We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your bill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sawmill Creek Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Watch your bill”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Paid cash by the pool, at check out they tried to charge my room, "how did they get my room number?????" $ 70.00 charged to credit card with no details????? Called and was told it would be removed.....three weeks later and many phones calls no refund, I have left messages for nancy in book keeping and owner Jeff neither one have called me back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    109
    87
    63
    48
See reviews for
122
102
5
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our lodge room was not clean. Cobwebs (thick) on top of all the lampshades. Bathroom floor had hair from previous guest(s). Beds are very lumpy. Bed making consisted of sheets and quilt thrown back on the bed and the mattress was not centered. Coffee cups from day before were still where we left them and the next morning from grounds in the coffee maker and the carafe not washed. The tub is very slippery and there is no place to grab in case of a slip. Also no soap holder in tub area. Breakfast not inexpensive and not good. Eggs over easy were tasteless and very runny. Toast came pre-buttered and I think it was sprayed on as the toast was very dry. The salt shaker top was encrusted and the salt almost solidified. This was caused by humidity. Asked for another salt shaker and the 2nd was the same as 1st. The other couple in our party....their used wet towels hung up for next day & no coffee in room.

Room Tip: Would be very surprised if there is a good room on the place. Next door to Cedar Point so easy to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellenkfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huron hotels

ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Sawmill this past weekend for my stepdaughter's wedding. The facility was VERY crowded but the staff were all friendly and very helpful. The wedding was on Lake Erie and the location was a ways from the lodge but the buses were readily available anytime we needed them. There was a lovely courtyard for cocktails and the reception room was large and clean. The food was hot and tasty. I enjoyed the lodge feel of the hotel but I think there could be a few updates made to the rooms including queen beds and refrigerators. If we head up to the Huron area again we would definitely consider staying at Sawmill Creek.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scrappin_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were almost frightened off by the many bad reviews of this hotel. However, we booked through Expedia and got a decent price for a room where we could fit 6 people. The room, with two double beds and a pull out couch for two, was the same price as a room at another hotel in Sandusky. However, we would have had to book two rooms for six people instead of one, which saved us a lot of money! The room was plenty big enough for one adult, and 5 teenage girls. We came armed with our air fresheners based on the previous reviews, and never needed them. We never smelled anything funky, and we walked through the entire hotel. The decor was cute, lodgy and Native American. They have a beautiful fireplace lobby, with multiple fireplaces and couches. The pools appeared to be very nice, although we did not have the opportunity to use them as we were at Cedar Point all day.
The hotel is very close to Cedar Point, another thing we were worried about. It is a straight shot right from the resort to the causeway leading to Cedar Point, and took less than 10 minutes to get there. We arrived in the dark, but the driveway was nicely lit. We did eat breakfast at Salmon Run, and found the food to be fairly good.
We did not make full use of the resorts activities, so cannot really comment on any of them. We simply stayed here during a visit to Cedar Point. So if that is what you are looking for, you will most likely be happy. One caution, we booked through Expedia and were not told that we would be charged a $10 resort fee on top of the nightly rate. Also, the pull out bed is quite uncomfortable. But for the price, we were fine with that!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SLKKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed there for four nights while there for a softball tournament. The beds are TERRIBLE uncomfortable. The pool was overcrowded and dirty. There were little kids running around unsupervised at all hours.
I would never give this place higher than 2 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabbyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Took a mini vacation to the Sandusky area and decided to stay at Sawmill Creek in nearby Huron. We stayed in one of the suites and were very satisfied with the room. The resort has a very nice outdoor pool area as well as indoor pool. There is also a sand beach that the hotel guests can use. The beach was a bit of a walk, but the bellman can give you a lift on a golf cart. There are also several restaurants and a deli on site. My only complaint was that the deli was closed early Sunday so there was nowhere to grab a quick bite or drink while at the pool. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our staywas very and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I would not recommend this "resort," It is outdated and needs a lot of improvement. Our bedding had never been changed from the previous occupants and we had to call twice to get it changed, the bathroom was also dirty with hair everywhere. The phone lines were down, no WiFi, and you could not use credit cards there to pay for anything. The food at "Salmon Run" is expensive and is not good; for the price you would expect a lot more food and better quality. Also, the breakfast buffet has a lot to be desired. The buffet is expensive and in order to have waffles you have to stand in line for 20min. because they are self serve and only have two waffle irons. There is no "hot tub" it is freezing cold at all times, also patrons were doing obscene acts in the "hot tub" where children were swimming; do not swim there, it is unsanitary!!! There needs to be security at this "resort" and more staffing, because that incident was not handled properly! We will NEVER return to this "resort" for the amount of money you pay, it was a horrible trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hotelguest31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
3.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
4.8 mi away
Castaway Bay
Castaway Bay
#9 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Property: Sawmill Creek Resort
Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Dr W, Huron, OH 44839-2261
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing