We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare gem. Value for money with view, comfort, great breakfast, bonus bikes and super friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Wynyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Absolutely loved this place. This is a fabulous location. My husband and I stayed here for one night on the 22nd February 2014. We stayed in room 4 with a lovely waterview, which all rooms seem to have.
The motel didn't look much from the outside however we were pleasantly surprised. The mattress was very comfortable and surprisingly so were the pillows. Not many places have comfortable pillows. Thanks for that. The bathroom had been nicely renovated and supplied soap and shampoo on tap in the shower.
We had a great deal for the night which included the most amazing buffet continental breakfast we've seen and two pushbikes. We loved riding the bikes along the promenade with beautiful water views.
The room had a microwave, toaster and jug and a supply of the usual tea, coffee and milk plus hot chocolate. Mugs were also supplied instead of just tiny cups so we were able to enjoy hoy chocolate in a mug.
The owners were super friendly and helpful. They even posted my phone charger back to me when I left it behind.
Our only real disappointment is that we didn't stay longer.
If we come to Tassie again we will definately stay here more than one night.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a waterview. Stay more than one night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Manager at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hi LynneM

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to add in all the bits extra to make our home you feel welcome and comfortable! We spent an absolute motza not that long ago on new beds and extra big pillows, because our business is of course, making sure you are getting a good nights' sleep! So if we achieved that, I'm pleased. Glad you took the bikes out too- they are super fun and great to pedal along the foreshore with.
Hopefully see you this way again soon

thanks again for taking the time to write a review
Regards
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Wynyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 316 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Service was terrific.
Rooms very comfortable.
Beautiful location. (Name completely accurate!) Rooms open directly onto the riverfront pathway.
Make sure you have the oven-baked bacon for breakfast.
One of our best stays in Tassie.

Room Tip: The more westerly rooms face the water a little more directly.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattandLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Hi mattandlana

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Our bacon is getting quite a reputation, so I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's sourced locally and smoked the old fashioned way by our local butcher. So extra yumm!

Hope to see you again some day
Regards
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

What a wonderful spot!. The room was clean and to be able to take our little dog with us for a weekend away was fantastic. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the great breakfast each morning in the lovely dining room which had a great view topped it off. Congratulations!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Hi Lesley l

So glad you enjoyed your stay. We love breakfast around here, so we go that bit extra to make sure there is something on our Buffett for everyone to enjoy. Perfect way to start the day!

Hope to see you again someday
Regards
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The staff from arrival until we left were just the best in our 2 week holiday to Tassie,
Loved the location - was great value for money. One of the hi-lights was the cooked breakfast on our last day. Requested crispy bacon - was the best I had in 40 years of being in the business cooked by one of the waitresses. the staff were exceptional Melissa [I think her name was] from arrival was so charming & pleasant - nothing was to much trouble. The two young ladies were great and real asset to the business. We will be staying here on our next trip - just love the area - so much to see and do. The Rhododendron garden in Burnie is a must.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edmond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hi Edmond g

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our little property. So pleased you enjoyed everything including the crispy bacon! I have never had it done like that anywhere else and I think it's the only way to cook bacon and believe it or not, we get people coming back just for the bacon at breakfast! Our staff are absolutely amazing. I agree wholeheartedly. They are a terrific group of people who really pride themselves on their professionalism and ability to make our guests happy. We always go through feedback together so they will be thrilled to read your comments as happy guests make us all happy.

See you again soon

Regards
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Of all the ten places we stayed in Tasmania this one from its very name was chosen because it would at least help to keep the budget down, as motels are generally accepted as the lowest form of accommodation. A still active website still refers to it as Burnie Airport Motel so the change to The Waterside was a step in the right direction, but I would challenge the retention of 'motel' just because it is one storey and you can park immediately outside the room. There are plenty of photographs of the rooms and location to show it is beside the water and not a runway! What is much more significant is the excellent staff; the management are professional and always on hand; the young staff are enthusiastic and nothing is too much trouble. My wife spoke to the owner's wife who enjoyed attending sales to buy items from the 1960s period. We were made to feel very much at home.
When I left I said my only complaint queried the name motel. I was told 'we like to exceed our guests' expectations.' They did just that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hi serge bath

Wow, what a lovely review! So glad we made your visit to oz memorable. I've had a few people say they can't quite categorize our place as it's a cross between motel, hotel and B and B. That's great in my book as I think we are pretty unique. We are also known as two names as our unique positioning is being very close to the burnie airport, but not on the runway! So we pick up a lot of people wanting to stay close to the airport who would otherwise booked in burnie which is 20 minutes away. Let your wife know I have just bought a huge new piece for the guest lounge which You'll have to check out next time !

Thanks again for your kind words and feedback.

Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Your made feel welcome the moment you walk into reception and it doesn't stop there. The rooms are very clean with all your needs catered for, if you need anything the staff will help or put you in the right direction where you can get it. We had breakfast in the dinning room it was fresh and a good variety. Would highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hi Rhonda p

Thanks so much for the review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed everything despite the outside appearance. We are working on a few ideas to give the place a boost within the confines of what we have to play with, so hopefully will look a bit better next time you visit!

Thanks again for taking the time to review
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the Wynyard for one night on an overnighter up to Somerset and first impressions were a little concerning, it looked like it was going to be a bit run down.
We checked in and the staff were very lovely and welcoming. Entering the room it looked very basic but on closer inspection the owners have gone to great lengths to restore this wonderful gem, working with the existing charm of the retro property they have managed to take you back in time whilst offering a few creature comforts of the 21st century. The bed was comfy the shower was great (no chasing the water around). linen was nice, I really couldn't fault anything. Directly out the front door you can park your car. Across the road was the water where we sat having cheese and bickies watching the tide come in on the chairs that where supplied in the cupboard of the room. wonderful! The breakfast was included in our room and I have to say I went a little bit over board as everything was delicious- I was full for most of the day. continental breakfast with local Tassie cheese, homemade jam and relish, generous cup of coffee, real ham, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads all fresh and delicious. Do yourself a favor send check in to this beauty if you are in the area. Very affordable and definitely value for money. the website is good to.

Room Tip: Any room is good
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hi arewe

Wow, what a great review. So glad you enjoyed everything as we are constantly putting our "what would the customer like" hats on to make sure we he got everything covered. I've still got more ideas to go yet into the rooms, but apparently I have this thing my husband refers to as a budget? I'm not allowed to go shopping for anymore vintage items for awhile! The front of the motel is on our list for this year for a bit of a facelift. We have a few ideas that will hopefully give a bit of a better impression, as as you discovered looks can be deceiving. So hopefully if you are this way again a new facelift for the front will help things look more congruent with the experience!

Thanks again for your review

Regards
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynyard
19.5 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.9 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leisure Ville Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wharf Hotel
The Wharf Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wynyard
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coastal Pods
Coastal Pods
#1 of 3 in Wynyard
51 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Wynyard

Address: 1 Goldie St, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Wynyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Price Range: $86 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterfront Wynyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at The Award Winning Waterfront Wynyard. Situated on the banks of the Inglis River in Wynyard, this well appointed 3.5 star motel will keep you coming back for more. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, Cable Television, blazingly fast ADSL broadband internet and all the views you can handle. Relax by the fire in our lounge area and read a good book from our guest library. Our onsite guest lounge prides itself on sourcing the best local produce to give you an everlasting taste of Tassie at its best. Breakfast like a king, in our cafe with freshly baked muffins, eggs and bacon on sour dough toast or a hot cup of our Lavazza espresso for a real kick start to the day. For work or pleasure, you’ll be back to stay at the Waterfront, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waterfront Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Wynyard Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing