We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zeehan
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wasn't expecting 5 star, but the Motel delivered nicely on cleanliness and value for money. The rooms were good size, clean, and very importantly quiet which was a bonus I wasn't expecting due to the fact the place wasn't exactly empty and we had a family next door. The beds were nice to sleep in.

We had dinner at the pub/tavern on site which was above average and served quickly. The only downside to our one night stay was on checking in were we told they serve breakfast in the tavern but were disappointed to find out they don't when we asked staff there the next morning. They could probably do quite well if they did, their chef knows what he is doing and to be honest there are not many options in the town when it comes to a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrownVillaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Birdys-dancer,

Thank you for your positive review of the Heemskirk Motor Hotel.
I am glad to hear that enjoyed your stay.

I was however disappointed to read that you were not served breakfast. You were told correctly when you checked in that the hotel does indeed serve breakfast. I am unsure as to why breakfast was not being served that morning. I will investigate further and again i apologise to you and your travelling companion.

Would you mind please telling me the night you stayed or the date you checked out so i can investigate why no breakfast was being served and that this doesn't occur again.

Yours Sincerely,
Stephanie Sandor
Owner, Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Heemskirk Motor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

The motel is a well kept and clean country Australia motel. It is not fancy and certainly has no airs and graces. What you see is what you get. We slept well as did our baby daughter. The restaurant served good-sized meals but they certainly weren't the best we'd had on our trip. The garlic bread loaf was a particular highlight and the service was good, polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Andy,

Thank you for your review of the Heemskirk Motor Hotel.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendly hospitality of the staff and a good nights sleep.

Your Sincerely,

Stephanie Sandor
Owner, Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Motel is well located and easy to find, with conveniences close at hand. Don't expect anything more than basic rooms and you won't be disappointed, it is a mining town after all. The staff are very helpful and friendly, even arranging to forward on our baby's comforter. The only negative was the fork lift outside my window waking me at 6.30am, which I expect was due to a delivery arriving in the early hours, therefore I put it down to poor form on the transport company's part.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank virtuallyjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here in a 2 bed apartment for just the one night. It's easy to find, being the only hotel in the village! Price is a bit high for what you get, probably due to lack of competition. It's quiet, basic, and the fixtures and fittings seem a bit dated, although very clean. Our unit had a shower, with hot and cold water, but problems getting both at the same time made showering interesting! The place is quiet during the day, and there is plenty of parking. However, this being a mining area, the motel is frequented by miners and mining contractors who have to get up very early. They will quite happily start their diesel-engined utes at 5am, leaving them running for 1/2 an hour to warm up, presumably at their employers expense! There's no satellite TV in the rooms, and even the terrestrial (analogue) TV is a bit dodgy, as Zeehan is somewhat off the beaten track. The food, however, is very good value. The owners like to call their restaurant a Bistro, but I wouldn't consider this one to be of that standard, although the menu is diverse and the food well presented. Their steaks are particularly worthy of a mention, presumably the miners won't put up with poor quality steaks! If you like nespresso coffee, this hotel has a top of the line nespresso machine, which is hard to beat for the quality beverage. The staff are very friendly. Hope this review helps you to choose the one hotel in town!!

Room Tip: As usual, avoid rooms near the stairs and entrances.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Tasmedic,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed this beautiful part of the world.
Could you please advice which room you stayed in as we updated all our TV aerials when the change over to digital TV occurred and all TV reception was meant to be fixed.
We are glad you enjoyed the Nespresso coffee. We recently purchased this machine to improve our coffee offering and am glad to hear your feedback.
Kind regards,

Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

For those that don't already know, Zeehan is a ghost town on Tasmania's west coast. It has a few lovely old historic buildings in the main street, and is surrounded by some lovely mountains, but doesn't have too much more to offer. There is a lovely beach 30 minutes down a dirt/sand road (accessible by 2WD in dry weather) and it is well worth the drive. You can easily spend an afternoon in Zeehan, though. It's nice to go for a stroll up the street and look at all the deserted buildings. There is a shop or two along the main road. The locals are nice. The local police officer even gave us a wave despite the fact that he didn't know us from a bar of soap!

The Heemskirk is the best there is in town, but given that every other place has shut down, that doesn't say much.

THE GOOD:

- Bistro with lovely food
- Very nice staff (very helpful)

THE BAD

- Our bed had hairs in it (and they weren't ours)
- Room had musky smell
- Bit expensive for the quality of the room and location
- It's more of a motor inn, so be aware that there will be trucks coming and going much of the time (and if you're a women travelling on your own, wandering eyes to go with it - although you'll be perfectly safe)

Overall, if you can stay in Strahan, down the road, I'd strongly recommend you stop there instead. Zeehan is a unique little place, but you don't need an overnight stop to see the place. I'm sorry if this offends the locals, but it's the truth.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocketMan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear jaiblueeyes,
Thank you for staying at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel and taking time to complete a review.

Zeehan itself has a rich and fascinating heritage. In the early 20th century, Zeehan was Tasmania’s third largest town, with a population of 10,000 people. In mining boom days, dozens of hotels lined the bustling Main Street and the town was known as Silver City. Today you can visit fine old buildings that reflect the town's history. The Pioneers Museum is a must to discover fascinating stories of the past. The Gaiety Theatre, built in 1899, then Australia’s largest theatre, was restored and re-opened in 2006. In the late 1800s and early 1900s, entertainers from around the world, including Enrico Caruso, Dame Nellie Melba and the infamous Lola Montez, performed here for packed audiences of wealthy miners.

Zeehan is conveniently situated for discovering the Tasmanian West Coast due to our central location - 30 minutes north of Strahan and Queenstown, 25 minutes south of Rosebery, 35 minutes south east of Corinna, and 65 minutes to Cradle Mountain.

I am very surprised and very sorry to hear you thought your bed was dirty. Our housemaids are well trained and pride themselves on the cleanliness of the rooms. If you could remember the room you stayed in i can investigate further including the musky smell.
Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The staff at this motel were very friendly but the accommodation, although spacious, needs some modernisation; however the electric blankets helped to make it feel cosier.

We learnt from the b&b we had stayed in the previous day that a large part of Tasmania is owned by a wealthy family who live in Melbourne; they own anything with the name “Pure Tasmania” which included one of the Gordon river boat cruises. We decided to book instead the World Heritage Cruise in Strahan, the red boat for a day trip on the Gordon River; this company has been family owned over four generations and is the original cruise company. It was an excellent trip which included a buffet lunch, going to Hells Gate and Sarah Island.

Zeehan has The West Coast Pioneers' Museum which looked very interesting. We only had time to look round the Gaiety Theatre built in 1898 which is an amazing building. It is being renovated and we were told that occasionally they put on shows.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amazingfuntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Witleyflopsybunny,
Thank you for staying at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel and for taking the time to post a review.

Yes our rooms are very spacious with cosy electric blankets and reverse cycle air-conditioning. We are currently completing a refurbishment of our rooms including soft furnishings of some of our rooms which will ensure a more modern and fresh decor.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your cruise and took time to visit the Gaiety Theatre. The West Coast Pioneers Museum should definitely be included on your next visit to learn about the rich history of Zeehan's mining boom days.

Many thanks,
Stephanie Sandor
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Very large room with double bed, 2 nightstands, couch, table and 2 chairs. Small, flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and board, great lighting, no microwave, and no internet connection in the room, but impossibly slow (useless) connection at the restaurant. Clean and comfortable. Refrigerator, Electric kettle, 2 cups, saucers and spoons only. Tea, coffee, sugar and cookies/biscuits. No toaster. Clean bathroom, with old fixtures (hot tap and cold tap), but otherwise fine. Despite what I listed as them not having, we found the room fine and would stay again.
Counter service meals at gaming/lounge area – somewhat expensive, but adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeehan
16.9 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
113 reviews
18.0 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
905 reviews
18.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
16.8 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heemskirk Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Address: 1-25 Main Street, Zeehan, Tasmania 7469, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Zeehan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zeehan
Price Range: $92 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heemskirk Motor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Heemskirk Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskirk Motor Hotel Tasmania/Zeehan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing