We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaves a lot to be desired”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Holland
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Leaves a lot to be desired”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Purposely booked this hotel because of the in-room hot tub, to use after riding a motorcycle for about 9 hours. The raised hot tub had NO step to get in. I am not short, but we both had a hard time getting in and out and it is actually quite dangerous.
The 'gentleman' who checked us in was arguing on the phone with a potential guest as I now read from others. The only 2 good things I can say is that the towels were very soft and the a/c worked really well.
The room is very dated, and did not look like it was a clean as others we have stayed in that are part of the Choice hotels group.
I would seriously consider renting somewhere else if you have a choice.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WINGGIRL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    6
    12
    18
See reviews for
11
8
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We came to this motel after we had a fire in our house, our contractor is paying for this. Just staying while home is being repaired. We thought it was ok at first, free wi-fi, a microwave,fridge.
It has definately NOT been ok here. The first night we were scared out of our minds because there were people outside all evening and into the night who appeared to be engaged with a drug deal. After that, there were men who were outside our room all evening talking and singing every evening for a week. We were afraid to leave the room to go out to the car.

We have two beds, and they are definately NOT full size. The mattresses must be very old because my back is hurting and it is difficult to get any rest. There are cigarette burns in the blankets; my room is supposed to be nonsmoking. As to cleanliness, the staff do not even come to remove the trash or clean the toilet. You can have clean towels if you ask. I quickly discovered that the microwave cord did not reach an outlet! In addition, the majority of the outlets in the room need updating and do not work. And the fridge. The seal on the fridge is not good, and the fridge will not keep things cold. There is no ice bucket for the room either.

The free continental breakfast?? Not my definition of a continental breakfast. Bananas and on occasion strawberries. Two different kinds of stale cereal and doughnuts. I have watched the manager take the uneaten doughnuts and put them in the freezer for the next day.

And the manager of this motel was foreign and extremely difficult to communicate with. It was difficult to understand him, and when telling him something he typically had a standard response. Getting him to understand what was being said was not easy, and generally not worth the bother.

I would not recommend this motel to anyone. Even at a bargain price it is too much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMontgomery88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Holland hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very nasty!! I wanted my money back after checking in and finding a used condom in my bed. Also found semen stains all over the bed spread!! Carpet looked as if it wasn't vacuumed in a decade! Opened drawer to use phone book and wow again, a used condom wrapper and a Baggie of some type of dope. Area is run down and also nasty.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gdjuio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2017
Dear Gdjuio,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the experience you had while staying at our hotel. I would like to assure you that our rooms are being inspected everyday for cleanliness and maintenance issues to keep our guests satisfied. Please call me at 419-866-6565 to discuss your stay further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
116 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were dubious the moment we arrived in the parking lot.
Front desk clerk was arguing with someone rather loudly on the telephone when we entered what was supposed to be the lobby. He addressed us with an abrupt 'Name?" then 'Oh.', practically flung the room keys at us and continued with his telephone argument.
The room was filthy.
It smelled of mustiness.
The rings around the tub and toilet were gross and the bed smelled moldy.
We left our bags and went out for a bit.
Upon return, the desk clerk was nowhere to be seen nor was anyone answering the house phone.
Just for our peace-of-mind, we unmade the bed and weren't all that shocked to discover bedbugs.
We took our bags and left.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thevinoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2017
Hello thevinoboy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize that this is what you experienced while staying at our hotel. Please call 419-866-6565 to disscuss your stay further and so that we can make it right. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We needed a room for the night in the Toledo area on our way to Canada and the Econo Lodge on East Mall Dr was perfect. Very clean room, very nice personable staff, and many restaurants and shopping near by. It was a bit hard to find, as we had not printed out directions but seeing other hotels off the freeway exit, we found the hotel sort of at the end of East Mall Dr and behind the Krogers. There was a nice pool we did not have time to use, we were up early the next morning and on our way. The owner/manager gave us a thank you card upon our checking - what a nice touch! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keywestbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2017
Hello keywestbeachgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at EconoLodge Holland. I am very pleased that you were happy with your stay. We are now in the process of renovating our rooms with hardwood flooring and more. If you are ever in the Holland, Ohio area again, we would love to have you stay with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

It's not a bad place for the money. Bed clean & comfortable. TV & remote works (except in storms) Clock radio works. Microwave & fridge clean and they work. Bathroom clean. Smudges on mirrors. Carpet dirty - could use replacing (but if they did the price would go up.) I got there at 6 am and they said room not ready - had breakfast at nearby Bob Evans and came back at 7 am and room was ready. Towels pretty thick for an economic place. Continental breakfast pretty good - coffee good & pastries good. My in room coffeemaker worked the first day - but not second - I asked for a replacement but they didn't replace. Pool small but okay. All in all - a pretty good place for the money

Room Tip: no elevator - if you have a lot of luggage - ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2017
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I think you will be happy to know all of our rooms are being updated with hardwood flooring. Also, the mirror issue is something I am aware of and taking care of. If you are ever in the area again, we would be more than happy to accommodate your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The hotel is difficult to find as it is hidden in the back of a mall without a sign on the main street.
When you do find it, you'll wish you hadn't. Everything needs to be updated. The first room we were given had a non-functioning toilet that did not seem to be connected to the floor. The second room was very small, dark and depressing. We often stay in budget motels but this was not acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eGrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2017
Hello eGrasse,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize that this was your experience. I would like to assure you that our rooms are in the process of being updated with hardwood flooring, light fixtures, new bedding, and the walls have been updated as well. We also inspect our rooms for cleanliness and maintenance issues daily to ensure our guests are satisfied. Please call 419-866-6565 so we can discuss your stay further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holland
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#3 of 6 in Holland
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Toledo Holland
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Toledo Airport Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Toledo - Holland
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Toledo - Maumee
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Toledo South Maumee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1201 E Mall Dr, Holland, OH 43528-8466
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Holland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Holland, Ohio
Holland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing