We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Newark Granville(Newark)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
217
88
39
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
217
88
39
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarn doordenison universityroom was cleannice breakfastohio areagreat place to staythird floorlate checkbreakfast barfamily reunionexcellent stayhot tubminute drivebusiness tripfront desk staffhot breakfastnext morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 366 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel was typical though is in need of an update. It was clean though there seemed to be a residual cigarette smell on the third floor. When I asked the Front Desk, I was assured the hotel was non-smoking. I pressed further as to how recently it had been smoking but was assured it IS a non-smoking hotel. It wasn't miserable but if you're sensitive, keep to level one or two. Oh, and the elevator, for only three floors, is one of the slowest I've encountered. Take the stairs.

The staff, though generally friendly, made no real effort to go out of their way for anything. When napkins ran out at breakfast, I was told there were some by the coffee machine. (There is a grocery store next door, helpful employee, go get some!) When asked for real butter, instead of margarine, I was told "we're out." Again, big Kroger store next door.

it's not the usual Hampton "can do" attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at the Heath, Ohio Hampton Inn which is relatively new. We were visiting a relative at the Kendal Retirement Community in Granville Ohio so we got the Kendal rate (you have to ask for it). There were no restrictions - we got a King size bed for this great reduced rate!

The hotel was fresh and modern. The breakfast was fabulous - lots of choices, lots of quantity, good quality, good hours.

I LOVE the pillows! and the bed was SOOOOO comfortable (which makes it important that breakfast hrs go late!). Nothing to complain about, all nice and a great friendly staff as well. We had a minor fix done to the tub/shower while there and that also went well, getting fixed while we were out.

Room Tip: Ask for the Kendal Rate if you are visiting someone in nearby Kendal retirement community.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed one night passing through Ohio making guarenteed reservation on phone directly with staff (very helpful) around 10pm.
Room on 2nd floor was clean and roomy with standard amenities.
Not crowded on a weekday night, very quiet.
Front desk sfaff were pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast (included) was good but the fresh fruit and milk pitcher had a slight "sour" smell - wife avoided the fruit and another patron avoided the milk for his coffee.
Would have rated overall to be "very good" if milk & fruit didn't have sour smell.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AviationBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Overall, this was a good hotel. Like other reviewers have said, it is located close to shopping and restaurants and within a 5-10 minute drive of Downtown Newark.

The staff were extremely friendly, and the breakfast was good. Even better, I was especially pleased with housekeeping.

That said, there are two minor issues. First, the 3rd floor rooms still have a slight odor of cigarette smoke. I'm guessing that the 3rd floor used to be the smoking floor but went to nonsmoking when the smoking ban went into effect. Second, the beds were really hard. Like, really, really hard.

Overall, if I were back in Heath/Newark, I would use this hotel but ask to be on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ouuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel is pretty new, very clean, and has a polite staff. There is plenty of places to eat around the hotel, there is even one in walking distance. Safe area, close to all of the stores and highway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GvnDeb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews