We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly needs an update!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Holland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
“Badly needs an update!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here based on previous Trip Advisor reviews, but this place needs a serious update! First, when I made the reservation, I was told there was a $50 REFUNDABLE deposit for our dog to stay. I actually asked for clarification on this, since pet deposits usually aren't refundable (though they are often less than $50). When I checked in, I was told it was non-refundable. I didn't push very hard on this issue since it was late and the other motels we'd tried were full. I just don't like being given false info.

The room was pretty clean, which was a bonus, but it just needed a renovation. It looked as if they'd painted recently, but it was pretty sloppy. And it seemed as if some mildew on the bathroom ceiling had simply been painted over.

Finally, the AC didn't ever really cool the room down. We had it set at its coldest setting, and the temp never went below 75. We were on the ground level, and it was hot and humid outside, so we couldn't really open the windows or "balcony" door.

Overall, it was fine for one night, but I wouldn't choose this for an extended stay. Much work needs to be done inside and out to bring this place up to par.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    170
    175
    175
    236
See reviews for
384
170
63
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
228 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Was 8th choice in area, but was 4th of July and pickings were slim. Called to make reservation after driving to 5th hotel, got room, arrived to hear that it takes at least a half hour for their computer to receive reservation notice, so had to come back later...wth?
Room was large, but sucked. Bad layout, bed rated a 2.5 out of 5 (squishy), and it was 83 degrees outside and 78 in for most of the night...even with A/C cranked.
At least they accepted pets...though was told on phone deposit was refundable but desk clerk said no.
If you can, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nawlins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Holland hotels

Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,353 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 794 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We are thrilled we paid more attention to the positive reviews in TA, we stayed four nights, although we originally only booked one night. I felt so comfortable there. The room was roomy, the bed was super. The full kitchen was a Godsend! We'd been staying in more chain sites due to our locations but cooking for ourselves again was a joy, cheaper, and weight loss inducing!
The breakfasts were ample and had a large variety of foods. When we requested the additional nights they were able to match our original Expedia rate which was very generous. As we were getting close to leaving a large group of youth were arriving for some sports tournament and the rooms were dwindling, the desk staff were very professional, the breakfast staff were right on top of everything and the dining area was always clean. In addition we were there on a wed evening and had a light dinner of chicken salad on crescents, excellent (and warm cookies!). Very impressive. We've bookmarked the chain's webpage for future reference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our third stay at the Hawthorn Suites in Holland, Ohio. This property has greatly gone downhill with regard to the appearance and upkeep. The clientele has also gone downhill and they seem to cater to a lower class of people who have no regard or respect for the other guests. The breakfast was missing some regular items each day and after a rain storm there was a 4" puddle outside our door making it very difficult to enter the room. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank carepose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was my second stay at this location. The facility is slightly older and shows the wear and tear. It is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. I would definitely consider them for future stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Tonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hospitality and guest servicing were unforgettable. As much as my daughters 12th birthday/slumber party, as the most memorable, reason for our overnight stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank NikeMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just stayed for a local Softball tournament (June 21-23). Dominique the daytime Manager went way out of her way to accomodate me and my family giving us the most pleasant experience possible prior to arriving. Once there everything was great, they even accomodated an early set up for breakfast on Sat morning due to early game times. If we ever have a reason to be in the area again we will definitely book here. :)

Room Tip: Be patient and ask questions, they are very accomodating at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaZfromtheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal O, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to write a review of your recent stay here at the Hawthorn Suites. We are pleased to see that Dominique was able to make your stay as warm and welcoming as possible. Our staff strives to make each guest's stay here as easy as possible and I will be sure that Dominique gets recognition for being so helpful for you. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holland
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Toledo - Holland
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Toledo Airport Holland
3.5 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#3 of 6 in Holland
137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area
Address: 6101 Trust Dr, Holland, OH 43528-9588 (Formerly Studio 6)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Holland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Toledo-Holland is an all suite hotel offering King and Two Bedroom Suites with fully equipped kitchens in each room. Each room has both private entrances and private patios/balconies. Our spacious rooms are 40% larger than the standard hotel room and our full complimentary breakfast buffet offers both hot and cold items. We have both designated smoking rooms separate from our non smoking buildings and we are pet friendly with designated pet rooms separate from our non-pet rooms. We are also ADA compliant with modified accessible rooms for our guests with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Holland Hotel Holland
Hawthorn Suites Holland
Holland Hawthorn Suites
Toledo Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Holland/Toledo Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing