We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel belongs to the past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawmill Creek Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Reviewed September 10, 2013

and not in a good way. I was part of a conference and experienced the hotel in September.
The food looks and tastes like a remnant of the 80s. The fried walleye, the baked brie are the worst exectuions that I have seen in a very long time. We were rushed with such a concern to place our orders before 10 PM that it took the joy out of being part of the hotel. [from the desk clerk to the servers in the restaurant; they must be afraid of the wrath of the chef] A very stale and unsustainable way of thinking of guests and service. The hallways and rooms are noisy. If you must stay here turn the A/C fan on to high, it will give you plenty of "white noise" unless you prefer the hallway or your neighbor's noise to the rattling of A/C parts
The pillows have not been changed for new ones for a long time therefore you need 6 of them to prop your head. I could not find a hair dryer and the hangers are cumbersome to use. If you do not get to the front desk before 8 o'clock your chances of recieving a complimentary newspaper dwindles to 0. On the way out I would have loved to hear something magical, like " thank you for staying with us, could we have done anything better? did you enjoy your stay?.........nothing.
I rest my case

Room Tip: try another hotel if there is one if not choose an upper floor away from the elevator and soda machi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beyoglu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 433 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a good time here, but everything just felt old and trapped in the 80's. The pool is old, the hot tub wasn't hot enough, the room TV is too small, the bathtub/shower has seen better days. It's over priced IMO. More of a budget room/amenities experience at a premium price.

With that being said I still give it a 3/5 because it has excellent grounds and lots of things to do, including golf and a private beach. The food at the Mariner's restaurant was unbelievably good too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John16Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed there for a wedding and the first room we went into the toilet was broke and was running. I called and we were given another room. The beds are wore out and only double beds. The TV was an old one and the rooms are old and the outlets are few. The odor outside our room smelled like sewer. There was a buffet for breakfast which was nice and the staff was accommodating for large group. There was another group that stayed at another hotel which was much nicer.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank b_mosholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a dirty, run down and tired motel 6 on steroids. The carpeting smells of mildew and is stained and dirty. The hallways smelled and the room (which was an upgraded king suite) is simply a room with an old green couch. For the money, this is a huge disappointment. If you don't care about clean rooms, comfortable beds and furniture from the last decade or so, this is the spot or you.

Room Tip: If you would like a clean, comfortable and well appointed room, make sure you ask directions to anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tammy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I traveled for the Rev3 event. After reading the horrific reviews of hotels in he park, we chose this as it had better reviews. It is reminiscent of a Holiday Inn back inn the 1970's. it smells terrible, not sure what the odor is! An overflowing toilet, possible mold? The carpet (shag, yes shag carpet) in the room is no fashion statement. Old, stained and dirty, it really was disgusting. The hotel need to be totally remodeled. I would never stay here again, ever.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you want a good room. We had the cream of the crap and it was terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ack_tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rooms were dirty, smelled like mildew and could use some updating. I think for $150 a night they could clean the place up and do some updating. The grounds looked very good . The staff at the front desk were very polite and nice. I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMR1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at the resort with the kids all 12 or over. Spent one day at cedar point that was a 5 minute drive. Husband golfed on a very nice course. Had dinner at restaurant that was pretty good. Overall not fancy but a good place to stay near cedar point and kalahari. Nice outdoor pool area also. Could use some upgrades to the indoor pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAJASIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
19.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
11.1 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
304 reviews
20.5 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
6.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
3.7 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Dr W, Huron, OH 44839-2261
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range: $144 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing