We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“8 years and still going back”

Lazy Dog Campgrounds
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Dog Campgrounds
Ironton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“8 years and still going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

my family and i have been going to lazy dog for 8 years now, i am a serious fisherman and i catch big catfish every trip. my wife and i take our grandkids and they love it too,the staff is friendly,the people who stay there most always look out for one another and children can play there safe and have a great time. al and all the staff have always been very nice and run a nice campgrounds. would recommmend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willow Wood, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had a very nice camping trip our first and def not our last. Went over Labor Day weekend and plan to go back this summer. My kids loved the lake and my son fished daylight to dark. VERY nice staff and the facilities were clean.
Definatley recommend this to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PATPOO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at this campground before Dottie it was great, during Dottie's reign of terror she was all talk and horrible customer service, but Since Dottie was fired the customer Service is awesome again. The place stays clean thanks to Al the co owner who does the landscaping, and maintenance. Its a peaceful place to stay long or short periods of time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springboro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Owners and staff were very friendly. Lot next to us had a water leak, owner was out to fix right away and took care of. Pull thru lots were tight for big rigs. Back in lots looked bigger. Nice camp ground exspecially if you like pay lake fishng. Staff worked hard to keep grounds and buildings clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank schultzy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

My family and have been going to lazy dog camp resort for the last 12 years and everytime we stay we never want to leave. It is the only place away from home that makes u feel at home. The staff is like neighbors they speak before u get a chance and they r down to earth. I would recommened this to anyone. We drive about 1 hour and 15 mins and its well worth the drive

Room Tip: the pull throughs r great and close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnait, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a four acre pay lake surrounded by campsites, right next to Route 32. The campsites are narrow, gravel strips. Barely room to open your awning if your neighbor has a slide-out. The pull-thru sites are on the north side of the lake and are the most popular. The back-in sites on the south side have little maneuvering room to get in, yet you are less likely to have next door neighbors so you'll have the illusion of a larger site and more privacy. Not all sites have fire rings and there are no shade trees worth mentioning. Road noise from the state highway tapers off a little bit at night, and roadside billboard lighting illuminates some of the back-in sites. Having said all of that, I would have given this campground a much lower rating if it were not for the excellent fishing, at extra cost, and other facilities. Bring some heavy tackle for the monster catfish. The grounds are clean, and camp store is well stocked. There is a fairly large playground with equipment in good condition. The pool is small but clean. Laundry facility was clean and everything seemed to be in working order. Restrooms okay, but mud in one of the shower stalls when I checked for this review. This place would be all right for an overnight stop, or a weekend trip for families or fishermen.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank blickcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is our second year to stay the whole summer at the Lazy Dog. The place is very clean and the owners are very friendly and nice.Very relaxing and peaceful place. A lot of activities for kids and adults as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank trailblazer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jackson
Red Roof Inn Jackson
#3 of 3 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Jackson
Days Inn Jackson
#1 of 3 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Dog Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Dog Campgrounds

Property: Lazy Dog Campgrounds
Address: 1527 McGiffins Ln, Jackson, OH 45640-9162
Location: United States > Ohio > Jackson
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full hookup campground with 10 cabins. We have a swimming pool, laundry room, clean shower houses, a catffish paylake, and a playground on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Dog Campgrounds Jackson, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing