We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourites in Melbourne”
Review of Crown of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Crown of India
Ranked #89 of 140 Restaurants in Werribee
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of our favourites in Melbourne”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Although we have dined out at many fine eateries in Melbourne, my wife and I always look forward to coming back to the Crown of India for the wonderfully warm service and delicious food. The selection of food is extensive, the flavours are to die for and the prices are extremely reasonable. Here you will get refreshingly pleasant service with a smile, something you won't get everywhere in Werribee. After our first visit, we now call this place our regular, and it never disappoints.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkieneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average eatery, but wouldnt bother much better places in Lygon Street”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Been here twice. Food is generally average. On both oaccssions food came out luke warmish and is over priced. Staff were fine.

Wouldnt go here again. Found some really nice indian resturants in Lygon Street.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ajs604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better Indian across the road”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Average service. Little bit expensive. Terrible service, asked 3 times for a glass of water and didn't get one until I asked a fourth time. Main took an hour to come out after the entree was finished

Helpful?
1 Thank Jcram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metung, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food for miles”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Excellent friendly service, outstanding variation of menu.Quality carefully prepared food and brilliant overall value

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W.Aust
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic combination of flavour, heat and spices”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

There are four Indian restaurants in the main street of Werribee, and this one stands out. We were warmly greeted on arrival and offered menus and drinks quickly, The real treat was the flavour of the food. It had all the flavours of Indian food, and for those who weren't too keen on spicy hot, it was perfect. The steamed rice was a rainbow rice of plain rice mixed with saffron rice; the Kashmiri Naan was full of fruit and the poppadoms plentiful. The wine list is a little limited, but let's face it, matching fine red wines with Indian food probably doesn't do the wine justice

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QT_Fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown of India also viewed

Werribee, Greater Melbourne
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
 
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
 
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Crown of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing