We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
“nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and me just stayed here and it was sooooooooo nice!!! They gots a indoor pool with a hot whirlpool in the same room, fitness room, and free coffee in the morning which I just loved! They had decorated for xmas and i forgot to take a pic of the tree in the lobby but it was just BEAUTIFUL!!! Our room was just so nice and cozy, and the housekeeper did a fine job! The lil boy at the front desk at 2am was so nice and polite, gots me some extra blankets and showed me how to connect to the wireless internet! Price wasn't bad either at 40 bux! only bad thing was the pool was pretty cold...but we just hopped back n forth between the pool and jacuzzi to stay warm n toasty!

Room Tip: get a rm on teh first floor...close to swimming and the vending!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for all of your kind words about your recent stay! We enjoy hearing how we are doing! We share all of our reviews with all of the staff so they can see where we are striving and where we could use some improvement so it's always nice for them to see how they have done. I agree that my staff did a wonderful job on the decorations this year! We look forward to your return visit the next time you are in the area!

Thank you again for all of your great thoughts about our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    59
    35
    18
    22
See reviews for
85
35
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Understand...this is a 4 star for a small town (bit different than a larger city with more options.) That being said, I will definitely bring my family back! Our 2nd visit - front desk could not have been more polite. Room very clean and everything we needed (bring your own shampoo!) Pool area was perfect for kids (cold outside & super warm in the water!) We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvscigars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a GREAT review! Our pool area is one of the best ways to relax when its so cold out in North Central Ohio! Even though winter is just starting and its only going to get colder out, our pool will always be warm and waiting for you on your next visit!

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Certainly above average for a budget hotel. The property seems to have been recently refreshed, with small-ish but brightly decorated rooms. It is located next to a fairly busy freight rail line, but after spending an entire day at Cedar Point we had no issues getting a good night's rest.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should request a room facing away from the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkidambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to make every guests stay a positive one. We enjoy receiving any and all feedback about how we are doing, and its refreshing to hear that we are doing a good job. Thank you again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a great economy hotel for visiting Cedar Point. The property is under 20 minutes from the Cedar Point peninsula, and has easy access to OH-2. The downside of the location is the proximity to some train tracks. There was a loud train (horn blaring) about every 30-60 minutes. The bed was very comfortable, and the flat screen TV had plenty of channels to choose from, and the picture was good. The bathroom laminate floor could have been swept better, and the towels could have been softer. Bring your own shampoo, they only provide bar soap. The biggest downside was that the door to the room was difficult to properly close, so the housekeeping staff failed to secure the door each day. We kept our valuables in the car for this reason, and due to the fact they charged to use the safe in the room. I would definitely stay here again, as the rates were really good for Sandusky, and there was nothing majorly wrong with the hotel. They even give you a paper outside your door each morning!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the road, as then you will not be on the same side as the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellover1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very kindly for taking the time to share your review about your stay at our Motel 6. We value every response that we get from our guests. I'm sorry to hear that there were some issues with your door latch during your stay. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

loved everything, the rates on the wknd are overpriced for i=being a motel 6 but on th wknds it well worth the 79. pool was clean , hallways clean but staff looked sloppy with iniforms all wrinkled looks like they slept on them and just came to work

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very kindly for your review regarding your recent stay with us! We strive to excel in customer service here and our hope is always that every guest that stays with us will have an enjoyable, relaxing experience. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again if ever travelling through the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

we had to have are house defled and got a room ther we have two cats they wre very helpful with that ,the rooms are great and the staff is great ,all i can say if you are around there it is the best place to go

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your feedback from your stay. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests. I'm glad that you found my staff to be welcoming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family and I stayed here for Cedar Point's Halloweekend's and I'm so happy we decided on this hotel! The rooms, hallways, and lobby area looked recently updated and painted, and everything was sparkling! I am pretty picky when it comes to hotels, but this place was top notch and you can tell the staff do an amazing job to keep it so clean! They also have an indoor pool/whirlpool which isn't something you normally see at a Motel 6! The kids and I loved it, and we are totally returning next summer! Another bonus was the fee wifi! Usually at some hotels you have to pay for it, but not here! Also, the man at the front desk, I think his name was Joel, was the most friendly clerk I have EVER talked to at a hotel, and I stay at ALOT of hotels and we hope he is there when we return next year! He went out of our way late at night to supply us with extra towels, pillows, and soap. I am a bit of a night owl, so I was up and down most of the night running to the vending machines, and everytime I saw him he was cleaning something or mopping! Good for him, and the lobby was emaculate! Thank you Joel! Can't wait to come back many more times!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilovecedarpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love getting feedback from our guests. I share all of these reviews with the staff and it helps us continue to strive to do the best we can! I look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Cedar Point
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Property: Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Address: 601 Rye Beach Rd, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839-2063
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sandusky - Huron is located off I-2 exit Rye Beach Rd. Amusement parks, golf and the beach are within 3 miles. Our smoke-free modern rooms include a 32 inch LCD TV and free Wi-Fi. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, conference room and truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Motel-6 and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Huron
Microtel Hotel Huron
Huron Microtel
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing