We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sawmill Creek Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Jefferson Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went with my sister this past June and it was GREAT.
Hotel has a friendly staff at desk.Clean room comfortable beds.
Pool clean and spa was great also.
We had a great time for seniors.
Food at the restaurants was very good and not expensive.
Breakfast Buffet was the best I have had in a long time.
Entertainment at the lounge was good.
Bought items at the shop and they had a nice selection of items to sell.
Will go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVern W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    111
    90
    68
    52
See reviews for
129
107
5
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great place on Lake Erie. If you are travelling with children, you might not be so enamored but after a full day of riding Roller Coasters with nieces & nephews, this place was truly a find! The staff was exceptional, the bar equally great and the food, outstanding! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsOrdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I just traveled to sawmill with my family (13 total). We had a truly wonderful time. This resort is very nice and has a very helpful and courteous staff. It's true the rooms are very outdated and a little pricey for what you get. Double beds should be updated to queens and they really should offer a fridge and microwave in each room since a lot of people come here for an extended stay but all in all we loved the facility. There were lots of common areas with tables and comfy couches for us to all gather and hang out and play games. (these areas were freezing and the wifi wasnt great but they did have a cozy fire going at all times) The grounds are pretty well maintained and the pools are nice. It was kind of weird that the hot tub wasn't hot....same temp as the pool which was a bit disappointing. The beach was really nice and clean and private but it was an extremely long walk to get there (15-20 min). The front desk is happy to have someone drive you down in a golf cart and then will come back and get you when you're done. We would definitely stay here again but would love to see a few more amenities for the price....it really does lack some standard luxury's we've had at most resorts we've stayed at in the past. I can't say enough that the staff was great and very helpful at all times always willing to offer us anything we needed for the kids and always willing to say hi and offer a smile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamra28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Saw Mill Creek Resort along with several other friends in town for a wedding. While our brief visit didn't give us enough time to see the full grounds, we did benefit from terrific customer service. One of our party left a watch in their room, which the front desk tracked down and was able to get it to another member of our party who hadn't left yet. I left my iphone in the room, which the housekeeper found and brought to the front desk. The front desk manager shipped it back to me at home. In both cases, the staff were very understanding and helpful and went out of their way to track down and return out items.

It was clear that the value of providing great customer service is something the employees at the resort take very seriously and their genuine courtesy and helpfulness was much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khwatsondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hmmm...where do I begin? I guess I'll just provide bullet points:

- Quite expensive for the age/quality of the rooms (read more below)
- Most of the staff was very friendly/helpful, but a few of the younger (high school aged?) staff members (working the front desk) could use some interpersonal skillset improvements.
- Hotel exterior and interior (rooms) are badly in need of a significant update. Dated/worn bedspreads, carpet, and flooring. Ancient tube TV sets (with poor reception) and marginal, wired-ONLY internet access.
- Showering was an "experience". If you set the water on the cool side, you're guaranteed to be periodically frozen all throughout your shower. If you set the water on the warm side, you're guaranteed to be scalded several times. It's almost as if your next door neighbor is constantly flushing the toilet while you're taking a shower and it drastically affects water temperature (no matter what time of day).
- Incredibly noisy air conditioning unit -- I suspect that the air conditioner could be heard across the Canadian border. Good luck sleeping at night if you stay during the summer.
- Food was mediocre
- The rooms were clean
- The best part of the resort was the golf course. It was quite beautiful and nicely manicured.

I don't mean for the review to sound cruel because I certainly have had worse experiences. It is just that the price for a room at the resort is so expensive (like a 4 star resort), but yet it appears the resort owners have not updated anything. Rooms in 1 and 2 star hotels we've stayed in are sometimes nicer. Owners, please spend some money updating the resort -- you could have a major area attraction if you did. Even if you addressed a FEW of the items above, I think you'd receive more favorable reviews. The place certainly has potential.

Room Tip: No comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huron hotels

detroit
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just got our bill for the last two days and we not only paid the usual taxes but got taxed thirty four dollars for our two day Romance Package. That was never made clear when I booked this two night stay by the person I talked to over the phone.
The acreage is beautiful, the Salmon restaurant was great. The indoor and outdoor pool were super. The rooms need a lot of updating. The bathtub was slippery and without handrails. The sink did not drain properly and you had to hold the toilet handle down to flush. No flat screen t.v. or Internet connection in the room. Our carpet had dark stains on it and the bed was hard and you could hear and feel the springs when you sat on it. There was a musty smell also. But I will say the cleanliness was superb.
While swimming in the outdoor pool we noticed a tile missing and also the thatched roofing on the hotel looked like it was going to fall off in places. There was a train close by that I seemed to hear a lot at night and around the pool. I liked our package amenities until we saw the tax. I think the woman in the deli and the one at the front desk could have been nicer too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesapphire24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
838 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,052 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights (7/27 and 7/28) while in town for a family reunion. Hotel was chosen for us,otherwise, I would have stayed elsewhere. The room that we were assigned #1106 had an odor that was just bad......combination of mildew and musty. The only way to alleviate this somewhat was to crank the air conditioner and that made the room damper than it already was.

The bedding and carpet were actually damp to the touch. The type of carpet that was chosen for the room was not appropriate.......it needed to be a much shorter variety. If the entire room was hardwood like the entry way and bathroom maybe the smell would not have been as bad. It is lovely to walk from the shower area to the bed and your feet have dirt stains on them from the damp carpet. Kids were warned to not walk around in their white socks.

I know nothing is going to change at this place. They make their money during the fairly short season that they have. Ordinarily, I would never stay in a hotel that offers full-size bedding (that was not very comfortable) and doesn't even provide a fridge in the room for $139 dollars a night. They now have my $300 plus dollars and we have the crappy experience of staying at this property.

The common areas are very nice. The 2 pools were nice to the eye. BUT at the end of the day the room was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abcjjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
11.1 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
285 reviews
19.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
6.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
7.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Property: Sawmill Creek Resort
Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Dr W, Huron, OH 44839-2261
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing