We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and welcoming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zeehan
hobart
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfy and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

just had 4 nights here and like many others had a few reservations upon first sight, but it actually turned out ok. The decor is a bit dated but the beds are nice and firm and the room was clean and the shower was great, obviously no water restrictions here.
The food was a real surprise.
ate breakfast and dinner here for 4 nights and could not fault it.
Try some of the Chefs specials, the Kothu Roti was superb as was the Rip Curl steak (surf and turf, but with the chefs own seafood sauce, sublime!!!)
I would stay again without any reservations....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mike270,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review on the Heemskirk Motor Hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to sample our chefs cuisine.

Our chef is from Sri Lanka so in addition to doing traditional Australian dishes, his Sri Lankan food is also very good.

We are waiting on new bathrooms to be delivered from Sydney any day, so we look forward to updating the bathrooms once these arrive.

Yours Sincerely,

Stephanie Sandor
Owner, Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    22
    15
    6
See reviews for
17
35
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Neat and cosy self-contained rooms. We were two couples travelling across Tassie when we booked here and stayed here on Dec 25th. The bathroom and kitchen were very clean. The beds were fitted with electric blankets which we needed inspite of it being a summer month. The lounge had recliner sofas which was pretty great. Would stay here again.

We didn't try to out the restaurant attached here. There is also a liquor store and tab in the compound. Zeehan as such is a pretty small town, we were glad that just staying the night.

Room Tip: The double room the one queen bed and two single beds they're separate beds and not bunk beds as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaraZorEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear KaraZorEI,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Heemskirk Motor Hotel.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made good use of the reclining lounge in your room. They are very comfortable.

When you next visit we should have new bathrooms in all guest rooms as this renovation is expected to commence April 2013.

Zeehan is a small town but does serve as a great base which to discover the West Coast from due to our central location. If you do have time The West Coast Pioneers Museum is definitely worth a visit to learn the fascinating history of the area.

Kind regards,

Stephanie Sandor
Owner, Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
246 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night recently and was like stepping back to the 70's when we drove in......despite all this the motel was clean, and had a comfy bed....the walls were pretty thin,...we could hear the fellow next door talking on the phone easily....there is a little fridge and tea/coffee facilities in the room.......the motels restaurant, from speaking to locals was the ONLY place to have dinner, so we found ourselves there....would say the meal was 'just ok', and not cheap...friends had the caeser salad and couldn't eat it due to it being drowned in dressing..., but where else does one eat as basically everything else was closed or didn't exist!!...same applied for brekky...an ok bacon and egg muffin with juice and coffee....we'd have liked the option of having cereal bowls in the room, but then again it was only an overnight stop......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear sterwuv,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Heemskirk Motor Hotel.

We are very glad to hear that you had a comfortable sleep and found the rooms to very clean. I am sorry to hear that your friend did not enjoy their salad. I hope the restaurant replaced it for you if requested.

Hopefully you enjoyed travelling to this wonderful part of the world and got to experience the magical wilderness that the west coast of Tasmania has to offer.

Your Sincerely,

Stephanie Sandor
Owner, Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We arrived at Heemskirk Motor Hotel after a long drive, in the middle of a camping holiday. Strahan was too full for our family of five so we rang through to the Heemskirk instead. We really appreciated the staff fishing us out an extra bed late at night, and keeping the bar open, even though everyone else in town seemed to be asleep. We appreciated access to a washing machine, spaces to BBQ and sit under cover, and friendly, casual staff. This hotel is quiet, and I liked the 1970s vibe.

We found the place so comfy that we based ourselves in Zeehan, which is a great little town (it's a functioning mining town, not a tourist hub, but the museum and information service is superb). Filled up on petrol and packed our car from the decently-priced supermarket next door and headed off again, happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dr DrNaomi,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review of your stay at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel.
I am glad we were able to accommodate your family at late notice.

The West Coast Pioneers Museum is an excellent tourist destination which tells the story of Zeehan's rich and interesting history. That is wonderful you had an opportunity to visit it.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in Tasmania.

Yours Sincerely,

Stephanie Sandor
Owner, Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wasn't expecting 5 star, but the Motel delivered nicely on cleanliness and value for money. The rooms were good size, clean, and very importantly quiet which was a bonus I wasn't expecting due to the fact the place wasn't exactly empty and we had a family next door. The beds were nice to sleep in.

We had dinner at the pub/tavern on site which was above average and served quickly. The only downside to our one night stay was on checking in were we told they serve breakfast in the tavern but were disappointed to find out they don't when we asked staff there the next morning. They could probably do quite well if they did, their chef knows what he is doing and to be honest there are not many options in the town when it comes to a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownVillaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Birdys-dancer,

Thank you for your positive review of the Heemskirk Motor Hotel.
I am glad to hear that enjoyed your stay.

I was however disappointed to read that you were not served breakfast. You were told correctly when you checked in that the hotel does indeed serve breakfast. I am unsure as to why breakfast was not being served that morning. I will investigate further and again i apologise to you and your travelling companion.

Would you mind please telling me the night you stayed or the date you checked out so i can investigate why no breakfast was being served and that this doesn't occur again.

Yours Sincerely,
Stephanie Sandor
Owner, Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The motel is a well kept and clean country Australia motel. It is not fancy and certainly has no airs and graces. What you see is what you get. We slept well as did our baby daughter. The restaurant served good-sized meals but they certainly weren't the best we'd had on our trip. The garlic bread loaf was a particular highlight and the service was good, polite and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for your review of the Heemskirk Motor Hotel.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendly hospitality of the staff and a good nights sleep.

Your Sincerely,

Stephanie Sandor
Owner, Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Wilderness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Motel is well located and easy to find, with conveniences close at hand. Don't expect anything more than basic rooms and you won't be disappointed, it is a mining town after all. The staff are very helpful and friendly, even arranging to forward on our baby's comforter. The only negative was the fork lift outside my window waking me at 6.30am, which I expect was due to a delivery arriving in the early hours, therefore I put it down to poor form on the transport company's part.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank virtuallyjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeehan
18.0 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
21.7 mi away
Corinna Wilderness Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
16.7 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
17.5 mi away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heemskirk Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Property: Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Address: 1-25 Main Street, Zeehan, Tasmania 7469, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Zeehan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zeehan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heemskirk Motor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Heemskirk Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskirk Motor Hotel Tasmania/Zeehan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing