We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice walk”

Huron Harbor and Pier
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Huron
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On summer evenings you’re sure to see a flock of gulls and terns swoop by, particularly herring and ring-billed gulls and caspian terns.
Penfield, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice walk”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This pier was a nice walk. It was a little windy when we went, but it was a very scenic view.
You can see the boats coming and going, and the sea gulls pretty much stayed off the pier.
We went to the end of the pier, but not out to the lighthouse as that looked a bit rough with large concrete blocks to walk on with spaces between them. A great scenic photo shoot at the end of the pier.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lkoskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice walk by the water.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the walk out to the lighthouse. Take the time to look at all the wild flowers along the way. I almost missed them because I was too busy watching where I was stepping. Half way out path becomes big stones and there are crevices in between. Fun to watch the boats from the end. Lots of birds. Unfortunate smell on one side of the lighthouse when we were there. Hopefully rain clears it away.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyOrganizer523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Scenic walk along the river to the lake”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice easy walk until the last half-mile, when you walk along a seawall. Watch your step! But the views are well worth the walk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rob77ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“summer visit”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

worth a stop, and dont forget nickleplate beach!!! Huron is a great town, lighthouse, shallow beach in cottage community.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice walk to view of lighthouse”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Might not be what you have in mind of a lighthouse. The walk to a "deck" is a nice and easy walk. Past there, if you choose you can walk over rocks to get closer to the lighthouse. Not a walk for those unsteady on their feet...seriously. Then if you wish to straddle or crawl over more rocks you can walk around part of the lighthouse base. Nice view of the lake. We saw a Baltimore oriole, ducks, gulls and a heron. Appears to be a favorite fishing spot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Acrossthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huron Harbor and Pier also viewed

 

Been to Huron Harbor and Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing