We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return visit!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville,KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our return visit!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were so glad to return to this GEM on Kelleys Island! This plase is amazing!
The owners Beth & Tim are so graceious and fun to be around. I love to go there, the B&B is very comfortable, clean and quaint. The view from the front porch, looking out over Lake Erie, is so relaxing and peaceful. We rode around the Island on a Golf cart to view other B&B's and we were so glad we came back to " A Water's Edge Resort " it is the Best the Island has!!!
We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Every room has it's own private bath room and view. the Breakfast is wonderful!! The "Paul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary_n_Pat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    19
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
149
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I renewed our vows for our 10th. Invited people from NJ and local from Cleveland. Beth and Tim did the whole job of putting us up in their goregous inn, and coordinated the feast. We renewed in the gazebo out front, with Captain Tim doing the ceromony. Then we partied thru the night. We probably will do it again. Our NJ friends had never been there, and they all said they would go back. This is a real class B@B. Jim

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband & I stayed in the Charles Walter deluxe suite to celebrate our 20th anniversary. The accomodations were fabulous. We took advantage of the spacious rooms, the balcony, the fireplace, and the jacuzzi. We were lucky to be there early fall, and the weather was perfect. We enjoyed sitting on the deck at night looking at the full moon. The breakfasts were fabulous. Lots to choose from , and gormet quality. We also enjoyed the 5pm sangria & cheese & crackers. At the end of the evening, chocolates were waiting for us after 8pm. Yum. Kelly's Island is a peaceful quaint place to visit. And having such lovely accomodations made our anniversary very special!

Room Tip: If you're looking for deluxe accomodations, the Charles Walter room is just as described!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our third time at Water's Edge and it did not disappoint. The breakfasts are phenomenal. We had a different array each day and the omelets florentine, the apple strudel and apple coffee cake made with apples from their yard were scrumptious. The scrambled eggs Benedict divine! Potatoes, thick ham slices, sausage...it just goes on and on....we encouraged Beth to put out a recipe book. This couple goes out of their way to accommodate the wishes and needs of every guest. We certainly will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comfortnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I were going to attend our niece's wedding in Huron but did not want to stay at a noisy water park with the gang and wanted something peaceful. We just retired and wanted something for ourselves and this place was so perfect. The charm and ambience were tremendous but we made our decision at first based on the thought of gourmet breakfasts. We were definitely not dis-appointed! For that alone it would be worth another trip. The true highlight was the exceptionally warm welcome provided by Tim and Beth. They are not only both gourmet cooks but just delightfully interesting individuals and a great team! We plan to go back next year almost as much to see them again as to replay our experiences on the gorgeous island. We loved the hiking and driving a golf cart everywhere rather than our car and hours of sitting on their lake deck just feet from the water's edge where we could read and have a glass or wine (or coffee in the am). We would highly recommend this B&B anytime you can get a reservation.
Jim and Jan

Room Tip: All the rooms look great but we chose the Mary Louise which faces the lake and were rewarded with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhpendleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Search no further and book it now! Beth and Tim are the most amazing B&B owners/innkeepers. They go out of their way to make you feel a welcome part of their home. You will love the delicious gourmet breakfasts, the quiet comfortable ambience of your room, the thoughtfully decorated sitting room, and large wrap around porch overlooking a beautiful view of Lake Erie. After our first visit last year, we were hooked and plan to make Waters Edge Retreat one of our yearly getaways. Sandra & George

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I recently spent Labor Day weekend at this delightful getaway. Located on the south shore of lovely Kelleys Island, this beautiful house became home. Beth and Tim are the most amazing hosts. They made us feel so welcome. We felt as if they were long-lost friends by the end of our stay. The breakfasts they prepared daily were delicious. Snacks were provided in the late afternoon along with a sweet treat at bedtime. The accomodations were very comfortable and clean. Our room had a spectacular view of Cedar Point. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for a peaceful sanctuary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelleys Island
6.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
296 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
13.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
240 reviews
7.8 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
6.8 mi away
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Water's Edge Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Water's Edge Retreat Resort

Property: A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Address: 827 E. Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 839, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Drive or Fly a thousand miles to enjoy an ocean when we have a Fresh Water Ocean on the North Coast of Ohio, Kelleys Island. Our Waterfront Luxury, Relaxing, Romantic Getaway. Great for Honeymoon, Anniversary or Special Occasion.Gourmet Breakfast Feast, Weddings too! Rated "Best of the Best" by Travel & Leisure (Great Lakes)Three Diamond Award AAA, Featured on NBC's Today Show with Al Roker and Peter Greenburg. Rates run from $199 (off season) to $369 for Honeymoon (High Season)Includes full Gourmet Breakfast Buffet, Sangria Hour with snacks at 4:15, Bicycles each day, Artery Clogging Chocolates in the Foyer in the evening. Access to our Two Large Beach Decks with Rockers, and our Garden Hot Tub Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort Kelleys Island, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing