We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Island Retreat”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This was our first trip to Kelleys Island and the experience was amazing! Willie and Bob were wonderful hosts and fabulous cooks! For a quiet weekend get-a-way Water's Edge is a must for a B&B retreat. We met 2 awesome couples who stayed the same weekend and had a lot of laughs with Chris and Joan. We didn't have an opportunity to meet Tim and Beth this trip but are thankful our innkeepers, Willie and Bob, were there to help us make some great memories! If you have the opportunity this B&B is a charming place to stay on Kelleys Island!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 206 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was a wonderful place and atmosphere with fantastic food and fabulous staff (Willie & Bobbie) who made great suggestions of things to do and see around the Island, we will come here again!! Joan & Chris Grispin

Room Tip: All the rooms had great decor with nice bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgrispin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We just came back from our yearly vacation at Water's Edge. This was the 12th year that we have been there. Beth and Tim are super hosts and create the best breakfast anywhere.
The B&B is comfortable and inviting. My favorite time is after dark, sitting in the front room with a fire in the fireplace looking out on the lights on the lake.
We've thought about trying other B&Bs but would likely be dissapointed as we can't imagine a better experience than Water's Edge on Kelleys Island!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onesamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a great place to relax. Beth and Tim provide a level of hospitality that can't be matched and make you feel right at home. My wife and I have visited 2 times within the past 3 months just to relax. The bad thing about Water's Edge Retreat is that everywhere I stay I hold them to the same standards of service that Beth and Tim provide and so far no one has reach the bar of Water's Edge. Thanks Beth and Tim for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Water's Edge Retreat is the perfect place to relax and escape. It is owned by Tim and Beth Hermes, who are two of the warmest and most welcoming hosts we have met. The property is right on the shore of Lake Erie, with a large wraparound porch and a sitting area on the beach. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the breakfasts are sumptuous and show imagination. Coffee is ready before breakfast, and evenings bring wine and cheese. Chocolates are out for later in the evening. Bicycles are available for touring the island, and if you wish, you can rent a golf cart or enjoy a massage or a sailing trip. Water's Edge has everything you could want in a B&B...and more!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful. We stayed on the third floor in the front room, which has views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob77ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I decided to have our wedding on the porch at Water's Edge Retreat and it was the best day anyone could ask for. Timothy, one of the owners actually married us. He and his wife are the sweetest! We absolutely loved the house and the rooms, the food was awesome and the staff was amazing! We are looking forward to returning next year for our anniversary!! It's a great little place off the beaten path on cozy Kelley's Island. Next time we plan to stay for a week!!!
Alex & Connie Sombaty

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing! The "honeymoon" suite was great! There is a nice little room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank travelingwithsombaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Beth and Tim provide a WONDERFUL place for a quiet retreat. We loved the sailing, and loved our rooms. The rooms are beautiful!! We enjoyed the golf cart--think we might have to have one!! Thanks for a great time of refreshment and renewal!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelleys Island
6.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
304 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
244 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
10.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
7.8 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Water's Edge Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Water's Edge Retreat Resort

Address: 827 E. Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 839, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Price Range: $179 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Drive or Fly a thousand miles to enjoy an ocean when we have a Fresh Water Ocean on the North Coast of Ohio, Kelleys Island. Our Waterfront Luxury, Relaxing, Romantic Getaway. Great for Honeymoon, Anniversary or Special Occasion.Gourmet Breakfast Feast, Weddings too! Rated "Best of the Best" by Travel & Leisure (Great Lakes)Three Diamond Award AAA, Featured on NBC's Today Show with Al Roker and Peter Greenburg. Rates run from $199 (off season) to $369 for Honeymoon (High Season)Includes full Gourmet Breakfast Buffet, Sangria Hour with snacks at 4:15, Bicycles each day, Artery Clogging Chocolates in the Foyer in the evening. Access to our Two Large Beach Decks with Rockers, and our Garden Hot Tub Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort Kelleys Island, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing