We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay, will go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawmill Creek Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Toledo, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“comfortable stay, will go back”
Reviewed March 31, 2006

Stayed here with my husband for a quiet weekend. The staff were super nice and the room was awesome! We had a fireplace suite with a jacuzzi. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good and the dinner music was a nice touch (solo pianist). The place advertised weekend entertainment so I was disappointed there was no entertainment the Friday we were there (on St Patrick's day), but we had drinks at the bar anyway. The decor at the resort (indian themed) and all the fireplaces in the common areas were nice & the adjacent shop, was fun to browse. This is on a large golf course, which we were unable to make use of. We hope to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 18Teresa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    111
    90
    67
    52
See reviews for
128
107
5
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 12, 2005

I was very disappointed in how old the hotel was and in need of updating. Our family stayed there for one night and that was enough. We were in the Ottawa building, one of the furthest from the lobby. I think they have redone their lobby and the building closest for business travelers. Our building was so old there was a ice machine that you put your bucket in and have to scoop ice. GERMS!!!!

We figured we would make the best of it and go to the pool. The water was freezing. The paint was peeling from the steps and ceiling. It was in need of a good painting.

I would NEVER stay here again and strongly recommend that families do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huron hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 16, 2005

The hotel/resort is a nice quiet place the decor is wonderful. The staff was great at answering any questions that we had. There is alot to do while staying here you can take a walk down a Nature preserve, play a round or two of Golf which is a tough course (I must say) Enjoy a glass of wine by many of their fireplaces. The Desk staff gave us excellent advise as to area attractions to go including dinning, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2005

My wife and I decided to stay here for a week on a trip to Cedar Point and the Lake Erie islands. We have stayed at numerous properties in the area on other visits. There is not a hotel within 60 miles of Cedar Point that can claim to be as nice as this one. We were looking for somewhere really nice to stay as this trip would be for a week, unlike our previous weekend CP trips. While the price for our stay at Sawmill was high (~250/night), I feel we got our money's worth. First the lobby and public areas are all themed as a hunting lodge with chadeliers made of antlers and artwork form local native american tribes throughout. This may sound tacky, it isn't. In actuality it is very tasteful and high class. There are several indoor waterfalls and tons of quiet places throughout the property to just unwind and relax in privacy. Our room was a bit larger than average and had a jacuzzi tub for two. It was beautifully decorated and appeared quite new. We only ate at one of the four restaurants on the premises, the Salmon Run. Other than Bay Harbour at Cedar Point, this is the best restaurant in the area. The food was delicious and better priced than I was expecting. My only complaint about the whole experience was that none of the bars onsite stayed open later than 1AM, though my wife didn't seem to mind that. Also at the resort are a golf course, shops, a marina, a beach, and miles of nature trails. We did not use any of these. We did take a carriage ride one night, but while romantic, it was too short for the price. Overall an excellent hotel. We will stay here again whenver we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2005

Where do I start? I've been a guest at Sawmill Creek on and off since 1975 and cannot recomend it highly enough to folks desiring a "little better" place to stay.

Just a few miles from Cedar Point between Sandusky and Huron on old Rt. 6, Sawmill Creek has been a premier destination spot for many years due in no small part to it's rustic but refined setting, championship 18 hole golf course, marina, restaurants, and proximity to Lake Erie.

A bit more pricey than the local lodging, Sawmill Creek makes up for this by providing a tranquil setting away from the hustle and bustle of other resorts.

With not only a large outdoor pool, but an indoor heated pool and jaccuzzi for winter visitors, one can just RELAX.

A review of this property without mention of the restaurants at Sawmill Creek would be remiss. The resort encompases a fine marina restaurant for everyday fare, and a FAR above average top end dining room called Salmon Run which specializes in a Sunday Brunch that is top notch. Reservations are a MUST due to their popularity, especially on Easter, Mother's Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas.

BTW, I am not an employee of Sawmill Creek, nor have I been paid for this review - it's just my honest opinion that if you have LOTS of squeeling kids, take them to Great Wolf Lodge. If they're better behaved or you want privacy or exclusivity, choose Sawmill Creek.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank macbuddhahaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2004

We had booked to stay in Sandcastle Suites, but had found it to be awful, so we checked in here. The hotel is not far from Cedar Point.
The staff are very helpful and the restaurant is excellent. It is also a quiet hotel set in plesant surroundings

Helpful?
15 Thank Ray_Farley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
11.1 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
282 reviews
19.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
6.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
7.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Property: Sawmill Creek Resort
Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Dr W, Huron, OH 44839-2261
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing