We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn River's Edge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Lorain, Ohio
2 reviews
“Excellent value!”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

You can't beat the price. This was a 3-story hotel. We had a double bed room with handicap access. The room was a really nice size and tastefully decorated. There was an in-room safe for valuables but no refrigerator or coffee machine. However, there was free coffee available in the lobby every time we walked through.

The bathroom had a really nice walk-in shower, shower chair and higher toilet seat than normal, making it easier to get up and down. The bathroom ceiling vent came on automatically as needed. What I really liked was the night light in the bathroom. Plus, there were tissues, shampoo/conditioner, soap and a blow dryer.

There was a handy luggage rack for my suitcase. It was quite a hot day but we were chilly so we turned off the air conditioner. Yet it still quite cool and comfortable the whole time. The blankets were nice and warm but I had a very difficult time sleeping because I kept waking up hurting, no matter which way I turned.

The one thing I was very disappointed in was the level of sound proofing. It was very poor. You could easily hear the nearby train, the little kids running back and forth above us, vacuuming in other rooms, and people talking beside us.

There was a unique peephole in the door that allowed you to look 3 different ways: straight ahead, to the left and to the right. We thought that was pretty neat. Had never seen one like that before.

The free continental breakfast was pretty good. They had 3 choices of juice: orange, apple and strawberry kiwi. There was white and wheat bread, English muffins, bagels and different types of sweet muffins. I was really glad to see hard boiled eggs. For dry cereal, they served Rice Krispies, Corn Flakes and Fruit Loops. There was regular & decaf coffee, plus milk and even half & half coffee creamer, plus Sweet & Low and sugar. I also saw tea bags but didn't notice what kind.

There was a really slow 4-slice toaster. They also served individually packaged jellies, peanut butter & cream cheese. Plus, you could help yourself to fresh apples & oranges. To top it off, you eat your breakfast with a lovely view of the water outside the window. There was also a T.V. with the news playing.

There were two attractive rooms off the lobby area. One had a bookshelf with books to read and a computer where you could check your e-mail. Guests could take a copy of USA Today. The fitness room off the pool was a big joke. Looked like there had been recent flood damage. This area sorely needs attention because it smells terrible in the fitness room. Although I didn't use it, the pool looked very nice. I especially liked all the artwork throughout the hotel.

We went for a walk outdoors and were able to walk out on the pier, sit on a bench and watch a gorgeous sunset. There was a restaurant next door that I noticed served steak and even had a really nice outdoor seating area. Plus, there was a cafe and bowling alley across the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    101
    56
    16
    25
See reviews for
144
81
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2011

GREAT family accommodation choice. We just returned from Amsterdam where we paid 3X as much as we are paying here. This hotel is AWESOME. It is clean, friendly, and a great continental breakfast was included. It's just a few miles away from the hectic area around Cedar Point (nice, quaint town). And to top it off....We purchased some discount tickets to Cedar Point Amusement Park online but didn't have a way to print off the tickets. When I called the front desk and explained my dilemna, they said, "Just come on down and we can print them off for you here." Now that's service!!!! May sound like a small thing but their willingness to help me just saved me an additional $50.00. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLC12360922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I ended up at the River's Edge as overflow from the Sawmill Creek Lodge during a conference. While the accomodations left a great deal to be desired Tom, at the front desk, was cheerful and exceedingly helpful. He is, by far, the only selling point for this hotel. I found the other staff to be discourteous and short and the rooms were far from clean. It took about 45 minutes to get an iron in the morning and I was brought an iron and towel as they were "out" of ironing boards. The ice machine did not work on my floor, there was a hole in the screen on my window, and the place stunk. Tom's smile and willingness to do whatever he could to help us out, despite the fact that most of us were very unhappy about being shuffled to a different hotel, were the only postives.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenie6246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Excellent value for the quality and cleanliness. Stayed for a weekend trip to CederPoint, 10 min drive.

Cons:
Bathroom wallpaper needs replacing
windows don't open, AC does not turn off

Pros:
Free Wifi
Free Breakfast
Free parking
Relatively Clean
Friendly Staff
Nice Location

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theiphoneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We loved Rivers Edge Inn. While a bit aged, the location (beautiful views/ weather), staff, amenities, and cleanliness all were above and beyond. I would definitely return again. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Remote didn't work. Internet down. Linens did not fit the bed. Pillow was like a bag filled with rags. Employee laughed and snickered at situation and said that was the way it was. Paid $200 for the night and would have expected that of a Motel 6 or such. Was told that the room had a view - it was of a closed factory. and a disgusting end of the river. Wasn't a view we were looking for. If it had not been so late at night, we would have left. Only good thing was that clerk in the morning gave a discount when we told her how horrible the stay had been.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladytrikerbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huron hotels

Germantown, OH
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The River's Edge Inn provided good service, clean, up-to-date accommodations, and a convenient location for our week-end event at the Huron Boat Basin. Restaurants, businesses, residential neighborhoods, churches, beaches and parks were within walking distance. The location on the River provided a relaxing atmosphere. Parking with a boat trailer was no problem. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAM255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
359 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Cedar Point
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
13.5 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
294 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sawmill Creek Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn River's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn River's Edge

Property: Comfort Inn River's Edge
Address: 132 N. Main St., Huron, OH 44839-1619 (Formerly River's Edge Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn River's Edge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn River's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Huron
Rivers Edge Hotel
Rivers Edge Inn Huron Ohio
Comfort Inn River's Edge Huron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing