We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Lodgings for an Overnight Lay-Over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aomori, Japan
Level Contributor
311 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Fine Lodgings for an Overnight Lay-Over”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Bottom Line: Hyatt Place/Independence provided above-average accommodations for a recent one-night layover. Furnishings were clean and bright, staff was friendly, the amenities we tried (fitness room and free breakfast) met expectations, its location was convenient to both highways and Cleveland, and the tariff ($100/night, excluding taxes) was very fair.

Details: son and I stayed overnight on Sat 8/19/12. Check-in was efficient, and our room contained two comfortable double beds as we expected. This was my first visit to a Hyatt Place, and so the room's nifty layout into separate sleeping and living spaces left me pleasantly surprised. The glassware (instead of plastic cups) provided in the room was another thoughtful and welcome touch.

The fitness room contained a couple of Life Fitness tread mills, one elliptical trainer, and one stationary bike. The equipment was of recent, modern vintage and was in good repair. There were free weights as well.

The free breakfast included tasty breakfast sandwiches, fresh fruit, coffee, and juice (in addition to other stuff, which I made no note of). Breakfast was generous, and I appreciated that the meal didn't feel like an ersatz give-away.

Based on this experience, I will consider returning to other Hyatt Places in the future. In the category of mid-range travelers' hotels, I thought Hyatt Place offered better value than Marriott Courtyard (nice, but no complementary breakfasts) or Residence Inn (pricier). That said, imho Hyatt Place is still one large notch beneath Starwood's Element chain of hotels, my reigning favorite in verve and style in the category of mid-range travelers' hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    211
    68
    35
    12
See reviews for
239
155
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel was located right off I-77. The outside of the hotel was welcoming. There was even a small fountain outside the entrance. Inside very modern. The front desk clerk was extremely friendly and quickly checked me in. Room was descent size. King size bed was nice. Large HDTV. Bathroom smallish but functional. Fast free wi-fi worked good with simple sign-on. What I liked best was the free breakfast. There were sandwiches, cereal, toast, danishes, yogurt and fruit. OJ was fresh and milk was cold. Starbucks coffee was excellent. Plenty of seating in the lobby to read the newspaper and eat. There was a pool and workout area but I did not have a chance to use either one. Would recommend this location to everyone.

Room Tip: Get a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2talltodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I never have any complaints when staying at a Hyatt Place. The staff in the gallery were very friendly and were always helping customers. I never felt like I encountered an employee that didn't want to be there. The rooms were great and the cleaning staff were top notch. Comfy double beds, GREAT LG tv, terrific air conditioning and the couch was roomy enough that my very tall nephew had no complaints. My only suggestions would be new shower heads and maybe some new upholstery and stuffing on the couch, but other than that the room was perfect for 3 guys. The A.M. kitchen skillet was excellent each morning and the coffee was great. My nephews enjoyed the pool and were impressed that it went up to six feet deep. the location is also a real attribute: it is seconds from the highway for easy access to downtown Cleveland, Beachwood, North Olmsted, etc. We will definitely stay at again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LJK925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. It was the most modern looking hotel in the area compared to the Marriott and Embassy Suites. The bathroom area was slightly dirty, but we were only staying for one night so it wasn't a big deal. The bed was pretty comfortable and the couch/tv area was nice. Front desk attendant during check in wasn't the friendliest.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMuscatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is a typical hyatt place, which is great for business travelers. The rooms were quiet and clean. Breakfast was a typical hyatt place breakfast. The hotel is in a good location and within driving distance to different shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussRexRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel honored all my requests including a high floor in a quiet corner, extra pillows, and extra towels. The room was spacious and clean. Only complaint was the air conditioner in the room was so noisy and kept turning on and off all night long. It was a bit annoying but hopefully they will look into this problem. Easy access to downtown Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aries2748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here while traveling on business, I have never stayed with Hyatt before but this was a great trip. The hotel is close to the highway that takes you right into downtown. Shopping and Restaurants are nearby. The extra space in he rooms was great nice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.3 mi away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Cleveland Independence
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland Independence
Courtyard Cleveland Independence
#9 of 14 in Independence
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence

Property: Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
Address: 6025 Jefferson Dr, Independence, OH 44131-2145
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Independence
#1 Business Hotel in Independence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new kind of hotel that puts style, innovation and The Hyatt Touch within your reach. Here you'll find a 42" Plasma HDTV in each of our newly refreshed guest rooms featuring our Hyatt Grand Bed. Also included with each stay is our complimentary AM Kitchen Skillet breakfast as well as complmentary Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Freshly prepared food is available 24/7 in our Guest Kitchen. Or if you prefer to dine in the comforts of your room, we offer room service from 11 AM until 11 PM. You can start and end your day at our Coffee to Cocktails Bar where we proudly brew Starbucks coffee drinks as well as serve select beer wine and mixed drinks. We are located 12.4 miles east of Cleveland Hopkins Airport and 9 miles south of downtown Cleveland. Come see why Hyatt Place is a hotel built around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence Hotel Independence
Hyatt Place Independence
Hyatt Independence
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing