We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, quiet, if a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zeehan
Somerset, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, quiet, if a bit dated”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here in a 2 bed apartment for just the one night. It's easy to find, being the only hotel in the village! Price is a bit high for what you get, probably due to lack of competition. It's quiet, basic, and the fixtures and fittings seem a bit dated, although very clean. Our unit had a shower, with hot and cold water, but problems getting both at the same time made showering interesting! The place is quiet during the day, and there is plenty of parking. However, this being a mining area, the motel is frequented by miners and mining contractors who have to get up very early. They will quite happily start their diesel-engined utes at 5am, leaving them running for 1/2 an hour to warm up, presumably at their employers expense! There's no satellite TV in the rooms, and even the terrestrial (analogue) TV is a bit dodgy, as Zeehan is somewhat off the beaten track. The food, however, is very good value. The owners like to call their restaurant a Bistro, but I wouldn't consider this one to be of that standard, although the menu is diverse and the food well presented. Their steaks are particularly worthy of a mention, presumably the miners won't put up with poor quality steaks! If you like nespresso coffee, this hotel has a top of the line nespresso machine, which is hard to beat for the quality beverage. The staff are very friendly. Hope this review helps you to choose the one hotel in town!!

Room Tip: As usual, avoid rooms near the stairs and entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Tasmedic,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed this beautiful part of the world.
Could you please advice which room you stayed in as we updated all our TV aerials when the change over to digital TV occurred and all TV reception was meant to be fixed.
We are glad you enjoyed the Nespresso coffee. We recently purchased this machine to improve our coffee offering and am glad to hear your feedback.
Kind regards,

Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    22
    15
    7
See reviews for
18
35
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

For those that don't already know, Zeehan is a ghost town on Tasmania's west coast. It has a few lovely old historic buildings in the main street, and is surrounded by some lovely mountains, but doesn't have too much more to offer. There is a lovely beach 30 minutes down a dirt/sand road (accessible by 2WD in dry weather) and it is well worth the drive. You can easily spend an afternoon in Zeehan, though. It's nice to go for a stroll up the street and look at all the deserted buildings. There is a shop or two along the main road. The locals are nice. The local police officer even gave us a wave despite the fact that he didn't know us from a bar of soap!

The Heemskirk is the best there is in town, but given that every other place has shut down, that doesn't say much.

THE GOOD:

- Bistro with lovely food
- Very nice staff (very helpful)

THE BAD

- Our bed had hairs in it (and they weren't ours)
- Room had musky smell
- Bit expensive for the quality of the room and location
- It's more of a motor inn, so be aware that there will be trucks coming and going much of the time (and if you're a women travelling on your own, wandering eyes to go with it - although you'll be perfectly safe)

Overall, if you can stay in Strahan, down the road, I'd strongly recommend you stop there instead. Zeehan is a unique little place, but you don't need an overnight stop to see the place. I'm sorry if this offends the locals, but it's the truth.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketMan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear jaiblueeyes,
Thank you for staying at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel and taking time to complete a review.

Zeehan itself has a rich and fascinating heritage. In the early 20th century, Zeehan was Tasmania’s third largest town, with a population of 10,000 people. In mining boom days, dozens of hotels lined the bustling Main Street and the town was known as Silver City. Today you can visit fine old buildings that reflect the town's history. The Pioneers Museum is a must to discover fascinating stories of the past. The Gaiety Theatre, built in 1899, then Australia’s largest theatre, was restored and re-opened in 2006. In the late 1800s and early 1900s, entertainers from around the world, including Enrico Caruso, Dame Nellie Melba and the infamous Lola Montez, performed here for packed audiences of wealthy miners.

Zeehan is conveniently situated for discovering the Tasmanian West Coast due to our central location - 30 minutes north of Strahan and Queenstown, 25 minutes south of Rosebery, 35 minutes south east of Corinna, and 65 minutes to Cradle Mountain.

I am very surprised and very sorry to hear you thought your bed was dirty. Our housemaids are well trained and pride themselves on the cleanliness of the rooms. If you could remember the room you stayed in i can investigate further including the musky smell.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The staff at this motel were very friendly but the accommodation, although spacious, needs some modernisation; however the electric blankets helped to make it feel cosier.

We learnt from the b&b we had stayed in the previous day that a large part of Tasmania is owned by a wealthy family who live in Melbourne; they own anything with the name “Pure Tasmania” which included one of the Gordon river boat cruises. We decided to book instead the World Heritage Cruise in Strahan, the red boat for a day trip on the Gordon River; this company has been family owned over four generations and is the original cruise company. It was an excellent trip which included a buffet lunch, going to Hells Gate and Sarah Island.

Zeehan has The West Coast Pioneers' Museum which looked very interesting. We only had time to look round the Gaiety Theatre built in 1898 which is an amazing building. It is being renovated and we were told that occasionally they put on shows.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingfuntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Witleyflopsybunny,
Thank you for staying at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel and for taking the time to post a review.

Yes our rooms are very spacious with cosy electric blankets and reverse cycle air-conditioning. We are currently completing a refurbishment of our rooms including soft furnishings of some of our rooms which will ensure a more modern and fresh decor.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your cruise and took time to visit the Gaiety Theatre. The West Coast Pioneers Museum should definitely be included on your next visit to learn about the rich history of Zeehan's mining boom days.

Many thanks,
Stephanie Sandor
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Very large room with double bed, 2 nightstands, couch, table and 2 chairs. Small, flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and board, great lighting, no microwave, and no internet connection in the room, but impossibly slow (useless) connection at the restaurant. Clean and comfortable. Refrigerator, Electric kettle, 2 cups, saucers and spoons only. Tea, coffee, sugar and cookies/biscuits. No toaster. Clean bathroom, with old fixtures (hot tap and cold tap), but otherwise fine. Despite what I listed as them not having, we found the room fine and would stay again.
Counter service meals at gaming/lounge area – somewhat expensive, but adequate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Zeehan is a depressing sort of place and this hotel appears to be the only place in town to stay.The only reason we stayed was to get an early start on the Pieman River Cruise, which is thoroughly recommended. The decor is straight from the 70s except perhaps for a newer shower recess. Unfortunately there appeared to be a drainage problem in the bathroom and the whole room had a musty smell. The bathroom door had a public toilet type sliding lock so we couldn't shut the smell out.
Because of the lack of competition in town we probably paid 30% more than the room was worth.
On the brighter side the staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. The dining room meals (2 different curries) appeared to be good but I drew the short straw and paid for it by spending the next couple of days close to a gents.

Room Tip: Stay at Strahan or Corinna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skigerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydneytogo, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Skigerrie,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear you did not get to fully appreciate what an interesting town Zeehan is.
Zeehan has a rich and fascinating heritage. It was known as "Silver City" of the West Coast in mining boom days when dozens of hotels lined the bustling Main Street and performers from all around the world, including Enrico Caruso, Dame Nellie Melba and the infamous Lola Montez, came here to perform for packed audiences of wealthy miners.
Today, fine old buildings, including the Gaiety Theatre, which is still used today, reflect the town's history, and the Pioneers Museum, a must visit, tells the story of the past.
Zeehan is centrally located to all the West Coast attractions for exploring Strahan, Queenstown, the Tarkine Rain Forest, Gordon River, Rosebery, Tullah, Trial Harbour, Franklin River, and Pieman river to name a few. This is an area rich with natural attractions.
Yes our Sri Lanklan chefs curries are good, but can be spicy!
I would very much appreciate if you please advise which room you stayed so we can investigate if there is an actual drainage problem.
With thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zeehan hotels

Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

I actually stayed at the Heemskirk for about two weeks through Christmas '03 but my experience was much the same as the other reviewers, the service was excellent the beds were very comfortable everything was impecably clean. The room we had for most of the stay had a kitchen where we were able to prepare most of our own meals to save money. The kitchen equipment was a little lacking but did have basic pots and pans. Still, it was more than I'd expected. The one thing I found to be less of a problem and rather just commical was that the shower in our room was apparently built for dwarves as the showerhead was a full foot (30 cm) shorter than the top of my head (I'm 5' 8" or 173 cm). It however worked very well with plenty of hot water. The staff even let us use their laundry facilities because we were going to be there so long. As I mentioned we made most of our own meals but the one meal we did eat at the resturant was very good and the selection of local Australian beers was excellent. The room decor was out of the 1970's but strangely everything was new looking. In short, clean comfortable room, friendly staff at a good price.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank americium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydneytogo, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel.

Please be aware that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment of the hotel rooms and decor to modernise all the rooms.

We hope to see you back at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
332 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I was recently travelling in Tasmania and decided on the small mining town of Zeehan as a good place to spend the night. The Heemskirk Motel is far from luxurious but it is a solid, comfortable place to stay. It is right on the edge of town on the road to Strahan and Rosebery. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk through to the other side of town. Quite a nice little place with lots of historic buildings and a great mining/mineral museum. Everything is within walking distance.

The rooms were decent, good-sized with what looks like 70’s décor and furniture – Austin Powers would like this place. The place was clean and tidy and there was minimal road noise to contend with. The rooms all have heat pumps but I couldn’t figure out how to get mine going, but it didn’t matter as the weather was nice and warm. The bathrooms were good sized and the showers were nice and hot with good water volume. My room was situated to catch the morning sun which was really nice to wake up to.

Check-in and check-out went smoothly and the hotel staff were all really helpful and friendly. There is plenty of parking out back. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and found it to be of good value – eggs, bacon, cereal, toast, and juice – but didn’t eat any other meals there. There is also a bar there as well.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Heemskirk, finding it a bit retro but very friendly and comfortable place. I don’t really have any complaints and would recommend it to other travellers passing through the west coast of Tasmania.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeehan
16.9 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
113 reviews
18.0 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
895 reviews
18.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
121 reviews
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
134 reviews
17.5 mi away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heemskirk Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Property: Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Address: 1-25 Main Street, Zeehan, Tasmania 7469, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Zeehan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zeehan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heemskirk Motor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heemskirk Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskirk Motor Hotel Tasmania/Zeehan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing