We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs housekeeping in common areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heath
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Room was well appointed and clean. However, halls, elevator and lobby floor were extremely dirty. Realizing I arrived on a Sunday evening and cleaning staff had left, most hotels require the desk clerk to keep-up with such tasks. Really a turn-off when it comes to what should be a better than average motel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Dennis M,

Thank you for leaving a review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are pleased to read that you found the rooms clean and well appointed. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments regarding cleanliness are very much appreciated. This is one of the ways that let us know where we need to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 69 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotels in the Newark area are filling fast due to the natural gas boom. This Holiday Inn Express is suffering from heavy industrial foot traffic. It was very dirty in the lobby area. The parking lot is filled with diesel fuel spills. Housekeeping left our couch cushions tilted so we would not sit on the wet stains. The young man who checked us in had to spit out a chaw of tobacco into an empty Mountain Dew bottle before he could speak to us. Smoking is still permitted in this hotel, and it permeates all the rooms.

It's too bad because we stayed in this property several years ago and it was wonderful. If you are traveling to this area, book early.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Peter M,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Came back for a family reunion and stayed in the Holiday Inn Express. I was happy with the customer service and the breakfast in the morning. The staff was extremely courteous and I would recommend this Holiday Inn Express to anyone of my family or friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times in the last three years .The front desk was so polite and accomidated us every time we needed something our rooms were very nice only problem beds are so hard and uncomfortable we got queens and I am use to a king pillow top but other than that we enjoyed our stay at was extremely happy with everything . I hope they reopen soon (due to fire) so we can do our usual yearly stay for Mothers Day

Room Tip: It is right on the main strip of Heath has many places to eat and shopping close by within traveling...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Located n the middle of the main road in Heath. This Holiday Inn Express is neat and welcoming. It is close( walking distance) to all restaurants. the staff is helpful and the rooms are clean and breakfast is very good. Gas station with convenience store next for and a Turkey Hill convenience store and gas a block away. Both are excellent for a quick purchase of food. Seems like the best choice in town.

Room Tip: What you see s what you get. Unpretentious and simple great for a short stay.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfan021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Good breakfast, comfortable and clean room, nice small pool that we had to ourselves at 9 pm on a Saturday night. Only complaint would be that the hot tub by the pool is no longer there. We were looking forward to this since it was so cold outside and we had a long day of shopping, eating out, and going in and out of the fourteen degree temperatures. The place where the hot tub used to be is completely tiled over. Our room also ran out of hot water by the time the third person took a shower. I rate this hotel as average.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank Stephanie1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I am not a HIExpress guy, but was asked to stay here as part of a group outing. Clean, comfortable, quiet, and affordable. Great desk service. What more could one want?

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzy6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heath
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Newark Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
406 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
122 reviews
4.8 mi away
Historic Buxton Inn
Historic Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath

Address: 773 Hebron Rd, Heath, OH 43056-1355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heath
Price Range: $103 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Newark/Heath offers the finest accommodations in Licking County. The entire hotel as been completely renovated as of October 2008, and is conveniently located off I-70 at exit 129b, on Rt. 79. This beautiful hotel is within close proximity to Arvin Meritor, Constar, Owens Corning, Licking Memorial Hospital, Samuels Strapping, and many more local business. We are proud to boast the scholastic accomplishments of Denison University. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our professional, friendly staff looks forward to serving you. Just one visit with us will leave you with an 'at home' feeling! Hotel features include 100% unconditional satisfaction guarantee, a newly renovated indoor heated pool/whirlpool, exercise room, business center, & complimentary hot Express Start breakfast. All rooms are new from top to bottom and include microwave/refrigerator, free wired and wireless high-speed Internet, full cable & free HBO, two - 2 line speakerphones with data ports, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron & ironing boards. Large and small whirlpool suites available. Visit Heath, Ohio and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath Hotel Heath
Holiday Inn Heath
Heath Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing