We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older property, but well-located and well-maintained, and priced right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Independence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Independence
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Independence
CT
Level Contributor
254 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Older property, but well-located and well-maintained, and priced right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Checked in very late for a short night. Great bed. Very effective and quiet HVAC. Did not use Internet, so can't vouch for it. Very friendly staff both evening and morning. Clean inside and out. Very conveniently located. Room was quiet. Shower drain was slow - a sign of maintenance needed. Breakfast presentation was very clean - choices were standard Comfort Inn. A safe choice

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave4_-_3W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for the positive comments on your hotel review. All reviews are evaluated by our management staff. We do hope you will be able to visit with us soon. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    56
    34
    18
    11
See reviews for
55
44
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
361 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The last comfort inn I rated got a 5 (Bangor ME)- the one in Independence was no where near that one. The front desk folks seem to want to ignore you. Hard not to hear their phone conversions - most of which I heard were private - not related to motel business. Breakfast - a single toaster and single waffle maker are much to insufficient for the breakfast crowd. Waffle mix was out and no one around to replenish. Bagels and English muffins out. Unlike many Comfort Inn they serve the same meat every day - some kind of sausage patty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I know your time is valuable. Your comments, whether positive or or with issues are brought to the attention of all our hotel supervisors. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectation. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you that we can do better the next time. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in July 2014. I had the king bed with a sofa in it. The room was spacious, plenty of drawer and hanging space. The bathroom was very clean. Parking seemed to be plentiful. It was very busy during my stay. I didn't get a chance to try the breakfast, but I saw many travelers eating there and it smelled good. My only complaint would be the room I stayed in seemed to be damp, from the humidity or something and their was a very strong dog smell right past the lobby the first few days I was there. Other than that, the hotel itself was nice and I will be staying there again during my many visits to this city. The other thing I didn't know about was tipping the housekeeping staff. I noticed there was an envelope for tipping in the book when I got into my room, but the day before I was checking out, it was actually left on my desk. Since I had never seen this before, I was a little put out that the solicitation was so obvious but apparently this is a new practice for hotels and their house keeping staff, although that did not happen at the Comfort Suites I stayed at in Georgia or Arkansas. So I guess you could say I learned something new :)

Room Tip: I was on the first level and didn't really have any issues with my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It was our pleasure to serve your hotel needs, and your kind words were greatly appreciated. Thank you for bringing the tip issue to my attention, and no it is not a new practice for you to deal with. My housekeeping supervisor has been made aware of the issue and will see to it that it does not occur again. Your understanding is appreciated.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your future hotel needs when visiting Independence again. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forest, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Made reservation over the phone. Desk person suggested best way to handle my situation. Wasn't sure how long we'd stay and a holiday was coming up. Gave me an extra late check-out if needed. Told me about perks I wasn't aware I had. Room spacious. Breakfast outstanding and has something for everyone. Price reasonable. Close to eating places. Easy access to freeway. Will continue to stay here when in the area.

Room Tip: Quiet all over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thankk you for your favorable response to our hotel survey. Your positive comments were a pleasure for management and our staff to read... We are delighted that you were able to have acomfortable stay with us and hope you will be able to returrn soon. Enjoy the 4th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Room was very clean and the whole staff was friendly and helpful. Lovely pool - what a relaxing stay! Breakfast had a lot of variety and hit the spot. Will stay again. Location has easy access to the highway and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseSP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with usand hope you were able to enjoy our pool and sunny deck. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and hope you will be able to return soon and check out our new improvements comming in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I am going to open this by saying the hotel is very clean and the service was very congenial. The entry and the overall appearance of the hotel was very good but in the case of our room (jacuzzi suite) it was a bit dated.

The only real issue I had was the extraordinary amount of noise from the room above us. I'm not certain anyone was at fault but it sounded like a troupe of Elephant's from our room.

In short I would stay again but I will be requesting a top floor only for sure.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank shipjerkycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review our hotel. Hope you will be able to visit with us again to enjoy our upcomming completion of our renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

A lovely brick building on one edge of other hotels and restaurants and on the other edge of some woods. I never had the time to make it out to the pool deck myself but it always looked very inviting as I grabbed my breakfast.
The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were always very nice.
Compared to the other hotels nearby this one looks to be much smaller. I think this worked to my advantage because I could come & go out the front or back doors, whichever was more convenient at the time, and be just about as close to my car either way.
Independence was a good location for me to stay in. I had work to do all around the Cleveland area and it was a good central location to everywhere I needed to go. When I got a little free time it was also very easy to get into the city and do some sight seeing. There are also quite a lot of restaurant choices close by. What there did not seem to be were convenience or grocery stores besides one or two little gas stations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photogirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. Your comments were greatly appreciated by our staff, and we are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us as well as our location. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Cleveland Independence
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Independence

Property: Comfort Inn Independence
Address: 6191 Quarry Lane, Independence, OH 44131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cleveland South/Independence Hotel Independence
Independence Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Independence Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing