We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay with a couple of hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Very fast check in and very professional front desk staff.
I booked the room online through HHonors account and had ordered some extra amenities to be delivered to the room along with some roses and chocolate covered strawberries as a surprise for my wife. I listed my arrival time at 4 pm but actually got there at 530ish. Once I got to the room none of the amenities or the roses or strawberries had been delivered as they should have been. I called the front desk about it and they apologized and sent them up later, which at that point the surprise was ruined. Only other complaint was the fridge had a bad seal And would not close correctly.
I would stay here again though. We had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay, it is with the feedback of our guests that we will continue to improve both our property and the services that we provide. We love to hear the nice things that people say about our staff, and each and every employee, appreciates your comments. Every member of our staff strives to exceed each guests expectations and it means alot to know we met yours.
We do appreciate your business and hope to see you soon again. Thank you.

Mike Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 847 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting. My colleagues and I immediately regretted this booking. I can't even describe the musty smell of the room. It smelled like a dirty urinal. My room came complete with a massive clump of hair in the bathroom. The hotel staff were friendly. The hallways and stairs smelled like smoke. Facility is older, and needs to be 1) renovated 2) demolished or 3) have the Hilton name removed. Just gross. I would have rather camped.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jyoungblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay, it is with the feedback of our guests that we will continue to improve both our property and the services that we provide. While we did not meet your expectations we take all input very seriously, I only wish we had the opportunity to meet while you were here, so that I or one of our staff could have been given the chance to correct any shortcomings of your stay.
We do appreciate your business and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Mike Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'll give the fire alarm at 2:30 am a pass, guest fault. Maid service 1st night was bad, left a half empty water bottle with a full one as complimentary. Also one 1 set of towels. The next day all was good, even without having a chance to comment on it to the desk. It fixed itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

thank you very much for the review, we appreciate the feedback both the positive and constructive. Both makes us better and pushes us to the consistentcy we are both looking for.
Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Clean and quiet room! We were greated with fast and easy check-in and warm cookie to boot! We stayed on the Executive Floor and the local was easily accessable as well as amazing view of the city. Parking was perfect and breakfast was amazing including an omelet bar and waffle bar. More options and the nicest service! Check-out was fast and the environment was friendly and safe. A must return to hotel for sure!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay, it is with the feedback of our guests that we will continue to improve both our property and the services that we provide. We love to hear the nice things that people say about our staff, and each and every employee, appreciates your comments. Every member of our staff strives to exceed each guests expectations and it means alot to know we met yours.
We do appreciate your business and hope to see you soon again. Thank you.

Mike Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have stayed here on multiple occasions and haven't been disappointed. Excellent and friendly staff, very clean rooms, and an outstanding breakfast. Reasonable rates for the quality of service and room. Two minutes from Catholic Church and about ten from the city. Well worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay, it is with the feedback of our guests that we will continue to improve both our property and the services that we provide. We love to hear the nice things that people say about our staff, and each and every employee, appreciates your comments. Every member of our staff strives to exceed each guests expectations and it means alot to know we met yours.
We do appreciate your business and hope to see you soon again. Thank you.

Mike Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we have been staying here before flying our of cleveland airport for years with no problems until this time. i alwaus call the hotel direct before booking to verify about the free airport shuttle(although they don't offer service on weekends, no problem,someones always here to take you). after checking in the new receptionist bluntly told us NO AIRPORT SHUTTLE for our morning flight. nor was she willing to assist us. i told here about the embasssy suites(1 mile away), ususlly has free shuttle on weekends,could she have them pick us up or exchange our rooms. she said YOU CALL THEM! after loosing my cool she called,of course with no effert and got no results. i then demanded the mgr. who after making a few calls arranged transportation the next morning and assured us on our return there would be no problems. wrong! had to call the hotel 3 times and finally had to get the mgr. again to come pick us up at the airport. they need to communicate within and quit promising loyal hilton travelers what they offer and have us begging for services offered.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilda829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay, it is with the feedback of our guests that we will continue to improve both our property and the services that we provide. While we did not meet your expectations we take all input very seriously, I only wish we had the opportunity to meet while you were here, so that I or one of our staff could have been given the chance to correct any shortcomings of your stay.
We do appreciate your business and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Mike Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel was about average. The rooms were a little old. The location was good. The front desk was very nice. At one point I did return to my room and found that I no longer had a TV. But a man quickly entered to tell me they were replacing it. When I return for my next trip I wouldn't say that I would pick it, but would probably try another place nearby to compare. This was my first trip to the area. But I wouldn't say "don't" stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretntev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay, we much appreciate the comments. While we hope you choose to stay with us, the next time you are in the area. Feel free to stop for one of our cookies, and some of our warm hospitality that we love to give. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Cleveland Independence
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Cleveland Independence
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence

Address: 6200 Quarry Ln, Independence, OH 44131-2218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Independence
Price Range: $87 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our famous DoubleTree warm chocolate chip cookie upon entering our hotel. You'll be within reach of downtown Cleveland and Hopkins International Airport making it easy for guests to travel here for your next corporate event or wedding hosted in our flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland South Hotel Independence
Doubletree Hotel Independence
Doubletree Independence
Independence Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing