We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sums up all reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Independence
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Sums up all reviews”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I agree with the rest of the reviews... pretty much sums it all up. Hotel location easily accessible Interstate 77; within 20 minutes to Cleveland. Lots of hotels and restaurants along busy Rockside Road. This is a huge Holiday Inn with multiple conference and banquet facilities. Free parking is all you get. No fridge, no microwave, no free breakfast (go to Holiday Inn Express for those). Buffet breakfast is basic bacon, sausage, eggs, bread, fresh fruits. Pay extra for pancakes/waffles on the menu. Denny's and Bob Evans across the street if you choose not to eat here. The rooms are decent and clean with slow wi-fi and flat screen tv with 47 free channels. Bed is comfy and linens/towels are crisp clean. There is no bathroom exhaust and the windows don't open, so after all that initial febreeze-smelling-scent disappears when you first walk-in to your room, the following day of your stay the room smells somewhat funky (thus, moldy). We stayed on a busy hockey weekend and you can hear them loud at the lobby from the second floor rooms. Don't let the front desk clerk dissuade you from choosing another room on a higher floor. Big swimming pool super packed with kids (thus, maximum chlorine). They come out wet and dripping on marble floors by the elevators (caution slippery). Staff is courteous and helpful. Overall, I'd give it an average to above-average. The hotel suits business travellers best. Next time in the area though, I'd try another hotel equipped with microwave/fridge specially when travelling with family/kids.

Room Tip: Get a room in higher floors facing opposite direction of swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear minniemae,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is very pleasing to know that you liked our rooms. However, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We will surely use your comments to improve our efforts.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    87
    61
    24
    27
See reviews for
35
35
15
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nicely decorated. Nice lobby and common areas. Appeared clean overall. However, took me all morning to find the coffee maker under the bedside table. Also,pillows were so high i ended up sleeping without one to avoid a neck cramp. Further the view from my room was the side of the building....good business hotel, would have been miffed if i was here for leisure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank stephtrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear stephtrac,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Location is a winner. Stayed in the recently renovated hotel. Plenty of free parking, speedy check in, and a clean room. Within minutes of Cleveland and numerous restaurants along Rockside Rd. Easy access to the highway. Half the cost of other hotels and still a quality stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akinney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My third stay here in 6 weeks and I'm still very disappointed. The worse thing is their internet connection. It's so slow it takes 7 minutes to open CNN.com. Forget trying to work. When you call the front desk they send you to tech support who simply tells you that there are a lot of people using their connection.

The room and particularly the bathroom reek of mold. I've spent 3 to 7 days in 3 different rooms and they're all the same.


Not a hotel for professionals or road warriors. The weekends are very loud because of the club downstairs. You'd be lucky to get some sleep before 3am

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ramidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear ramidh,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bathroom cleanliness, noise and the internet connection. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is well located for budget accomodations with it being only a $20-$25 cab ride from downtown Cleveland however, it is just so budget in a world where budget accomodations have taken on a new level of class, that it seems to fall behind. If you can find another hotel, I would pay $10 more to stay somewhere else next time.

Pros:
Proximity to downtown Cleveland
Friendly Staff
Free Wifi

Cons:
Weird small pillows
Mold on the drapes
Weird smell in the bathroom (similar to when you leave wet towels in a plastic bag for a week and then open it)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSchmidtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear CSchmidtke,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. We would like to follow up with you further to obtain some additional details about your stay, so we have sent you a Private Message.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Two major issues:
-They appear to have a potential bed bug situation and are not particularly concerned. I arrived & went to bed at the hotel perfectly fine and woke up with 20-30 small bites around the bottoms of my legs. The hotel manager on duty (John Paul) was supposed to call me back about it but it's now been 3 days and I haven't heard a word back from the hotel. Meanwhile I'm just hoping I don't have bed bugs that I'm spreading everywhere I go. Pretty classy situation, really.
-Noise - this hotel gets a ton of wedding blocks/large groups due to the location and their large onsite banquet facility/conference area. This leads to lots of late night party folks, who then cause lots of loud drunken noise in the hallways. I sleep like a rock (even while getting eaten up by bed bugs) but still woke up at least once an hour all night. So if you like to party, hit this hotel up. If you are looking for a place to sleep, head somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Katie,

I apologize for John Paul not getting back to you, I will address it with him. In regards to the bedbugs stated, we had the room inspected by our Pest company Terminex and they found no evidence or activity of bedbugs, we take this very seriously so we have a regional from Terminex do our inspections. I apologize for the delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We go to the Cleveland area quite often for hockey tournaments and this hotel ranks close to the bottom of places I would choose to stay. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room which is standard in a lot of other hotels charging the same amount. Some of the families travelling with our group did have refrigerators and microwaves and paid the same rate as we did which seems a little unfair. I also question a hotel that mixes regular hotel guests in among a block of rooms filled with pre-teen hockey players. Nobody wins with that set up. The hotel also did not provide a community room for the hockey players to use in order to keep them separate from the other guests. We also had quite a few kids complaining of burning eyes due to excessive chlorine in the pool.
This hotel was not awful - the rooms were clean enough and the staff was fine - we had a nice lunch in the hotel restaurant but again there are other hotels nearby that are providing more for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vallm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear vallm_11,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.1 mi away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Cleveland Independence
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Cleveland Independence
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence

Property: Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence
Address: 6001 Rockside Rd, Independence, OH 44131-2209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strategic location of this Cleveland area hotel, the Holiday Inn Cleveland South Independence provides easy access to such downtown attractions as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Quicken Loans Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, and Playhouse Square.At the crossroads of Cleveland's primary arteries; I-77 and I-480, our hotel is just 12 miles from Cleveland Hopkins International Airport. The hotel offers complimentary airport shuttle service from 6 AM to 11 PM daily.Guests will enjoy our complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, sauna, and fitness center. Michael's Grille restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy dancing the night away in our high energy lounge with live entertainment Tuesday - Saturday in Impulse Lounge. With over 20,000 square feet of meeting space, our Cleveland area hotel is ideal for your next event be it a corporate meeting, convention, wedding, business dinner, or family reunion.For our Priority Club Members, ask about our newly renovated Priority Club Floor with key accessed lounge serving Continental breakfast, snacks and soft drinks. The lounge also offers a computer with Internet access. Whether travelling on business or pleasure, make the Holiday Inn Cleveland South Independence your home away from home!The hotel is currently undergoing renovations of the lobby, guest lobby, and conference rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing