We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Paper Thin Walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Independence
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Paper Thin Walls”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is spacious, has clean rooms, and check in was pain free. The beds were also comfortable, the TV worked, etc. So overall, the place was "OK".

So why the average?

1) The walls are VERY THIN. At around 7 A.M. you can hear all the traffic from above and outside your room walking around. It's like they built the hotel with cheap and reverberating construction. So do be prepared for noise.

2) The shower water in my room was "Luke Warm". It wasn't Cold nor was it "Hot". It was decent.

Overall, I would stay again if just for a night or two. The price wasn't horrific at 75 dollars seeing it's in a decent part of town. The location was convenient to where I needed to arrive the next day.

Overall, I've seen better and I've seen worse. So I'd say this place is "Average".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Your comments are appreciated and will be reviewed by our management office.Thank you and we look forward to your next stay the Independence Comfort

GENERAL MANAGER
INDEPENDENCE COMFORT INN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    57
    36
    19
    11
See reviews for
55
44
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Curtice, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was in just the right spot! Last summer we biked the Ohio & Erie Towpath Trail from Cleveland to Akron, over 55 miles! So the hotels hot clean showers felt wonderful.
Because we have expensive terra trikes and didn`t want to leave our bikes in the back of our truck all night, I called the hotel directly to make sure it was ok , they were very nice, giving us a room on the first floor. Restaurants are very close, and the front desk was very nice giving us directions back to the expressway, Breakfast was great, it faces out overlooking the pool.

Room Tip: Since we only used one room, I must say that it was quiet even on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nothing fancy here but clean comfortable rooms Staff has always been helpful and friendly, and the lady that takes care of the breakfast area always makes sure the eggs are fresh and hot. Close to downtown and the sporting events. And when you come back to your room after a long day many great restaurants minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went just to get away for the weekend we really enjoyed our stay everyone gave great customer from the time we checked in to the time we checked out the room was very clean and the price was right breakfast was the best I've seen as far as serving a cont breakfast......yes we will stay here again without a doubt

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The Comfort Inn is a nice hotel. The Front desk is where the magic begins. They have the most friendly staff.
From the manager to the housekeepers I must say Ms. Gerri & Brandon-front desk, Ms. Cynthia- Manager, Sherry- supervisor of housekeeping. Great people!!

What does disappoint me is, the housekeepers have to rush to clean rooms. That doesn't make since, which lets the customers know they aren't receiving the hours that they need. I enjoy my stay always at the Comfort Inn, but that is crucial for the livelihood of your business.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Easy on and off from expressway. Near many fine food establishments. Great value for the money. Breakfast is wonderful. Less than 20 miles from Cleveland Clinic. Parking is free where hotels/motels closer to the clinic you have to pay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here mid December 2012 while visiting Cleveland Clinic. I didn't have a reservation, so ended up just walking right in to the hotel to see if any rooms were available. It was located right at the top of a hill, and seemed to be the quietest option from the other nearby hotels right off the busy intersection. Guy at the front desk (Nick?) was fantastic. I informed him we were going to Cleveland Clinic and he informed us they have a rate partnership with them. He set up a wake up call for us and even printed step by step directions to get there in the morning. Much appreciated considering i'm not even remotely close to the area! The room was very clean, no frills, and we could even see the skyscrapers from downtown Cleveland from our window. Breakfast was basic. No jelly, jam, or hot sauce, but it was included so can't complain too much. Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHappi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Independence

Property: Comfort Inn Independence
Address: 6191 Quarry Ln, Independence, OH 44131-2203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cleveland South/Independence Hotel Independence
Independence Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Independence Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing