We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was simply OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Was simply OK”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed at this location several times but hadnt been there in a few years. Recently stayed to see what if any improvements have been made.

Sad to say its exactly the same as it was years ago.

The bed is super comfy! Towels are the best ever! Having a two room suite is nice when u want to stretch out in some extra space. The breakfast is the best out of any hotel chain in my opinion.

The room was clean, but the decor is dated and really needs updating. Internet is NOT included and must be paid for.

If it was the only hotel available, I would stay again. But will continue to go elsewhere based on the value/decor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettipinkprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. The last update we did was this year and it included the bathroom and kitchenette area. We are looking to change out our case goods soon as well. Look forward to servicing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    313
    155
    118
    67
See reviews for
394
150
31
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was full with cheerleading teams, a "right to life" convention and just families. Due to the crowding, our room wasn't quite ready. We had to call for towels, which were provided, but a pain. There was no coffee provided to use in the coffee maker. The worst part were the pillows. Several were provided, but all not good. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shep8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this review. On the weekends our hotels are very busy. I am very sorry to hear that we fell short of supplying the common areas with the necessary towels. I will looking to this matter to ensure this situation doesn't continue. I am happy to hear that it seems my staff did respond promptly. I hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rush, Kentucky
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Good manager reception and breakfast. This is the only time that I was expected to pay for wifi...had to use it for work. I called the desk and they gave me a complimentary password.

Room Tip: Try to get room close to elevator.....long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for the good review. We try and stay up with the trends of our competition when it comes to WIFI. HHonor members that are Gold or Diamond do not have to pay for WIFI. Hilton also has a matching program so if you are this tier for any other hotel chain they will match it and grant you a one year pass so you can enjoy the benefits of a Gold or Diamond member. Let me know if you need assistance with this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked the room not knowing what to expect. Found the room Very nice. Clean. The complementary breakfast had everything you wanted, including made to order omlete. We will be back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_B_m0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review. My staff will be very pleased to know we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to servicing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Good hotel for the tournament. Free breakfast, including omelette station. Starbucks 5 minutes away. They had a gala in the atrium one night which went till all hours. I felt badly for anyone trying to get some sleep. It really took over the hotel. Melts restaurant is 5 minutes away and was featured on diners, drive ins and dives. Huge grilled sandwiches and hand cut fries. Plan on waiting an hour for a table. Share a Sammy. Way too big for one person.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger. most rooms overlook atrium. Can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A real nice and clean Hotel. Our sunset view was awesome. Food is great. Service is great.
Would difinitely recommend. The bed was very comfortable and we had 3 great night sleeps.
Wish I could have taken the bed home. Thanks from Michigan babyboomers, my Hubby and I.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old girl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our hockey club was booked here for a weekend tournament. We checked in on a Friday and that night was fine, hotel was busy but nothing unusual for noise or such. They had off duty police officers making sure the kids ( 14-16 year olds ) were not running around and even kept tabs on them as they changed rooms to hangout as kids do, this was all fine.
We left early AM on Saturday for a full day of hockey games, returning at night to find the road to the hotel backed up to the main intersection with us waiting almost a half hour in this traffic to get into the hotel parking lot.....turns out they were hosting some HUGE local event in the lobby with probably a thousand or so people, Valet parking their cars and leaving us waiting forever, with the front of the hotel full of Valet, we were forced to find a parking spot all the way out back in a snow bank and having us to then carry massive 50lb hockey bags a long distance through the foot of freshly fallen snow that wasnt even cleared.
Our object as most travelers is, to have your hotel as a quiet safe haven to relax and rest for your next days activities, good luck with that here, the lobby and entire courtyard was packed with NOT guests of the hotel but this event, live band rattling the walls to where we couldnt even hear our TV and had to go to the back bedroom. So one night, the kids were shadowed as they walked quietly from one friends to another and the next all hell breaks loose?
One asking the manager at the desk about why we were not notified at booking time of this event, he of course took corporate view which was, a full house was all they cared about.
The rest of my review is:
Room, Ok but expenisve for what you get, No free wifi which is even a staple for low end hotels now.
Bath : cheap steel tub that flexes and not comfortable to even stand in
Bed : fine
Breakfast: Not sure about the raves here on it but we thought it was TERRIBLE, granted we were at it when it opened due to our leaving early but putting cold food into warming trays to heat it isnt a good idea, try putting FRESH hot food in and have the tray keep it warm.
Also not nearly enough elevators and stair access was impossible if you got fed up with huge wait for the only 3 elevators for 8 floors. Even when elevators stopped, they were full so you waited several stops or more.
The open courtyard design is a real nice idea and looks great, they just need to realize this is a hotel not a nightclub rental.

Room Tip: Tip, if you like nightlife partying, stay here, if you want to rest for your next day, DONT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David6723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Cleveland Independence
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Cleveland Independence
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
Address: 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd N, Independence, OH 44131-2346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Cleveland Rockside
Embassy Suites Independence
Independence Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Cleveland Rockside Independence, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing