We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Little Find!”
Review of Starliner Diner

Starliner Diner
Ranked #1 of 140 Restaurants in Hilliard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Gahanna, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Find!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Although it's a little hard to find, randomly placed with a tiny parking lot...keep searching until you sit down in the unique decor and delicious smell of fresh baked bread. The options are somewhat limited, but you get a hearty amount and they are all so rich in flavor! Every time my family comes to town to visit me, this is a must on the agenda!

Be sure to check the daily specials on their facebook, and make sure you check the hours. They are somewhat sporadic, closed on certain days/certain hours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LinzyBinz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    65
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Quirky place, fantastic menu”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We drive about 30 miles to have dinner here every once in a while because the food is unique...and delicious. The atmosphere is a little odd -- velvet Elvis paintings, clocks from the 1950s and other kitschy stuff, but it enhances the experience. If you're looking for great Cuban-inspired dishes you'll want to try the Starliner Diner. Be sure to have the fried plantain. There's nothing quite like it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Never had Cuban food before and loved it! The chili rellenos were excellent and the plantains were awesome! Loved the homemade bread. A cup of jalapeno soup was rich and delicious and would be a meal in itself by the bowl! The cuban sandwich was my choice and was very good! Will definitely go back on our next trip to Hilliard. Can't wait to try other choices and have more of those awesome plantains!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“love the plantains!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Never had a bad dish here. The decor is a trip and the menu is creative.
Cant wait to get back there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank comfortablyclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Branch, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Quite an unexpected find”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were visiting Columbus for a wedding and our cousins said we should try here for breakfast, we like different cusines. Food was really different and very tasty. We really enjoyed the experience, it was however a little on the pricey side.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starliner Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing