We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Saint Joseph, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great value”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Arrived late evening and had great service at the checkin. Room was clean, cool and ready for us wwith no issues. Morning staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations for food and discounted Cedar Point tickets. There were only a few peoople staying so the poool and hot tub was wide open and available for the kids. Great value compaired to other nnearby motels. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check to see if you can get discounted room (AARP, clubs, etc.).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    36
    18
    23
See reviews for
88
38
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband booked this hotel as an economical stay for our trip to Cedar Point. The only positive thing that I can say about it is that it was a convenient location for our trip. I wish that I knew the "Motel 6" policy about not having alarm clocks, tissues, hairdryers, coffee pots, and toiletry items in the rooms ahead of time! Although, when I did ask the front desk, they did find a hair dryer to use and return to the desk when I was finished. The room was marginally clean. The bathroom had threadbare stained white towels, a pinkish stain (mold?) on the shower curtain and poor water pressure. The rooms had cheap laminate flooring that was cold to walk on. Although, in retrospect, that was probably better than carpet. At least then you could see easily where it was dirty or clean. The comforters had stains on them as well. The walls were thin. You could hear people talking in the adjacent rooms and in the hallway. There are train tracks behind the building with a lot of train traffic. They blow the horn frequently all night long! There is no continental breakfast or in room refrigerators or mIcrowaves. They do provide a couple of carafes of coffee in the lobby and local newspapers at your door. I will not be staying here again. Nor could I recommend anyone else stay here.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room at the front of the hotel. It may help with the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinFamilyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m64535bo, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am truly sorry that you had a bad experience at our motel. Motel 6 offers the lowest rate out of all the nation chains. Motel 6 is also known for being a "No Frills" brand and not providing extra amenities such as alarm clocks, tissues, hairdryers, coffee pots ect. However we do have many of these items available at the front desk for no charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huron hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This motel is the cheapest around the area. You get what you pay for.
The elevator was dirty. My room has NO clock, no tissues, no hairr dryer, no ironing board, no iron, no towel rods and no bathroom amenities, The towel are all so old and thread bare and they are nubby like coarse sand paper. There are no towel rods or hooks to hang wet towels, except for 1 small hook behind the door. The tub drain wasn't draining, so I had to get a plastic knife from a fast food restaurant and saw through the piles of hair in the drain to allow the water to go down the drain. The show curtain bottom had a lot of pink/read mold on it. The bathroom was sticky, but I put towels down to walk on it. There was a brown blob smear under the bathroom trash can. There is no continental breakfast. My bedspread had stains on it. The room floor is fake wood laminate and the staff does not seem to clean the floors. There has been a layer of lake Erie sand near my bed the whole time I have been here. it is unclear how often, if ever the floors and elevator floors are cleaned. There was a layer of dirt on the elevator floor and a lot of smudges on the walls. All of the faucets have water savers on them, so it takes forever to fill a small water glass. There is no cold water in the shower, and there is no hot water in the bathroom sink. The front desk people are a little weird. One front desk gal seemed to have family or friends sitting in the lobby with her. When I first entered the building, she was on the couch with them, and then jumped up to go behind the desk as I took a few more steps into the lobby. A family member who was not in a Motel 6 uniform, said "Hi" very loudly. I said "Hi" quickly as I walked to the elevator. Then he said, "You are rude, you should look at me and smile, sheesh!". The elevator couldn't come fast enough to get me out of the area where this scary man was.

Room Tip: Bring your own hair dryer, clock, tissues, broom and cleaning supplies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitikata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a trip to Cedar Point. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. It was a good place if you are just staying for a short time. You can hear people if they are in the hallway but that didn't seem to be to much of an issue. The train I heard several times a night but I am a light sleeper, no one else in the family heard it. In the morning there was coffee and biscutts and gravy to eat. We weren't there long enough to use the pool or hottub because we were at cedar Point all day and it closed at 10 so the kids missed it. If you are just looking for a place to stay a few nights without breaking the bank then I would stay here. We went through Motel6.com and made the reservations so it was much cheaper than just going in there and getting the room. It was a great value for the stay.

Room Tip: go through Motel6.com and reserve the room its much cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

the only reason I gave this hotel 2 stars was that it was clean. Where to start.... check in was messed up but the ladies at the front desk fixed the reservation that we had.Got to our room on the second floor. Room was clean..... the AC/heater sounded like a model-T starting up every time.... all night long. This is a converted microtel, rooms were very small. No shampoo, ruff small towels. The bed was a lumpy mattress on a box..... no box springs at all. There is a rail line directly behind the hotel with a crossing be ready for the train horn about 10-20 trains a night. There were two softball teams in the hotel.....doors slamming,running in the halls well into the night.The couple in the next room were let's just say they had a fun night.......and we were able to hear it all....so be warned thin walls....pool was clean and the hot tub was hot....no breakfast....there are lots of choices to eat in the area......there are better choices......we won't be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tig2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a last minute trip to Cedar Point. It was fairly close to the park, clean, and had a very friendly staff. The rooms have been redone Ikea style and are sparse, but comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nandamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
264 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Well-maintained basic hotel. They have interior corridors and the room was very clean. The staff was polite and helpful. The air-conditioner worked wonderfully and it was a great location for our Cedar Point stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Packerfancheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Cedar Point
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
5.1 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
220 reviews
5.3 mi away
Motel 6 Sandusky-Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Property: Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Address: 601 Rye Beach Rd, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839-2063
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sandusky - Huron is located off I-2 exit Rye Beach Rd. Amusement parks, golf and the beach are within 3 miles. Our smoke-free modern rooms include a 32 inch LCD TV and free Wi-Fi. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, conference room and truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Motel-6 and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Huron
Microtel Hotel Huron
Huron Microtel
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing