We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice stay, needs updates” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawmill Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sawmill Creek Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Huron
cleve, ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice stay, needs updates”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I went to a retreat here in the Spring. The restaurant and the meeting rooms were well maintained and seemed updated although the hotel rooms were not. This hotel seems to cater to big groups and conferences, a great deal, but the rooms and building are in need of updates.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elouise_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at Sawmill Creek Resort. The resort has been updating spaces and renovating rooms as time allows. Sawmill Creek has the flexibility to cater to groups of all sizes as well as family getaways. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    104
    84
    63
    46
See reviews for
120
99
5
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taylor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I bought a livingsocial.com deal to stay at this resort. It was a great deal...we got a night's stay, $25 towards meals or golf, and two free breakfasts. We were very pleased. The hotel is a lodge, the room was pleasant & clean, the bed was great. Other reviews complained that there weren't flat screen tvs which is true but there were lots of channels available. The food was very good at Salmon Run. We didn't use the pools but both the outdoor and indoor looked great. A hot tub would be a nice addition. All the staff was very nice. The breakfast buffet (which we got for free) was very well stocked and tasted good, however, it was a little cold. I think this was because they had so much food in the pans the heat was getting through. We bought golf through travelzoo.com and it too was very nice. We weren't paired up and the course was very pretty. We definitely would stay again and I'm considering it for a larger outing.

Room Tip: The lodge is spread out so but parking is available everywhere. Our room was in the Ottawa lodge on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Sawmill Creek thanks you for the wonderful feedback. Sawmill Creek features a Tom Fazio designed golf course which sounds like you enjoyed!! Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have stayed at this property many times throughout the years. This property used to be a vibrant place to stay. It has become tired and somewhat outdated. The carpet in the hallways is wrinkled and worn. The entire facility was clean so, that was good. We tried to buy water in the shop near the pool - all lights were on but it wasn't open. All of the vending machines were out of water also. The limited staff were very polite. I was very surprised at how deserted the property seemed in the prime summer season. We had the breakfast buffet which was just okay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLSproul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Sawmill Creek thanks you for the feedback. I have noted the comments you made and I will notify the proper departments. We hope to see you again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We are Clevelanders who were looking for a quick getaway for a weekend. We purchased the golf package and our expectations were exceeded! The checkin was the quickest I've ever experienced, the staff could not have been friendlier, and the resort as a whole truly made us feel like we were on a vacation far, far away. We got $20 breakfast credit with our package and I was surprised that the menu items were extremely reasonably priced (unlike many hotels) and the portions were very large. The $20 credit covered almost our whole breakfast! The greens were great to golf on and service at the course was as great as the hotel. We were only there one night but Sawmill truly exceeded our expectations. We will absolutely be back!!!! A++

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popchop9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your response. It sounds as if you enjoyed the Tom Fazio designed golf course!! The golf package is a great deal and is available on our website. Thank you again for visiting Sawmill Creek and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The rooms are cleannbut outdated. Tv old as the hills. It is a long walk from lobby to room. Particularly annoying when kkey dies. The fitness center is limited and dirty. Staff polite but nobody goes out of their way to help.the so calked deli was closed at 6pm with no indication of time it would reopen. I came here for a conference and hoped fir much better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeesmcpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. Sawmill Creek is in the process of updating our sleeping rooms. I will notify the proper management personnel about your other concerns. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days with 5 grandkids. Facilities are a little dated as noted in other reviews, but the place was very clean and well kept. Outdoor pool area very nice (pool a little chilly). Indoor pool warm...lots to do...we used free tennis racquets and basketballs, free ping pong. I did not feel it was overpriced considering the nearness to Cedar Point (10 minutes tops) and the cost of their (cedar Point) inferior hotels. Staff very friendly...Kim at the front desk was outstanding. Housekeepers very accommodating to some extra requests. Salmon Run restaurant a little pricey but good, Mulligans Pub on golf course was excellent. Nice outside deck on a small lake and they gave the kids bread to feed the fish Upscale Mariners restaurant in Marina area very good (only open on Friday and Saturday). All in all a very good stay. The wi-fi is not good..you have to be in the right area at the right time..otherwise I would give 5 stars

Room Tip: There are only two floors (very limited elevators) and some wings are a long walk from pool and lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDfan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your response. It sounds as if you took the time to enjoy all that Sawmill Creek has to offer. Mariner's Dockside restaurant is a great place to enjoy dinner while still on the resort grounds. The indoor and outdoor pool are another popular choice. Cedar Point is only a ten minute drive!! Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. Plus side first - We booked the winery package and the trip to Paper Moon winery was very nice.We liked the shops and found some cute, reasonably priced souvenirs. Our room was very clean and all the staff we came in contact with were helpful and friendly. On the negative - the entire resort is very outdated and Very expensive for what is there. The wi-fi access was basically non-existent. The pool area needs serious updating and at least double the amount of chairs that were available. The female bartender at the pool was extremely slow, the drinks were overpriced and the music was horrible. Would I go back? I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OBTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The wine tour package is a very popular choice among our resort packages. I have noted your other concerns and will pass them on to the proper departments. We are updating our sleeping rooms and the wi-fi has been improved. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#3 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Cedar Point
4.8 mi away
Castaway Bay Resort
Castaway Bay Resort
#11 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Property: Sawmill Creek Resort
Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Drive, Huron, OH 44839
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing