We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Clean and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
316 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Good Location, Clean and Quiet”
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Better to stay here than in downtown Cleveland. Seems safer and more going on. Rooms are clean, and quiet. Restaurant has good food, parking is easy and free.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick5800, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside, responded to this review, May 4, 2009
Thank you for the nice words! I will pass your comments on to the people that helped make your stay a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    321
    161
    122
    67
See reviews for
405
155
31
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We were booked into this hotel as part of a group attending a hockey tournament. We have stayed at ES in other cities and have had great experiences. The big difference is that the other ES's don't have police "patrolling" the hallways and harassing guest for simply being in the hallways.

Children in our group were harassed by police in the hotel. They were physically grabbed, hauled into the lobby and read a list of "rules". When we inquired what rules the children had violated to be treated like this, we were told that they hadn't broken any rules yet. "But now they can't say they don't know the rules".

Parents were bullied by police. If a parent had a drink of any kind outside of their room (not including the manager's reception), they were yelled at by the police and told to bring the drink to the officer so he could examine it. The police would make comments to the guests as they walked in the lobby. One parent in our group did not hear one of the officers making a comment and he kept walking. The officer followed the parent to the elevator and yelled out "are you deaf"? This parent was simply walking to the elevator to return to his room.

Everyone was forced to return to their rooms before 11:00pm. If you were in a friend's room having a drink or two, you were told that you were not allowed to return to your own room. Police were yelling from the lobby to guests in floors above telling them to "get in your room".

We were on the third floor and quite willing and capable of taking stairs up to our room. We were informed that the stairs were for emergency use only and we would be arrested if we attempted to use them.

It truly felt like we were in a prison. Hotel staff told us we paid for the room, but we were trespassing if we were in the hallways. Many families in our group have had at least part of their stay comped due to the absolutely horrible service and treatment. We would never stay at this ES ever again!

  • Disliked — The harassment by the hotel staff and police.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HDadToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick5800, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside, responded to this review, May 4, 2009
Hotel does work with youth sports groups for weekend business. That weekend we were hosting a group of hockey players from all over the United States and the hotel was full. When the hotel expects to be sold out we hire Independence Police to be onsite for additional security. Unfortunately, we had to respond to a good deal of complaints because the group in house had a couple of bad apples. We had a couple of unruly guests that were escorted off property for interuptions to other guests and sometimes people only respond to eviction. That specific group will not be welcome in the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

I booked this hotel for a single night through Hotwire.com for Saturday June 28,2008. This was just one of four hotels that my family and I stayed at during our 5 night stay in the Cleveland area.

My kids and I agree that this was the best hotel that we stayed at during this year's summer vacation / trip. And given the price paid vs value received, I'd also have to rate this hotel as one of the best deals I've probably ever gotten as far as a hotel stay goes.

The pictures that we saw from various sites (TripAdvisor, Expedia, etc) do not do this place justice. It is a beautiful hotel with nice extras, even though I believe it was only rated as a 3 star hotel on Hotwire.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, very close to the glass elevators. Our "room" was actually 2 rooms, one for the sleeping area with 2 double beds and the other that had the sofa. Both rooms had a television, and the "living area" also had a refrigerator and a microwave. Very nice setup. The kids really enjoyed the indoor pool.

The manager's reception held in the evening was an added plus and the breakfast buffet in the morning was more than just a continental breakfast that one may be used to.

Overall, I don't think one could go wrong staying here. I know expectations do differ from one traveller to another, but our experience was a great one.

Word of advice: there are deals out there if you plan ahead and do your homework. This was listed as a 3 star hotel on Hotwire.com in the Independence, OH area @ $64/night.

Total cost: $80.54 when taxes and fees were added in (and this was for a Saturday night).

  • Liked — Well equipped room with refrigerator, microwave
  • Disliked — There was a surcharge for Internet Access
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay_from_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Il
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

I've stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and would have given it a 5 star rating then - I believe it was brand new and very clean. This time the the atrium was clean and beautiful but the room - especially the bathroom needed some work. As I was utilizing the bathroom the night we stayed I noticed "suff" in the bathtub/shower and also noticed dirt under the sink. Maybe they forgot to clean the bathroom. Otherwise the room was fine.

The breakfast was OK and more of a resteraunt style - but I wished I took the made for order breakfast since the lines were short.

Thanks

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarkoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Grandpa and Grammy took the little boys to Cleveland to see the dinosaurs, and the zoo. When we arrived in a downpour, the hotel was great about getting us in a room early. It is a lovely property with balconies around a huge atrium. Everything in the room, and in the hotel was very clean. The price was very good, and since we were rained out the first afternoon, the great indoor pool saved us. The atrium had pool tables, eating areas, and conversation areas. Restaurants were nearby, and also in the hotel. A trip to Bob Evans was a big hit for dinner, and the two room suite had everything we needed. The 3 and a half and 5 and a half year old brothers even slept well together on the sofa bed (big guy treat to them!) Bottled water was brought around to replenish the supply already in the room, and every request was promptly answered. Glass elevator was fun, and huge buffet breakfast was included with made-to-order omelets and lots more.
The staff were so nice it made our trip!

  • Liked — The staff and the cleanliness, also the breakfast
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We stayed here during our trip to see country music singer George Strait. Of course I visited TripAdvisor.com before booking a hotel stay. Good thing I did to because from what I've read this was the best place to stay around the Cleveland area. Actually downtown Cleveland is six miles away but that wasn't a major issue.

We actually had an excellent time at this hotel. It was quiet and we sure needed the rest after a long drive (5hrs +) and exciting evening. The rooms are clean and the parking lots were clean too. Especially since it had recently snowed. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, just about everything
  • Disliked — nothing, we had a perfect stay
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelingdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2007

Was there on a business trip for two nights.

Location - not too far away from anywhere, but then again really nothing is too far away from anywhere in CLE area. Airport - 20 min away by car. Public transportation of course nonexistent.

Pool tables in the lobby as well as a bar with overpriced drinks.

Lobby area is very well appointed, the elevators are fast and the staff very helpful. Free breakfast was included, and had usual amercan fare - the cardiac special with bacon, eggs, sausage, a basic fruit plate (pineapple and mellon), pancakes, etc... Coffee came from a faucet embedded in the wall, so I was very hesitant to try it. Otherwise, breakfast was OK.

Room - large, I had a suite on the 5th floor. No view in that area. Bed comfortable, bathroom with amenities, good shower. One of the wallpaper pieces in the hallway was ripped off.

Parking - free upfront.

Overall, reasonable stay, highly overpriced for CLE area. If the employer did not pay, I would have stayed somewhere else.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank 4865853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Cleveland Independence
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Cleveland Independence
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
Address: 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd N, Independence, OH 44131-2346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the intersection of I-480 and I-77, with easy access to Cleveland area attractions. Our all-suite hotel is ideal for any kind of traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Cleveland Rockside
Embassy Suites Independence
Independence Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Cleveland Rockside Independence, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing