We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't meet it's price tag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sawmill Creek Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doesn't meet it's price tag”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here while attending a wedding event. The location is great. The resort offers many things....at a steep price. For $175 per night one would expect above all at least a clean room. Not so much. Spider webs, stains on the floors, bathroom mirrors with big black spots, and a mildew smell. I'm not usually one to freak out about a hotel room, but this one left me not wanting to take my shoes off. In short the resort is in need of major updating and maintenance. Several budget hotel chains do a better job at updating. Knowing the area and what it has to offer I can say that there are a number of hotels/golf courses in the immediate vicinity that are a much better value. This place would be worth more than it's price tag if they would invest back into the facilities. I won't be staying here again unless that happens.

Room Tip: Double rooms only have full size beds, not even queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    108
    87
    63
    46
See reviews for
121
101
5
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Single mom, two kids; worked out very well for us. Weary travelers arrived at 6:00pm. Nice friendly Staff @ check-in. Our first room had a funky smell so we asked to be moved. Chris at front desk was very accommodating. Overall clean, safe and comfortable. Could use updating and refurbishing. We stayed two nights and our trip was centered around CedarPoint Amusement Park. This was the most affordable place to stay near the park. Sunseekers Beach and Marina area are beautiful and clean. We left a pillow from home behind and when I called, they found it and promptly mailed it back to us... very accommodating! Only down side was noise at night. Partygoers were loud at the bar and the train traffic nearby was really loud during the night... train whistles going off all night. Luckily we had A/C running in our room and were exhausted so it did not keep me up, but something to note for next time(earplugs).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabzy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business trip.

Good things
Nice location, golf course, Indian theme, spacious, in house restaurant and bar, meetings and conference rooms, pool.

Bad things
Poor service, run down carpets, terrible beds, old rooms, bland food, fitness center sucks, far off from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venkata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I had read all the reviews posted and would say that all of them have validity, good or bad. The resort is in need of new management. It is built beautifully but needs maintenance and updating. The theme doesn't need changing but the vents are filthy, rooms need a little updating, etc. Staff was very friendly for the most part but they are severely handicapped by an inconsistent and below average kitchen. I was excited to play the golf course yet it wasn't interesting enough to return. Rented jet skis... That was fun. This isn't all that awful but for what we spent, you'd expect a lot more. Very expensive. We stayed three nights.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eriwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huron hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Upon arrival, it seemed ok. The lobby seemed tied, but comfortable. Checked in and was quoted a price, which we agreed to pay. Upon checking out, there was a day charge of $9.95 for swimming towels, which we were never near a pool. It was NEVER disclosed to us that an extra charge would be added to our bill each day!!
" it is just a charge we charge everyone". Well tell me when I am checking in!!
The first night the alarm had an issue of shorting out and at 3:30 am and every five minutes after that it went of as if electricity was surging. Thank you that we were able to finally unplug it.
The fan in the bathroom made so much noise, they came and completely removed it.
The bathtub was slippery, it was dangerous.
We were warned not to eat there, but the good thing was the walleye sandwich and the nice waitress.
They mentioned they were dog friendly, but the walking paths do not permit pets!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venice2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Paid cash by the pool, at check out they tried to charge my room, "how did they get my room number?????" $ 70.00 charged to credit card with no details????? Called and was told it would be removed.....three weeks later and many phones calls no refund, I have left messages for nancy in book keeping and owner Jeff neither one have called me back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our lodge room was not clean. Cobwebs (thick) on top of all the lampshades. Bathroom floor had hair from previous guest(s). Beds are very lumpy. Bed making consisted of sheets and quilt thrown back on the bed and the mattress was not centered. Coffee cups from day before were still where we left them and the next morning from grounds in the coffee maker and the carafe not washed. The tub is very slippery and there is no place to grab in case of a slip. Also no soap holder in tub area. Breakfast not inexpensive and not good. Eggs over easy were tasteless and very runny. Toast came pre-buttered and I think it was sprayed on as the toast was very dry. The salt shaker top was encrusted and the salt almost solidified. This was caused by humidity. Asked for another salt shaker and the 2nd was the same as 1st. The other couple in our party....their used wet towels hung up for next day & no coffee in room.

Room Tip: Would be very surprised if there is a good room on the place. Next door to Cedar Point so easy to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellenkfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
3.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
4.8 mi away
Castaway Bay
Castaway Bay
#9 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Property: Sawmill Creek Resort
Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Drive, Huron, OH 44839
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing