We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Beautiful Landscaping!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kelleys Island Venture Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We recently stayed at the KI Venture Resort with another couple during Islandfest weekend. We found KIVR to be the only place that would allow a single night stay on the weekend, and that was very important to use regardless of the price. Yes, it was pricey, but it was absolutely beautiful with great amenities and a wonderful staff. I don't recall it being advertised on their website, but they offer complimentary bicycles. Plus, the owner's father personally offered to shuttle us to the ferry and gave us a little history lesson along the drive. He was very sweet and absolutely refused to accept our gratuity.

The pool(s) were fantastic and the landscaping was absolutely georgous. Not a weed in site! They have a larger adult pool and the smaller pool doubles as a kids pool/hot tub. There is a restaurant/bar next door which had decent breakfast grub which was tasty after a long night.

I think all rooms were like this, but ours had a front and a back door. The back door took you to the shared patio that overlooked the pools. The patio area was equipped with chairs and tables.

We did rent a golf cart to take a quick tour around the island, but the downtown area is within walking distance to KIVR. I wouldn't walk to the ferry from there, especially carrying baggage, but it is certainly walkable to downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RancherJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

RUDE RUDE RUDE STAFF. Staff members told us when we checked in that the entire grounds was non-smoking (that was fine we are not smokers) and if caught smoking she'd fill up her big ol pick-up truck of gas on our credit card (very redneck). Well guess what, the workers were out in the courtyard smoking most the the day right beside the hotel rooms. Non-smokers don't want to smell their cigarette smoke. There were no sheets when we checked into our room - never did receive sheets by 10:00 that night. The owners grandkids were playing in the room above us (while their mother was working in the office) and were "running" all day and all evening until 10:00. I don't know after 10:00 pm because we left the hotel - caught the ferry back home. It was a surprise birthday trip for my husband and it was miserable. We will never stay there and have told all of our friends about the experience - bad news travels much faster than good news.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My wife and I just recently stayed at the Venture Resort on Kelleys Island. Wow!!! What a beautiful place! The landscaping is out of this world with flowers everywhere and an amazing swimming pool. The staff was excellent and were able to help us with anything we needed. We really loved the rooms with the local decor of island sceneries and the overall cleanliness that feels like home. We have been coming to Kelleys Island for about about 5 years now (mostly camping) and are glad to see such a wonderful addition. We live in Ohio and going to the Island is just as good as going away on a tropical vacation, with the comfort of being close to home. I would definatly recomend the Venture Resort to anyone looking to go on a close and affordable vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImGonnaMissHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Everything was nice EXCEPT that June is Mayfly season, what a mess, and if you want to sleep in, FORGET IT, at 0730-0800 every morining you will awake to the wonderful sound of a leaf blower right outside your door for the next several hours. Why you ask? Because the mayflies are all over EVERYTHING and they use the leaf blowers to clean off the walkways, the building, everything!! They also leave the outside lights OFF after dark, because of the mayflies, so take a flashlight with you if you think you'll be outside wandering around the property after dark. Also, even though "quiet time" is 11PM - 700AM, be prepared to stay up late, as there is no one in the office there after 10-11 PM and for some reason, some people feel the need to TALK VERY LOUDLY, so if an issue does come up, there is no one at the front desk to call. The restaurant right next door has good food(the homemade rootbeer is not the greatest, but the fish dinner is really good). The walls between rooms are paper thin so keep that in mind. All in all, not a bad place, just go some other month besides June.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

If you know Kelleys, then you know that this hotel pulled off the impossible. It fits right in, but provides more luxury than most of the other places to stay. The pool is beautiful as is the landscaping as is the view. You're across the street from the Brew Pub and a short walk to everything else on the island. All the rooms and suites accomodate families, and its all new and impeccably clean. Now, if you think you're visiting Amelia Island, of course, this would be the wrong expectation. kelleys is a wonderfully simple place for hiking and being with friends and family, a throw back to old times when people actually spoke in person! The hotel is very nice as are the people who own and run it. You'll love it!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank glazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We got one suite for my birthday . The rooms are so beautifully decorated we loved the comfortable beds and two tvs in the room. We were so impressed with the landscaping
we even played a quick game of corn hole. The view of the lake was breath taking from the pool and hot tub. The fridge was handy for making bloody Marys and keeping champagne
cold. We had such a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed at the Venture Resort on Kelley's Island. It was brand new August of 2008 so our room was wonderful...they were almost brand new. We were in one of the big rooms with 3 queen beds.

The price of the room included bike rental! How wonderful is that! For a family of five, 3 hours of bike rental can add up fast. When we factored that into the cost of the room that made the price very reasonable. We enjoyed the grounds and would return for a stay.

We went to Kelley's on Memorial day weekend, and did not find the island too bad. We did avoid down town and the party bars during peak hours.
I would recommend the restaurant next door for sunset dinner. We had the Filet and the Perch and both were very good.

This is a very casual, ride around the island, hike the park, hang at the beach, and look for sea glass kind of get away.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thefunandfabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelleys Island
6.4 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
244 reviews
6.8 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
306 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
6.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
6.2 mi away
Commodore Resort
Commodore Resort
#3 of 7 in Put in Bay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelleys Island Venture Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelleys Island Venture Resort

Address: 441 West Lakeshore Drive, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Location: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelleys Island Venture Resort is the key to your vacation destination. Our beautiful resort sits on the south shore of Kelleys Island. Our outdoor pool and hot tub sit in our spectacular flower and rock gardens. Some of our amenities include bicycles for our guests, a children's playground, beautiful views of Lake Erie, Marblehead, and Cedar Point, and a lakefront lounging deck right on the water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kelleys Island Venture Hotel Kelleys Island
Kelleys Island Venture Resort Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing