We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, but don't sleep here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Heath Newark
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Heath
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Great restaurant, but don't sleep here”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was traveling with my son to visit colleges, and booked this motel because it was near a college we planned to see. We ate at the adjoining restaurant, which was wonderful. But the room was a shock: filthy carpet; stopped up sink, no working lights (all unplugged, and the outlets inaccessible under the beds); a tattered blanket; but the worst was a pillow with stains that looked like blood.
The front desk employee tried to help - she ran a snake down the sink; laboriously plugged in the lamps; provided clean pillow cases and different (though equally lumpy pillows). She did what she could. The breakfast consisted of donut holes, and coffee, but fortunately there was a restaurant next door.
I gave my feedback to the front desk as I checked out. I do not fault the employee, as she tried to do what she could, but the condition of the motel was shocking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    3
    6
    23
See reviews for
16
7
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Ok I live in the city of newark oh and I was looking for a place close to just get away for a night due to electric being shutoff and turned back on the next day me and my roommate arrived at the econolodge in heath ohio on what was supposed to be the coldest day and night it has been in 127 years!! When we arrived they gave us a room that we had to walk up a flight of stairs and through a hall basically a wind tunnel and it was with wind chill -37 degrees! Arctic weather anyways we were placed in room 200 which just so happened to be right next to this wind tunnel so one side of the room was insulated and to be honest I can't be sure of that but u could feel gusts of wind coming from the wall enough to make a piece of paper waive when put close to it. The heater said it was 90 but blew cool air (no heat)!! We came to seek shelter and electric on the coldest night in 127 years and this is what we got when I called the front desk the very rude woman said come get a heater so I hiked to the front office which felt like I was in Antarctica no lie look it up jan 6th 2014 and got a small space heater and when I got back to the room I plugged it in found out it just wasn't enough I called again and asked to change rooms preferably one with a room on each side for better insulation I was informed the owner told her not to move us or she will loose her job I then asked for a refund I had only been there for 15 mins didn't even have time to sit down and she said absolutely no refunds I was outraged so I went to walmart down the street and bought 2 more heaters because I wasn't gonna let them take my money without me getting my monies worth when I got back to the MOTEL I plugged them in I had 1 light on a tiny fridge a microwave the little heater and an alarm clock and now my two new heaters and wouldn't u know it if the excessive consumption of energy of those 5 to 6 items the breaker blew on one side of the room I called the front and she seemed extra rude now cause she had to do her job and do something she flipped the breaker and electric again so I turned off one of the heaters and replaced it with another light and when I went by the big glass windows everything was literally frozen on top of the (big heater that didn't work was a sheet of frost about an inch thick I wrote my name in it around the door frozen they had 2 cut out pieces of drywall placed over 2 big holes that just let the heat out and the cold in these drywall pieces where just sitting there I pressed on one and it wanted to fall out I'm talking 36" x18" holes not small ones and the peep hole that I thought was white due to paint wrong again it was frost about 2" thick then wouldn't u know it if the electric stayed on for about another 30mins and blew again I proceeded to call the front again and she answered I told her the breaker blew again and she sighed and with a snotty attitude said the breaker is in the back it's gonna be a few minutes till it kicks back on then she hung up the phone rudely it was off for about 20 minutes and I get a call on the room phone I answered and with a nasty attitude she proceeds to tell me if the breaker blows again she is instructed to make us leave and if we refused she would have to call the cops!!!!!mind u it's the coldest day ohio has seen in 127 years!!for what wanting to be comfortable and stay warm!! Not to mention I wasn't able to watch that fabulous extended cable cause five items plugged in this room was too much one more would get the cops called on us and escorted off the premises!!! This place is a joke I should have just stayed in my. Truck at least I would've been warm they way over charge you for a storage unit with a bathroom added onto it it's very dirty ,they care less about their customers and I bet that owner is laying in his big bed at home with 20 different things plugged in beating his dog and kicking him out of his room because he was cold and up there with him looked cozy!!!thats just an assumption but I bet I nailed it any way these people are rude the rooms are overpriced outdated,filthy and not worth the hassle choice hotels should have paid us to stay there and give them a review but since they hire idiots and rude employees they can all take responsibility for this review!!! MY TIP IS NEVER STAY HERE!! IF ITS THE ONLY PLACE LEFT ITS NOT U STILL HAVE YOUR CAR!!!!!

Room Tip: I have not 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank It's me E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heath hotels

Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had no complaints with this hotel. Free USA Today newspaper; large room with very good lighting; huge counter in the sink area; amazingly soft tissues (which was really appreciated since I had a cold). Very basic breakfast. Good heater/air conditioner in window with "fan only" option to provide white noise. Comfortable bed. Clean. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMan446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Seriously, I was a bit worried after reading the bad reviews ... But decided to give it a try because I had to attend my daughter Parent Weekend.

Overall, the rooms is very acceptable for the price; but as I said its not The Plaza - the place is basic and its a great value for your money. Considering that we are really looking for a safe clean place to sleep at night ... Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTETraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I could not believe how filthy this hotel was! The carpet looked horrible, the bathtub had mold and what looked like cigarette burns all over it. There were large windows in the front of the room that looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. There was a lot of running and slamming of doors outside until about 1:30 in the morning. The lady at the desk was so rude, and I think she was the owner! Do not waste your time or money here, we almost turned right around and left, I wish I had read the reviews before out trip.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there are any good rooms to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deann710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed one frightful night at this so called motel! The tub-shower unit was a dirty stained white. After being at Hebron Ohio most of the day for a car show, needed to get cleaned up, so instead of the shower, I used the pool, another mistake, the bottom of the pool was a total slime base!
The bed had nasty looking sheets and could see bug`s in it. After trying to sleep on the chair all night, woke up and turned on the cold water for a drink to wash my medication`s down, more bug`s came out of the faucet! Getting ready to check out, was hoping to get some coffee to go, pot was empty, the attendant carried a plastic container out to the pool area, then proceeded to fill the jug with the garden hose, yuck! Breakfast was day old donut holes, that would bounce off the floor! Do not waste your time or safety staying at this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heath
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Newark Granville
2.5 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
399 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Heath Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Heath Newark

Property: Knights Inn Heath Newark
Address: 733 Hebron Rd, Heath, OH 43056-1351 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Heath Newark 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Knights Inn Heath Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Heath
Heath Quality Inn
Knights Inn Heath Newark Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing