We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Motel 6”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An Excellent Motel 6”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Originally a Microtel Inn & Suites, about a year ago it became a private brand (Home Town Inn). I was looking for this motel on the internet with no luck, I called them to see if they were still in business with my supprise its now a Motel 6. This is not your everyday Motel 6! The rooms have been updated with Motel 6's latest look. and new beds. The rooms still have the "Microtel Inn" feel, such as the long mirror along the headboard, furiture, the third "small" bed along the windowsill and semi-roomy bathroom.

On check in, I was greeted with a friendly staff. The motel is very well kept, clean and quiet. A large indoor pool is also available for visitors, I didn't use it, but it was tempting!

As like all Motel 6's, there is no breakfast (or restaurant on site)..but that helps keep the rates low! But don't worry too much about food, there is a Arby's next door, and a Wendy's across the street (both within walking distance).

The free high-speed internet worked great (Wi-Fi), the motel does accept pets at no-charge. I highly recommend this motel if your in the area!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RailfanMotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    59
    35
    18
    21
See reviews for
84
35
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed here memorial weekend and stayed for the price. Had a pool and hot tub that were clean. Room was clean. Noticed there was plywood under the mattress on both beds. (was looking for bed bugs none found) there was free coffee in lobby and a free newpaper at your door each morning. Very friendly service. If you stay request a room on the front of the building as there are train tracks on the back side and a train comes through every 20 min. Very close to cedar point and very good mexican food just down the road.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_luvs_butterflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

To start off, the front desk staff was helpful and polite, but everything else was below par. Between the honking train horn 100 yards from the room every 40 minutes, the scary stains on the comforters, the leaking AC that soaked all my clothes, and my prescription medication disappearing after being left in the room, I would warn everyone to stay clear of the Huron property. It looks nice and new on the outside, but this is by far the worst motel 6 property I have ever stayed at.‎

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bridgeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huron hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
sheboygan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We've traveled alot with our kids (Age 5/9) and this place beat every place we've been to for the price. $45 for a double queen bed, internet (they have a computer and printer in the lounge), nice pool, hot tub and coffee in the morning. It's about 10 minutes away from Cedarpoint. The room and bed were CLEAN!! On our roadtrip we were staying in $70 a night dumps, so this was a real treat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripley wv
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed one night in this hotel. It was way overpriced in my opinion. The comforter on the bed was very unclean. The beds are thin and hard, very uncomfortable. The carpet was not the cleanest and the bathroom was copletely stark with no amenities whatsoever. The hot tub was very small and the exercise room did not open until 9 AM. Most people like to work out much earlier than that. I certainly do. There is free coffee in the lobby but no breakfast included. For the price we paid, it should have been. When this motel was a Microtel, breakfast was included. the TV was very small and sat up high on top of a closet, very difficult to see. We just were not pleased with this hotel considering how much we paid to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripley304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We were really not expecting much from this place when we booked the room, but we were very surprised upon going in. Never have I stayed with a Motel 6 that had an indoor pool before, (plus a hot tub), a big, big plus. The hotel itself was very clean, and the rooms were just as good. Our particular room was two doubles with hardwood floors, mirrors across the whole back wall of the room, and the little window sofa which my son quickly claimed as soon as he saw it.

The only negatives I had about the stay were: 1) The girl who checked us in did act like she had better things to do, but started to warm up as the check-in went on. She was fine the rest of the stay, so I let it slide. 2) Not a whole lot of places to eat, (esp. late at night). It was pretty much Wendy's and the gas station across the highway that had sandwiches/pizza. We did not encounter the train to my knowledge, but I can see where it may be a problem as the hotel does sit right next to the tracks.

In closing, if your looking for a budget friendly place close to Cedar Point...I highly recommend Motel 6 - Huron. You don't get continental breakfast, but they do have coffee, and the rates made up for that anyway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestthrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We rented two rooms, the men's seemed to cool quite well; the women's did not cool at all. We asked to have a room change. It worked better but not a whole lot!

It seemed like either the AC was out of commission or they did not turn it on to save money. The hallways, the lobby, the pool area were all incredibly uncomfortable.

Staff was accommodating. The however, did not have enough pillows, sheets, etc. the additional memebers in the group.

Note there's a train that goes by 3 to 4 times an hour regardless of whether it's day or night.

On the positive. It was clean. Great location to Cedar Point. Fast food near by.

One great thing was the window seat which could be used as a single bed for your fifth person.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuchfunnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Cedar Point
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
5.3 mi away
Motel 6 Sandusky-Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Property: Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Address: 601 Rye Beach Rd, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839-2063
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sandusky - Huron is located off I-2 exit Rye Beach Rd. Amusement parks, golf and the beach are within 3 miles. Our smoke-free modern rooms include a 32 inch LCD TV and free Wi-Fi. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, conference room and truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Motel-6 and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Huron
Microtel Hotel Huron
Huron Microtel
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing