sailing as part of the package on their 35 foot sailboat. Despite a lack of wind, it was a lovely hour or so. I do recommend the place for the right situation. We were three couples who hadn’t seen each other in quite some time, and if I were to do it again, I would choose other lodging. For someone alone or a couple, it’s an outstanding place. For a somewhat rowdy six-some, not so much. Although the culture fit wasn’t right, Tim did his best to make everyone comfortable.

  • Liked — the breakfast, the views
  • Disliked — No place to talk in normal voices - sound carried too much from lakefront porch
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runner_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    18
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
146
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the B&B for a long weekend. Our room was very clean and the view from our room was excellent. Beth and Tim are very nice people and very welcoming. We used the Bikes for an evening and rented the golf cart for the day and toured the whole island. In the mornings before breakfast we would get our coffees and sit on their deck on the water. I would recommend this place if you are traveling to Kelley's Island or even Put In Bay as it is just a ferry boat away!

Town was friendly and fun!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
221 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2005

Having had our long planned Key West long weekend spoiled by Hurricane Dennis, I started searching for a suitable substitute since we and another couple already had childcare. I went online and got a list of all the hotels and B&B's in the Lake Erie islands and started calling to see if anyone had cancellations. I called Beth at the Water's Edge Retreat and was told that they did have a last minute cancellation. Boy was I lucky. Our weekend at Water's Edge Retreat was heaven. Breakfast was fabulous. The house was just as beautiful as the pictures. We enjoyed the beach and the rest of the island. It was a bit pricey for what you got but worth the splurge now and again!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank soontobeforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 30, 2005

My wife and I came to visit Water's Edge Retreat three times. In the past we stayed at other B&B's which were ok,but nothing like this lovely B&B. We found the upscale accomodations perfect. We have come in Spring, Summer and last October. Each time we were greated with such kindness and hospitality. Tim and Beth are always ready to make certain all of the guests are taken care with lots of pampering. In late October visit, instead of sailing, we were given a golf cart to use since the weather did not cooperate. Gourmet Breakfast, wine and cheese hour, hot soups for snacks, warm fireplace going in the parlor...what a treat. Will plan to come back each year we are able. The Flynn"s.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 11, 2003

The place is beautiful. The owners relaxed and nice. They have a great sitting area on the waterfront (across the street). They have a spa that's wonderful after a long drive. They have bikes you can borrow to visit the rest of the island. The rooms with bathroom have been beautifully updated. My husband was a bit intimidated by the balley slippers on the wall if you know what I mean. You can view Cedar Point from the looking glass in the parlor (wine tasting too!). No children allowed.

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelleys Island
6.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
279 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
228 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
390 reviews
7.8 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Water's Edge Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Water's Edge Retreat Resort

Property: A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Address: 827 E. Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 839, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Drive or Fly a thousand miles to enjoy an ocean when we have a Fresh Water Ocean on the North Coast of Ohio, Kelleys Island. Our Waterfront Luxury, Relaxing, Romantic Getaway. Great for Honeymoon, Anniversary or Special Occasion.Gourmet Breakfast Feast, Weddings too! Rated "Best of the Best" by Travel & Leisure (Great Lakes)Three Diamond Award AAA, Featured on NBC's Today Show with Al Roker and Peter Greenburg. Rates run from $199 (off season) to $369 for Honeymoon (High Season)Includes full Gourmet Breakfast Buffet, Sangria Hour with snacks at 4:15, Bicycles each day, Artery Clogging Chocolates in the Foyer in the evening. Access to our Two Large Beach Decks with Rockers, and our Garden Hot Tub Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort Kelleys Island, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing