We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant; very good appetizers; expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown 140

Downtown 140
Ranked #4 of 64 Restaurants in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: State Route 303
Cleveland
Level Contributor
331 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant; very good appetizers; expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant with live music - even on weeknights. Attentive service. The menu is extremely interesting, though not extensive. Many unusual choices (e.g., quail).

We tried several different appetizers. The English pea soup ($8) was excellent and beautifully presented. The scallop appetizer ($16) comes with a tiny piece of grilled cheese on top of each of the two scallops that sit in a cucumber, mint & cilantro sauce. Crab salad also very good.

I can't give this an excellent review because: (1) the bread was stale (sliced too early?), and (2) one member of our group had the strip steak and said it was very chewy.

Accessibility: the restaurant says that the main entrance is at the back adjacent to the parking garage - but there are several steps here. There is also an entrance on Main Street & perhaps there are no steps there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    18
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This restaurant is AWESOME! It is truly a well kept secret... I almost don't want to tell you about it. When we entered Downtown 140 I felt like I was transported to a sophisticated, chic, urban restaurant in New York, Paris or London. The decor was clean, crisp and welcoming. The live music was a surprise and very lovely - classic covers and jazzy tunes.

My expectation of the food was tempered because we had never eaten there. But, I was so delighted with my dish that it took me two weeks to get it off of my mind. (I had Chicken).

So, if you're ever in Hudson, Ohio (just south of Cleveland) Check out Downtown 140!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamesgirl-Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Excellent Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We have dined several times at this fine restaurant in Hudson, and we seem to enjoy the meal more each time!
The staff is attentive, the menu is enticing, and presentation is A+. Last night I ordered the 6 oz. strip steak with a side of asparagus. The asparagus was grilled just right, and the steak was perfect.
The ONLY disappointment is the noise level, but I can easily overlook that and anticipate another visit to Downtown 140 soon!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OspreyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Special dinners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Meet a special group of friends there in the spring to celebrate and had a wonderful time. Such a gem of a place. Food is spectacular and unique. Always enjoy going.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ladybugg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge
Level Contributor
173 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting and cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have thought about Downtown 140 for a couple of years and never tried it. We walked in once a while back and there were too many high tables, no one acknowledged us and it just seemed unfriendly. We decided to try again last month and it was considerably better. There is still an atmosphere of you have to belong to be here but you could tell the staff was trying. We like to have a drink before dinner but the bar was packed and there's no where to stand and talk if you don't get a seat. We asked about sitting at the bar/table but were told we couldn't because they might be expecting someone to sit there. What?
The food was unique and delicious and the restaurant itself is quite cozy. The drinks were good and it was a fair pour for the price. All in all it was a nice evening with good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cndyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Downtown 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing