We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good:
-Welcome cookies
-Coffee Bean® Coffee and Tea
-Crabtree and Evelyn bath products
-Close to highway & downtown
-Free Parking and Plenty of Parking Spaces
-Comfy Bed
-Quick Chek-in and out

Bad:
-Water temperature keep changing if someone else near your unit uses at the same time
-When you turn off A/C, room smells bad. we had to turn on the A/C whole night even though it was cold.

We used priceline bidding, so overall it was good stay with my bidding price.

Room Tip: Do not stay backward rooms on first floor. They are very close to Conference Rooms which offers part...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SamYDanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 847 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

overall my stay was ok just would have expected a little more for the price. No activities for kids like I keep reading about and nobody helped with our luggage. If I'm paying $100+ a night for a hotel I think someone should at least help carry in our luggage. Location is not far from all main attractions. Restaurant/bar downstairs is really nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhoDey513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a friend visiting from out of town for the weekend and we stayed here. Hotel rooms were tight due to senior olympics. We were supposed to have a two room suite. She was rather disappointed when we found out it was a regular room on the executive floor. They did give us one night free so can't complain too much.

Overall a nice hotel in a nice setting away from the main road. They do have a free airport shuttle and will also take you within 5 miles of the hotel, if available. There are a few restaurants within walking distance - Winking Lizard and Melt Bar and Grilled. We only ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant (Don Shula's) , which was pretty good. I would also recommend the Oak Barrel on Canal Rd, a few miles away. Awesome food! They have a new chef and he is outstanding. The decor isn't that great but the food ...........!

Cuyahoga National Park is about a mile and a half from the hotel if you like the outdoors. Downtown Cleveland is a 15 minute drive down I77 with the Rock & Roll HOF, etc.

I would stay here again. It's a good hotel in its price range and conveniently located to both east and west Cleveland. Right off the freeway.

The swimming pool was cold, too cold for me. The hot tub was very heavily chlorinated. It seemed like they needed to empty, clean and refill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here previously (the year before) and it was one of the best experiences I have ever had at a Hilton. From the quality of service to the maintenance of the hotel itself, it was impeccable. However, I stayed here again this year at the end of August, and it has become now the worst experience I have ever had at a Hilton, or any other hotel for that matter. From severe lack of helpful service, to poor cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel itself, it seems that all the wonderful, helpful staff have been replaced with inexperienced and unhelpful staff, and the once beautiful hotel is not being properly taken care of. After this year's stay, I have no intentions of returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay, it is with the feedback of our guests that we will continue to improve both our property and the services that we provide. While we did not meet your expectations we take all input very seriously, I only wish we had the opportunity to meet while you were here, so that I or one of our staff could have been given the chance to correct any shortcomings of your stay.
We do appreciate your business and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Mike Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff at this hotel were very attentive and professional. they gave me a very tasty chocolate chip and walnut cookie at check in. This is a older hotel that was upgraded and remodeled well. You will melt away in the bed, its just that comfortable. I was weary to stay at this hotel because they had a bedbug report on the bedbug registry over a year ago. However there where NO SIGNS of bedbugs and I CHECKED BELIEVE ME I CHECKED. The mattresses were snow white and appeared to be new. The linen was clean and fresh. The bathroom was clean and there were plenty of towels. A few minor things the closet door in my room was old and needed to be replaced as it often jammed when I opened it. The elevators were old and you could tell they were old. The room service prices were high but typical for any hotel room service prices. The curtains in my room had a small tear in them. My only regretted was not asking for more cookies at check in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel was generally clean and safe. Staff was very courteous and friendly. The restaurant was Shula's, the steakhouse. The staff was very good and attentive to detail. Breakfast staff very good as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

staff was nice and pleasant, room was clean and comfort. for the price, it was an excellent hotel to stay. the hotel's location isn't great, but if with a car, the highway is around, and easy to get around in Cleveland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Q Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Cleveland Independence
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Cleveland Independence
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence

Address: 6200 Quarry Ln, Independence, OH 44131-2218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Independence
Price Range: $87 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our famous DoubleTree warm chocolate chip cookie upon entering our hotel. You'll be within reach of downtown Cleveland and Hopkins International Airport making it easy for guests to travel here for your next corporate event or wedding hosted in our flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland South Hotel Independence
Doubletree Hotel Independence
Doubletree Independence
Independence Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing