We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was our first time staying in a Bed and Breakfast and wasn't sure what to expect. However, we had an incredible time. There are so many B&Bs to choose from when going to the islands but I would have to say this is a notch above the rest. It was very charming inside and out. The interior was very clean. The decor was just lovely. The gourmet breakfast they serve was just that...gourmet. They definitely out did themselves there. Everything was so fresh! The house was very quiet, we never heard other guests when in our room, which was initially a concern of mine with staying in a B&B. The views of the lake from our room....wow....worth every penny! Last not but least the owners....they really make you feel like family and are so friendly. It really felt as if that was not the first time we visited there. Well it definitely won't be our last!

Room Tip: Choose lake front room if available...beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimrn_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

Our family had the wonderful priviledge of staying at this beautiful B&B. Our time there was made all the more special because of our gracious hosts. We had a weekend of fun and reconnecting with lots of family members. There were over 40 of us and our Hosts went above and beyond what we ever could have asked or expected to make our stay so memorable. We created memories that will last a life time. Whether it was seeing Aunts, uncles and cousins spending time together on the beautiful beach in the hot tub or relaxing on the spacious porch of the B&B or playing corn hole on the lawn a truly great time was had by all. The rooms were spacious the beds were very comfortable and the breakfast that our hosts prepared for us each morning was delicious. We would highly recommend " The Waters Edge" to anyone looking to get away for a quiet week or weekend of relaxation or if your looking for a place to meet up and reconnect with with family or friends. This is the place to go. Thank you Tim & Beth for your kindness, your hospitality and most of all for loving on our family. We hope to make this a yearly family tradition. God bless you both.
Nancy J. Meyer

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This place was amazing. The owners were so good to us. We loved that they had bikes and golf carts. The breakfast was delicious. The short walk across the street to this beautiful view was so relaxing. The beds were so comfortable and the porch was perfect for sitting and talking with family. These people are truly amazing. They constantly made sure we were having a good time and anything we needed they provided. They became a part of our family while we were there and we can't wait to go back. We love you Beth and Tim. Thank you so much for everything.

Room Tip: All rooms were really nice and had something special about them. Hot Tub was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

It was a last-minute decision to visit Kelley's Island for our 17th wedding anniversary and when I saw this lovely Victorian house on-line I thought, "There's no way they'll have a room available!" But we were lucky it was so early in the season and we were able to get the "Bridal Suite!" What a beautiful room. (But we peeked at the other rooms before we left and they were all very nice.) The lakeside location was so perfect --- waves crashing against the rocks the first night, lapping quietly the next day. But the hospitality is the number one reason to come here. Tim and Beth were amazing and so accommodating. Even the other guests were outgoing and friendly. These are the real reasons we always try to stay at B & Bs. Sometimes it's a disappointment, but not this time! Touring the island in the golf carts or bicycles provided is great fun. Kelley's Island isn't the destination for excitement or a shopping frenzy, but if relaxation is what you seek this is your place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I was able to leave work behind and relax at this beautiful location. The proprietors do everything they could to make our stay lovely. I was especially taken with the parlor and relaxed there on two afternoons. The porch looks out on Lake Erie and we were protected as we watched a spectacular thunder and lightening storm on the lake. There are to sitting areas on the beach that make sunning easy. And the island itself is charming and the geologic feature "the glacial grooves" was magical in the dusky light when we visited.

Breakfast should have been called brunch with the variety and quality of foods offered. From our room we were able to smell the enticing aromas. Beth uses fruit from her own trees and other local products as they are available. She also asked our food preferences so that she could accomodate special needs.

This is truly a get away. We were embraced to relax in a quality, beautiful, and tasteful establishment.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell al the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaomilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

This replica Victorein B&B was so Beautiful! We were greated by the owners, thier hospitality was grand. The rooms were decorated in vintage style, just beautiful and each had thier own bath rooms. The view was spactacular! The breakfast that was served was excelent, and the pastries to die for. We enjoyed the peaceful front porch watching the Sunset. We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_n_Pat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We are native Clevelanders who never ventured to the Lake Erie islands until we discovered Waters Edge Retreat which is the most beautiful B&B we've ever stayed at . My wife and I immensely enjoyed the wine, amazing sunsets, a warm fire, and an incredible breakfast. We fell asleep listening to the lapping waves of Lake Erie. One tip: Get up early in the morning for a run along the lakeshore because after devouring Tim and Beth's great breakfast spread -- forget the run and take a bike ride!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northcoastrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelleys Island
6.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
306 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
8.1 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
45 reviews
7.9 mi away
Commodore Resort
Commodore Resort
#3 of 7 in Put in Bay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Water's Edge Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Water's Edge Retreat Resort

Address: 827 E. Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 839, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Price Range: $179 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Drive or Fly a thousand miles to enjoy an ocean when we have a Fresh Water Ocean on the North Coast of Ohio, Kelleys Island. Our Waterfront Luxury, Relaxing, Romantic Getaway. Great for Honeymoon, Anniversary or Special Occasion.Gourmet Breakfast Feast, Weddings too! Rated "Best of the Best" by Travel & Leisure (Great Lakes)Three Diamond Award AAA, Featured on NBC's Today Show with Al Roker and Peter Greenburg. Rates run from $199 (off season) to $369 for Honeymoon (High Season)Includes full Gourmet Breakfast Buffet, Sangria Hour with snacks at 4:15, Bicycles each day, Artery Clogging Chocolates in the Foyer in the evening. Access to our Two Large Beach Decks with Rockers, and our Garden Hot Tub Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort Kelleys Island, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing