We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very comfortable and pleasant hotel with good meeting facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
201 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and pleasant hotel with good meeting facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel many times over the past 30 years. It's been updated regularly and the rooms are fine. The older construction model helps with noise - it is quieter than most. The meeting staff does a great job and it's a good place for business functions.

Room Tip: Rockside Road is very busy - the further toward the back you are, the quieter it will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear professordoctormom:

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to comment about our hotel. We appreciate your loyatly to our hotel over the years. We do strive to consistently maintain our property and we appreciate you noticing our hard work.

We look forward to your continued patronage over the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    74
    55
    21
    24
See reviews for
32
28
15
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's a huge hotel situated in a safe part of Cleveland. It offers a lot of restaurant options around the hotel. Hotel staffs were very courteous, and Were very helpful. The rooms were reasonably clean, though the bathrooms can be a bit better. I recall the toilet seat has a lot of scratch marks and dents on them which was a big negative for me. Overall, it's a good place to stay at an affordable price and within a safe part in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear D C:

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. We are happy you chose our hotel and most importantly your nice comments regarding your experience. We thank you for your feedback regarding the toilet seat in your room and we have had our housekeeping and maintenance departments looking into this.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you on a return visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, PA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've stayed at this Holiday Inn in Independence, OH, several times over the past few years when taking my father-in-law to regular appointments at the Cleveland Clinic. We have always booked the room through Priceline, and the process has been very smooth. Check-in was seamless. Our room was very nice, sufficiently spacious for two men, and well-appointed. The bathroom was a bit small, but fully functional (with one of those nice curved curtain rods to prevent the stupid shower curtain from constantly sticking to your body while you're showering). The TV was large. The beds were comfortable. Parking was plentiful and free. USA Today newspapers were free and available at the front desk.

And, for our purposes, it was great to have several decent dining options nearby, including Bob Evans, Denny's, Red Robin, and Outback all within walking distance or a very short drive. The hotel is right at the intersection of I-77 and I-480, so it's easy to access and easy to get to downtown Cleveland. We encountered a bit of traffic congestion getting to downtown when we drove during rush hour for previous trips (not to be unexpected in a major city), but the roads flowed smoothly for a noontime appointment on this trip.

My primary disappointment with this Holiday Inn is the lack of a complementary breakfast, which I've come to really appreciate when traveling. But this Holiday Inn fully satisfies our needs, and I'll be happy to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your stays while going to the Cleveland Clinic. We appreciate your nice comments about our hotel and staff. We hope you will continue to make us your home away from home when in the Cleveland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
236 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip. The breakfast buffet was good and the in-house bar is really hopping (they say) on weekend nights. The staff is very helpful and responds very promptly to requests.
I enjoyed the Thai restaurant and the Winking Lizard sports bar which are just a short walk from the hotel.
However, the rooms are small for what you pay and only one of the two beds in my room was comfortable. The bathroom was small and its fixtures were loose.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTimMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and our breakfast buffet. I am very happy our staff took good care of you while you were here. The items you have mentioned regarding the loose bathroom fixtures will be addressed with our Chief Engineer. We regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year for a weekend event and the room was fairly nice but this time around I stayed overnight and I was not as pleased. I was very unhappy that the couch looked older and there was only 1 phone in the room. The phone was not located next to the bed but across the room by the television.....what sense does that make......further more why isnt there another phone in the room? The curtains also looked like they needed to be cleaned/changed; I was surely disappointed. I am very particular about cleanliness in hotels especially because of bugs and previous experiences at hotels. The most distrubing of all was the 'bed tax' that they add to your bill that was almost $10. I was not a happy customer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest:
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. We do have one phone in the room and we do put it on the desk to accommodate guests who are working at the desk. The bed tax is a county tax strictly for hotels in Cuyahoga County and it does run 8.25% of your room rate. This is applicable at all hotels in our county. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to service your hotel needs the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, Ohio
Level Contributor
207 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel has a lot of features in a pretty good location. The bar is nice and is normally busy. They had a live band playing on a Tuesday night. The breakfast buffet was good with nice selections.
The room of normal size with king bed. The conference center is nice and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit with us. We are definately a great hotel for conferences. We offer a lot of meeting space and is in a great location. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hotel is a little older, but has been well maintained. Staff was excellent, rooms were clean, restaurant on site was convenient and the food was acceptable.

I will definitely stay here again when in the Cleveland area.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor, external noise level was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Matt S:

Thank you for choosing us on your recent stay to the Cleveland - Independence area. Yes, we are very fortunate to have been here for some time, yet we consistently work on improving and maintaining the quality of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Independence
Comfort Inn Independence
#12 of 14 in Independence
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence

Property: Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence
Address: 6001 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strategic location of this Cleveland area hotel, the Holiday Inn Cleveland South Independence provides easy access to such downtown attractions as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Quicken Loans Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, and Playhouse Square.At the crossroads of Cleveland's primary arteries; I-77 and I-480, our hotel is just 12 miles from Cleveland Hopkins International Airport. The hotel offers complimentary airport shuttle service from 6 AM to 11 PM daily.Guests will enjoy our complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, sauna, and fitness center. Michael's Grille restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy dancing the night away in our high energy lounge with live entertainment Tuesday - Saturday in Impulse Lounge. With over 20,000 square feet of meeting space, our Cleveland area hotel is ideal for your next event be it a corporate meeting, convention, wedding, business dinner, or family reunion.For our Priority Club Members, ask about our newly renovated Priority Club Floor with key accessed lounge serving Continental breakfast, snacks and soft drinks. The lounge also offers a computer with Internet access. Whether travelling on business or pleasure, make the Holiday Inn Cleveland South Independence your home away from home!The hotel is currently undergoing renovations of the lobby, guest lobby, and conference rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing