We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Werribee
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Mansion has been a very special place for us. An easy getaway from Melbourne that feels a million miles away. The standard rooms are small but perfectly formed. The hotel decor is perfection in my opinion - fantastic contemporary art, stunning historical features, muted fabrics, ahhh. Staff are very friendly. Grounds are stunning. I love the little walk to the nearby Shadowfax winery for a delicious pizza and pinot. I love the vibe of Josephs, esp the sommelier. Spa is the only thing we wouldn't bother with again, after several tries; it's like an assembly line.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear MelbourneWoman,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I am looking forward to having you back at the superb Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park.


Warm Regards,

Cedric Lootvoet
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    348
    132
    59
    26
See reviews for
211
978
45
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. I was 5 months pregnant & with my husband being really busy at work we didn't want to go too far from home but wanted a weekend away.
We booked a package including our lovely room, massages & access to day spa pool etc, dinner, breakfast, free entry to the mansion. We also had chocolate dipped strawberries on arrival. Yum!
Everything was fantastic! Can't remember any faults. I felt as though I was being pampered all weekend.
It wasn't cheap however we were able to relax & enjoy everything as we had already paid for everything & no hidden costs.
I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorynAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear TorynAaron,

Congratulations for your 1st wedding anniversary!

It has been a pleasure hosting both of you during your stay at the superb Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park.


Warm Regards,

Cedric Lootvoet
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked a superior room for the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary.  The bathroom was not cleaned properly and the floor could do with a proper mop down.  We had a massage at the spa which was  good but the reception area was very noisy with rowdy guests.  Great (!) start to a relaxing weekend!  Dinner was the start of the downhill journey. We were kept waiting for a table even though we booked. When we were finally seated we were not asked if we wanted drinks, ignored for at least 10 minutes and and had to ask for the menu. Service was nonexistent and we had trouble flagging down a waitress the whole night.  After entree we waited over 1 hour for the mains and the waitress asked us if we wanted dessert when our mains were still overdue!   When the mains came, it had no flavour I had to keep adding salt and my husband's meal was cold.  We have stayed at the hotel before  when  it was run by the Sofitel and remembered a very pleasant stay and dinner.  Well things have certainly changed for the worse and we are never coming back!  We woke up early the next morning eager to check out and decided not to even have breakfast at the restaurant again.It you are considering a stay, think very carefully about the decision.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Dragonish,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Mansion Hotel & Spa.
I am sorry that certain aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations.
Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.


Kind Regards,

Cedric Lootvoet
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights early on in the month; really beautiful property and the join between the original and new buiding has been done well. The rooms are lovely with a cocoon effect which is really nice; pool area is lovely too. There was a odd clicking noise in the room which is apparently the heating, and i think this place is showing its age- some of the common areas are looking worn and there was a lack of detail--ie the library was a mess with papers thrown in the basket-throughout our stay and dishes piled up on the table before dinner, and we had to clear them in order to sit by the fire after dinner. The pool room-grand --had tables stacked in the corner and the cue sticks are all worn . We were really disappointed by our dinner--for a special bday occasion-it was expesive and not all that great plus veg or salad extra; we could see nothing we wanted for dessert! Breakfast was very nice and staff accomodated our 'crispy bacon' request with good nature. Beautiful grounds but dinner menu needs rethinking (empty restuarant - but fantastic pub on corner in werribee) and attention to detail needed

Room Tip: rooms overlooking gums get very early birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simone64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear simone64,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are all looking forward to having you back soon at the beautiful Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park.


Warm Regards,

Cedric Lootvoet
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

From the time we arrive we felt like royalty as we were greeted so professionally by the staff at reception. The room and facilities were way above our expectation. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool, spa and steam room felt like we were in Roman baths. Loved the fact that the hotel rooms adjoin the spa area and didn't have to go out and come in like some other places we have stayed at. The overall appearance creates such a picturesque feel and all the rooms that you could read, play snooker or just hang out. Buffet breakfast was delicious. Tour of mansion was included and we really enjoyed learning the history of the place. Certainly worth taking a break and leaving all the hustle behind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear ABird22,

Thank you very much for your review.

The Mansion Hotel & Spa is the place for a getaway only 30 mns from Melbourne.


Warm Regards,

Cedric Lootvoet
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We did book a winter special including a Spa treatment. The room was small, as expected but it had all the amenities a room needs. The reception desk was a great and very welcoming and made us feel like regulars. Cedric, the relations manager is formidable.

The Spa is great and the staff there exceptional friendly. I was just surprised to get a call the day before from a staff employee complaining that the hotel has accepted my package booking without checking Spa availability. Should not really be my problem.

We had booked a late dinner and wanted to enjoy an aperitif at the bar. Unfortunately the bar staff was unable to mix any cocktails or advise on alternatives. We went for a beer. That is very disappointing for a hotel in this category.

At dinner we were given a tiny table in the corner - although I had mentioned it was a special occasion and asked for a nice table. The dining room looks cheap with those awful red curtains that are torn and dirty. The staff do their best but they do not seem to be professionally trained.

The food was overpriced and pretty average.

Breakfast was good (yet average hotel buffet) and the staff were very attentive and friendly.

Overall Id say the Mansion is overpriced for what you get. But you pay for the spectacular setting.

I really hated that people walk with their street shoes through the pool area - that is disgusting and not hygienic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessCaptainCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear PrincessCook,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am sorry about your experience at the bar and the restaurant.

I thank you for raising those issues and allowing us the opportunity to take the appropriate measures.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further comments.


Kind Regards,

Cedric Lootvoet
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwarrin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a highly enjoyable stay at the Mansion Hotel and Spa. Friendly staff and an amazing historical location which for me was a highlight. The room although not large had everything you would expect and the huge sliding door to shut off the ensuite area was very clever. Being able to stroll around those historic buildings and incredible gardens was a feature you don't get staying in a city hotel. We made use of the pool the next morning then enjoyed the buffet breakfast. All staff were first class, helpful and friendly, making us feel very welcome. We finished our stay with a safari tour at the open range zoo. I would recommend this hotel most highly and look forward to a return visit. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Muzgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedric L, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Muzgaz,

Thank you very much for your great feedback.

I am happy to read the you are looking forward to a return visit!


Warm Regards,

Cedric Lootvoet
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Werribee
Quality Suites D’Olive
#2 of 2 in Point Cook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,166 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park

Property: Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park
Address: K Road, Werribee, Victoria 3030, Australia (Formerly Sofitel Werribee Park Mansion Hotel & Spa)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Werribee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Werribee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 30 minutes from Melbourne's CBD, the Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park is one of Victoria's most popular destinations, and there are many reasons why. Dating back to the 1870s, the illustrious Italianate mansion, with 10 acres of spectacular manicured gardens and historic seminary, are all perfectly tied together by the hotel & spa; there is beauty in every detail. Heavenly surrounds can only be completed by the best accommodation. Luxury awaits in all 91 rooms at the Mansion Hotel - plush linen, picturesque views and attentive service are just the first things you will notice upon your arrival. Three room options are available; all rooms are fitted with flat screen televisions, movies on demand, complimentary broadband Internet and minibar. Your journey begins when you roll through the wrought iron gates; with so much on offer, the Mansion Hotel & Spa is a destination, not just a place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mansion Hotel & Spa at Werribee Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Hotel And Spa At Werribee Park
Sofitel Werribee Park Mansion Hotel
Werribee Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing