We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go in June!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kelleys Island Venture Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't go in June!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Everything was nice EXCEPT that June is Mayfly season, what a mess, and if you want to sleep in, FORGET IT, at 0730-0800 every morining you will awake to the wonderful sound of a leaf blower right outside your door for the next several hours. Why you ask? Because the mayflies are all over EVERYTHING and they use the leaf blowers to clean off the walkways, the building, everything!! They also leave the outside lights OFF after dark, because of the mayflies, so take a flashlight with you if you think you'll be outside wandering around the property after dark. Also, even though "quiet time" is 11PM - 700AM, be prepared to stay up late, as there is no one in the office there after 10-11 PM and for some reason, some people feel the need to TALK VERY LOUDLY, so if an issue does come up, there is no one at the front desk to call. The restaurant right next door has good food(the homemade rootbeer is not the greatest, but the fish dinner is really good). The walls between rooms are paper thin so keep that in mind. All in all, not a bad place, just go some other month besides June.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    24
    17
    17
    24
See reviews for
51
57
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

If you know Kelleys, then you know that this hotel pulled off the impossible. It fits right in, but provides more luxury than most of the other places to stay. The pool is beautiful as is the landscaping as is the view. You're across the street from the Brew Pub and a short walk to everything else on the island. All the rooms and suites accomodate families, and its all new and impeccably clean. Now, if you think you're visiting Amelia Island, of course, this would be the wrong expectation. kelleys is a wonderfully simple place for hiking and being with friends and family, a throw back to old times when people actually spoke in person! The hotel is very nice as are the people who own and run it. You'll love it!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank glazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We got one suite for my birthday . The rooms are so beautifully decorated we loved the comfortable beds and two tvs in the room. We were so impressed with the landscaping
we even played a quick game of corn hole. The view of the lake was breath taking from the pool and hot tub. The fridge was handy for making bloody Marys and keeping champagne
cold. We had such a good time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed at the Venture Resort on Kelley's Island. It was brand new August of 2008 so our room was wonderful...they were almost brand new. We were in one of the big rooms with 3 queen beds.

The price of the room included bike rental! How wonderful is that! For a family of five, 3 hours of bike rental can add up fast. When we factored that into the cost of the room that made the price very reasonable. We enjoyed the grounds and would return for a stay.

We went to Kelley's on Memorial day weekend, and did not find the island too bad. We did avoid down town and the party bars during peak hours.
I would recommend the restaurant next door for sunset dinner. We had the Filet and the Perch and both were very good.

This is a very casual, ride around the island, hike the park, hang at the beach, and look for sea glass kind of get away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefunandfabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2008

For my husband's birthday, we stayed at the newly opened, Kelleys Island Venture Resort on Kelleys Island. What a wonderful experience ! The rooms are all beautifully decorated with photos of local high points of the island. We took a late evening dip in the jacuzzi with a beautiful view of Lake Erie. The pool has comfortable chairs as well as the view of Lake Erie. We were so impressed with the landscaping as well. The hotel is sooo clean. And, each time we were greeted with a fabulous smile from the front desk! A definite place to come to again!

  • Liked — It was sooo clean.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traverls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed at Venture Resort with another couple and stayed in an Iroquois Suite which had a total of 3 double beds, 2 upstairs in a loft area that also had a sitting area and one downstairs. Along with the beds is the loft, there was a large closet, dresser, nightstand and flat screen TV on the wall. Down stairs there was also a TV in the bedroom (which is the room you walk into) and a TV in the sitting area. There was a sofa (didn't open into bed) and chair in the sitting area along w/ a dorm size refrigerator, microwave & full size coffee pot. All glasses were disposable. The only issue we saw was the fact that there was only 1 bathroom with a separate vanity area. For a room that can sleep 6 it should have a separate bath upstairs. In the sitting area, there was a door that opened to a "balcony" that was not divided to each room. This opened to view the pool and spa along with a view of Lake Erie. We have been going to KI for 30+ years and have always camped. This is a nice addition to the island. However, we did agree that it was a little over priced. We went a couple weeks after Labor Day just because of it being half priced. I would not stay here during peak times because of the price. The location is good - not far from town (walking distance) and it's also close to West Bay Inn. Their website has good pictures of each room. We would stay here again off season.

  • Liked — location & cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajundego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

This is a nice motel, not a "five star resort" as written in the ads. Certainly not worth the price. The pool was the best part.

The owners invested in a new property/website, but must have forgotten to train the front desk staff. By far the rudest hotel people I have ever encountered. (I am a very seasoned traveler.)

While the rooms look inviting, our room had tacks sticking through the carpet and lacked some of the basic amenities. No one at the motel seemed to care.

You can see all you need to see of the island by taking your car on the ferry and spend the day. Spend the rest of your travel money someplace else.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmomCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelleys Island
6.8 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
296 reviews
12.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
68 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
240 reviews
6.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
8.1 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelleys Island Venture Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelleys Island Venture Resort

Property: Kelleys Island Venture Resort
Address: 441 West Lakeshore Drive, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Location: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelleys Island Venture Resort is the key to your vacation destination. Our beautiful resort sits on the south shore of Kelleys Island. Our outdoor pool and hot tub sit in our spectacular flower and rock gardens. Some of our amenities include bicycles for our guests, a children's playground, beautiful views of Lake Erie, Marblehead, and Cedar Point, and a lakefront lounging deck right on the water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kelleys Island Venture Hotel Kelleys Island
Kelleys Island Venture Resort Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing