We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Wynyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Both this and the Burnie Airport Motel (rated at no 2) are one and the same place! I've never stayed in a motel before but this 60s retro styled motel must have been what it was like in 60s America, only updated with wi-fi internet and flat screen TV. My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our Tasmania trip and can recommend it as good value accommodation at 99 dollars a night. Clean, comfortable, excellent shower, electric blanket if needed, park right outside your door. Good continental breakfast included but for an extra 7 dollars you could have a cooked breakfast. Had to make an international call to the UK and one to mainland Australia before leaving and charged only 4 dollars! Recommended, but don't go to the Wharf Hotel nearby to eat (see my review)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear tricky49

Thanks so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we really do try to go the extra mile to give everyone a great stay that represents value for money as well. When we get it right, it means a lot to us.

Hopefully we will see you our way again someday!

Regards
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Wynyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 316 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

As their inroom information states, the rooms are original 1960 condition, which they are proud of (even down to the non-water saving showerhead). Excepting the updated television and room fridge. Rooms are spotless clean and tidy and what you'd expect from a 3 - 3.5 star motel. parking right @ the door and waterfront directly across the road (traffic non-existant). Breakfast is a feast affair with a fully cooked breakfast for $12 (don't get that anywhere else). Located a short 3 minute walk from the main street of Wynyard and 14kms from Burnie. Staff are nice and professional. The only downside was the bed was almost against the wall, which made it difficult to get out of early in the morning for the toilet pitstop without waking my partner. Also tended to roll into the middle of the bed in room 6, Ok to stay for a couple of nights, but not a week. One shop to visit in the main drag is "save a buck". Oversized cash convertors, with heaps of 2nd hand bargains to be had. Easy to catch a bus back to burnie if you don't have a car or easy drive to the north west coast of Stanley.

Room Tip: don't choose room 6 - the bed is terrible with a sag in the middle
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear waggerbj

Thanks for your feedback on our motel and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast offering. I am a bit puzzled about your comments regarding the bed as all of our beds are less than a year old, so it should not be sagging as you described. I wonder perhaps the topper may have needed a bit of fluffing ? I will investigate further as we certainly don't wish anyone to be experiencing roll together! As for the bed being close to the wall, as we have a few rooms with the oringinal built in side tables which does restrict placement of the bed, so when we bought all queen beds it has made that a little squeezy on one side of the bed. We are in the process though of building handcrafted timber bed heads for all the rooms this year, which will mean we can get rid of the restricting built in side table, thus eliminate the problem.

Thanks again for your feedback as it always helps us to keep on top of things.
Regards
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for one night at the Waterfront Wynyard. If time had permitted would've liked to stay a couple of days and do some more exploring. Great position right on the water and easy walking distance to the main street. It is a retro motel and so it is typical 60's - 70's style and facilities are of the era but the beds are certainly modern and very comfortable. The management have added little touches which make it a bit more special than the typical 3 1/2 star motel. The room was very clean and towels etc all excellent The breakfast was lovely and highly recommend the cooked breakfast for a little extra. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbacMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear JbacMelbourne

thanks so much for your review and your feedback on our property. I am a lover of midcentury stuff which is why I love it when people appreciate what we are trying to do with our little motel. We still have much to do though and I'm constantly trawling shops for interesting items of the era.

With respect to the brekkie- we hope everyone takes the time to come in and enjoys this, in particular the hot brekkie as we have a great supplier of locally smoked bacon which really does taste pretty good!

Thanks again for the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you this way again sometime soon!

Regards
cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Location and cleanliness OK. 'Blazing fast internet' hopeless. We used our own 3G modem. Restaurant expensive for pensioners. Service whimsical bordering on rude. We weren't welcome for the evening meal when a tour bus was visiting. Staff loudly berated us for not 'reading' our compendium, which we had. It never addressed our 'mistake'. We were patronisingly lectured a second time at breakfast next day. Another time we were refused breakfast at the normal time courtesy of a local holiday we didn't know about. In hundreds of motels throughout the world we've never been spoken to like we were at this motel. We ate in uptown Wynyard after that. Parking will be hard. We were abused by a tour bus driver, Our recommendation:- may be OK but check local holidays and make sure your visit won't co-incide with a tour bus when parking will be difficult and you may be rudely refused restaurant service. We expect future lengthy visits to this part of Tasmania but will seek out alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you Barry H for your feedback. I have followed up on a number of items you have raised as things that have made your stay with less than enjoyable and would like to address them as follows:

Firstly with respect to the internet access- we offer ADSL High speed access to all the rooms for a flat fee of $7.50 for unlimited downloads and usage for one day. I understand that you were offered this service but declined in favour of the free wifi we have in the guest lounge. I understand that you decided to attempt to use this free wifi in your room, which is several metres away from the guest lounge where the signal is strongest. Unfortunately, due to the double thick brick walls between rooms the penetration of the free wireless can be limited beyond a few rooms either side of the restaurant. I have checked with several guests today if the high speed internet is a problem in their room and they have indicated it not to be an issue. I understand that internet via the ADSL is the fastest we can achieve in this area, so perhaps that may have been a better option for you.

With respect to the service you received- it is certainly not our intention to provide rude service in any shape or form and I do regret that you may have left us feeling that we were rude in anyway . As we are a smaller property, when we have coach groups from time to time, there are some logistical challenges which mean we ask that guests let us know if they would like to use the guest lounge facilities during meals times so we can ensure their needs are catered for. I understand that you and your wife were offered a meal for the evening you chose to come in, but you refused and left to eat elsewhere- which of course is your choice. There was no issue with you coming in, merely that had we have known we could have set aside a nice quiet table for you by the fire instead of trying to fit you in around the group. I do apologise if that seems unfair or unjust to you, but it simply allows us to better to prepare for the enjoyment of all our guests when we have a group booking in. As it was most apparent from your demeanour with staff you were upset about being asked to let us know if you were coming in for dinner, the staff member in question again spoke to you the following day to apologise for the inconvenience and to let you know that information about the services we offer was in the guest compendium and as you were staying for while it may be good to have a quick read through to avoid any more disappointments - which you have clearly taken as a ‘patronising lecture’ , which is indeed unfortunate, as this was not the intention.

With respect to the tour bus parking issues, the coaches park at the far end of the property, away from guest access points. The coaches usually arrive at around 4pm, so generally we have very few other guests in house. Once they arrive, they temporarily park in front of the building whilst unloading guests as most of them are elderly and require a stable surface from which to alight. This process takes no more than 15 minutes generally and yes, it will require a few minutes of cooperation from our guests if they happen to arrive at that time. We have found most guests are more than happy to accommodate this, but in this case, clearly this was an issue for you.

With respect to the public holiday later opening times- these are clearly displayed on the door and in the compendium, but I accept it would be difficult for anyone travelling to be aware of them, so in future I will ensure that a notice is issued to all our long staying guests of any public holidays that are occurring during their stay to avoid having them waiting 30 minutes for a later opening time.

I understand from conversations with several staff members that many attempts were made to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible- especially as you were staying for ten nights with us. We gave you a complimentary upgrade to a king room, complimentary breakfast for two each morning and an extra chair in the room as per your request- but clearly this was not enough to make you feel better about your experience. Frustratingly, where we felt we were trying to give the highest priority to your needs as our guests, you felt we were rude and unaccommodating - so clearly a disconnect there for us to examine.

It is very disappointing to me when a customer feels that we have not treated them well- suffice to say that I apologise again if this experience has made you feel undervalued as a customer- it is certainly not our intention and your feedback is appreciated to help us improve our service and product.

Regards
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival the motel doesn't look as it does in the brochures. It's a little old and rickety. However when we checked in the ladies were lovely but their desk is a mess. The reception area looks a but chaotic which leaves you with the unnerving sense of what is to come next. We dubiously checked out the room an it was ok. The decor is old and the cabinets are scratched and worn. The bedspreads need updating and the bed heads are also scratched and worn. It is extremely difficult to get the key out of the front door and had to ask a cleaner for assistance. The bathroom door also needed some shaving back as it didnt close - due to the winds it once blew open to my embarrassment. Also the little shampoo was only half full which is a little worrying.
The good things were - a beautiful view straight out from your room overlooking the water. The breakfast was included and it was really nice. Really close to everything. They made extra effort to make sure the toilet water is blue. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thanks Danykelly for your review and feedback.

Yes we do have an older style motel and we are engaged in a yearly process of updating and painting to keep the rooms up to standard. One of the main things we are doing is replacing bedheads with new ones, but it's taking a bit of time as these are being hand crafted and with 25 rooms it is a big job. We have done most of the motel, only our budget rooms are left but should be completed by mid next year. As for the bathroom door, I will have this checked to avoid any future embarrassing moments!

With respect to the bed spreads , they are about four years old, so probably won't be replaced anytime in the next two years. We try to purchase spreads that are practical and fairly inoffensive, but not probably going to be to everyone's tastes.

I am disappointed the reception was in such a state that you should feel some ominous dread about approaching your room, and it will be something I will follow up to see what can be done to improve the first impression experience.

We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast as we aim to make it a really enjoyable experience for our guests.
Once again, thank you for your review. All reviews and comments are Of great help to us to ensure we can keep on top of things and keep things to a standard that make our guests stay a really enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a old looking motel, but it has been decorated very well and is a bit quirky. There was a little box of chocolates on our bed when we arrived, very nice. We had a relaxing stay here and had breakfast in the morning in the restaurant. It was great with a good choice of breakfast treats. The ladies at reception were friendly and helpful and there was a Laundry room with one washing machine and dryer, very handy if you have been on the road for a while. Short walk into town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear tuna11

Thanks for your feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We like to throw in a couple of little treats into our deluxe rooms , hence the yummy Anvers truffles.

Once again thanks for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. Hopefully we will see you in tassie again someday.
Thanks
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rooms as described, very retro, clean and spacious. Service excellent. Close to Wharf Hotel for a great dinner and FABULOUS beds! Would stay again. Great stopover between Stanley and Launceston with great sightseeing to keep you amused....tulips, lighthouse etc....

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sambojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear sambojane

Thanks so much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the beds, as we spent a fortune on them this year! All our rooms have new beds, and we have had some really positive comments from our customers. Thanks for taking the time to let us kow your experience as it ensures we keep on track in our efforts to provide the best possible service and experience we can for our customers.

Thanks
Cyndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynyard
19.5 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.9 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leisure Ville Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wharf Hotel
The Wharf Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wynyard
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coastal Pods
Coastal Pods
#1 of 3 in Wynyard
51 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Wynyard

Address: 1 Goldie St, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Wynyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Price Range: $86 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterfront Wynyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at The Award Winning Waterfront Wynyard. Situated on the banks of the Inglis River in Wynyard, this well appointed 3.5 star motel will keep you coming back for more. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, Cable Television, blazingly fast ADSL broadband internet and all the views you can handle. Relax by the fire in our lounge area and read a good book from our guest library. Our onsite guest lounge prides itself on sourcing the best local produce to give you an everlasting taste of Tassie at its best. Breakfast like a king, in our cafe with freshly baked muffins, eggs and bacon on sour dough toast or a hot cup of our Lavazza espresso for a real kick start to the day. For work or pleasure, you’ll be back to stay at the Waterfront, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waterfront Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Wynyard Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing