We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ive Seen”

West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Zeehan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Established in 1963 the West Coast Heritage Centre Zeehan has continued to grow and offers visitors a comprehensive experience and understanding of the history, heritage and culture of the Tasmanian West Coast. Visitors can experience everything from an Edwardian picture show in the historic Gaiety Theatre to the modern day underground mine simulation as part of their visit. The galleries and exhibits highlight the efforts of the pioneers', both men, women and children who carved an existence from the remote wilderness in search of Tasmanian mineral wealth and developed the region as we know it today.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Ive Seen”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have visited this museum 6 times over the last 10 years and each time there is something new.
To give justice to the amount of exihibits you need at least 1/2 a day.
Not only does it have internal historical displays but there is also an underground mine, outside train display and so much more.
I have seen a lot of museums in the 37 countries I have visited and I can honestly say this is the best local history museum I have ever seen.
Whats more is that Zeehan is central to all the west coast and has real cheap accomadation (especially compared to Strahan).
So you can base yourself here and its only 30 minutes drive to anywhere in the West Coast.
The only down side is that part of the museum is on the first floor and there is no lift.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip V, Manager at West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the West Coast of Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    42
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“History on the rugged Tasmanian west coast”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This museum is packed with stories of the mining history of the West Coast. The area is rich with gold, copper and zinc and there is a great display of minerals and crystals from the original Zeehan School of Mining and Metallurgy. Outside, there is a big selection of old mining equipment, old train engines. There is a tunnel leading to a simulated mine shaft, with a model of the Renison Tin mine, the world's largest underground tin mine.

This museum is let down by the lack of signage and general neglected feel. It has potential to be great, but suffers from shortage of funds. We went there with kids aged 9 and 7, and they found it sort of interesting but not that fun. The family entry price of $35 seemed quite high for the experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaela_Patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip V, Manager at West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan. We are sorry that your experience with us was not what you hoped, and will pass on your feedback to our Executive Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeehan, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a MUST SEE as they cover everything here from many early photos and artifacts to actual working machinery. There is an early miner's hut completely set up, the first electricity plant, working blacksmith's shop, working mining equipment, railway engines and historic buildings including the theater where Dame Nellie Melba came and sang, and a underground movie area with a movie going there.
There is that much to see you can spend days if you wanted.
Be sure to visit there is something for everyone there. Wheelchair access ever on the outside walkways

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 231KevinM231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip V, Manager at West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the West Coast of Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

From historic locomotives, to mineral samples, wonderful photographs, heritage gowns, Masonic Lodge meeting room and Lodge secrets revealed ... plus the most beautiful Gaiety Theatre in the Grand Hotel - this whole complex, indoor and outdoor - is a tribute to a pioneering existence that Should make Tasmania proud. Leave yourself at least two hours to look through. Sadly, These days that's all there is to commend Zeehan as a place to see - stay elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Geat Museum”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

THe West Coast Heritage Centre includes a mining museum, the Gaity Theatre, and a host of other exhibits relating to the mining and social history in the area. It is a huge complex and will take all day if you want to examine much of it closely. Probably not a place for younger kids unless you keep your visit short- they'll probably get bored. A large section is outdoors and includes steam locomotives (static) and large pieces of mining equipment from earlier days of mining. It includes a blacksmith's and wheelright shop which looks as if the workers had simply downed tools and walked away (which may well be true). Everything was there- including unused wagon wheel components awaiting assembly into new wheels. The size of the Gaity Theatre is amazing and hints at Zeehan's boom times (it was going to be the capital at one stage). There is an extensive mineralogical collection (left over from their School of Mines) and some good examples of the rare mineral Crocoite- Tassie's mineral emblem. By the time we had finished we were just about "Museumed-out" but it had been a very educational and interesting experience. It isn't hard to find- unlike another of Zeehan's "attractions"- the Spray Tunnel. This is an old mine site which features a tunnel you can walk through. The area has been well landscaped and has good interpretive signs and is a great place for a picnic lunch, but there are no signs pointing to it from the main road and we spent 1.5 hours in a fruitless search before giving up and going back to the caravan park for additional directions. We saw others driving around and then leaving. Come on Zeehan council, get your act together! All that effort wasted for the sake of a couple $20 signs!!
Go to the museum, but get detailled directions from a local if you want to see the old mine site...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan also viewed

 
Zeehan, Tasmania
 

Been to West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing