We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Dog-Friendly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Wynyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fabulous Dog-Friendly Place”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We decided to splurge and book a double king room here at the waterfront for two nights - it wasn't expensive $111 per night (off-season) we received free wi-fi and continental buffet breakfast was included in the price. We booked through Booking.com.
We arrived late (8pm) but was greeted by a friendly sweet girl at the front desk (Katie)

What a wonderful place this is - after playing a practical joke and asking the girl if we could change rooms as the room didn't have a bed lol - she was so horrified and came rushing to our room where she was greeted with a SURPRISE and offered a beer (she looked over 18 but was only 16) Oops our mistake - she was a good girl and told us she was underage lol...

Our room was gorgeous - the bed is so big that my husband complained that he lost me in it - lol - they have two fluffy feather pillows (a dream to sleep on) two huge European square pillows and two extra pillows in the cupboard and then 3 cushions on the bed). we arrived with a lovely free treat of ANVERS BELGIUM CHOCOLATE (incidentally my husband was born in Anvers so it was again a wonderful surprise) their is a microwave, hot water jug, flat screen TV with Austar and an easy to use remote control, FREE internet and wireless too - a Telephone, a great electric heater, fancy clock radio with a remote control (lol) also an electric fan, fridge filled with yummies and alcohol, in the bathroom which is spotlessly clean is a hairdryer, extra mirror which extends from the wall so you can move it low or high and a high pressure/massage type shower head (just wonderful) water pressure is perfect and plenty of hot water, soap, shampoo, conditioner and all linen is supplied - there is a desk and wonderful black, swivel office chair. In the closet is plenty of coat hangers and trouser holders x 2 - an ironing board and iron and amazingly there is two fold up chairs (high quality) so you can sit outside and enjoy the sunshine and the view of the lovely beach which is right outside your front door, there is also a suitcase holder which we found was very useful to keep our stuff up off the ground - plenty of different styles of lighting - including lights beside bed (careful they can get a little hot)

Large windows(curtained) and secure lock on door with a chain latch as well - we felt very safe here... the bonus was that the curtain was able to be pulled over the door so that you felt so much more private - we just loved it here...

We received a complimentary buffet breakfast each morning - what a smorgasboard!! different types of cereals - I had a very fruity muesli which was just scrumptious and you had a choice of skim milk or full milk - there was different types of bread (I had raisin toast) yes they provide toasters and different types of spreads like jams, peanut butter, honey etc, my husband enjoyed the hot croissants with Brie (soft cheese) and ham and sliced cheese as well - there was also yoghurt, 4 different types of juice, different sliced fruit like watermelon etc, canned peaches and pears were available too as well as muffins and I am sure I am missing heaps more - they make the best coffee in the morning (Lavazza REAL coffee - also available FREE in your room with a coffee plunger) - for a fee you can have a huge hot brekky if you desire!
The breakfast room was large and clean and very nicely set up. You can also play checkers, chess, and other board games while you are there - FREE of Charge!! (they are in the breakfast room) - Oh also there is a FREE morning newspaper in the breakfast room daily too...

They have a restaurant available in the evenings but it is only open in their busy season but we came in their very quiet season (nearly winter) so they suggested we eat at a neighbouring place and we enjoyed it very much.

Parking of the car was right outside our door so we didn't have to carry our suitcase very far.

The Gentleman who runs this place is called Justin - he is a lovely person and he has a dog called Molly - yes this wonderful place is dog friendly and we will be back with our beautiful dog to visit again.

Also I got to have a late check-out of 12 noon - Yeehaa! More time in that glorious bed...

Thank-you for a wonderful stay and the cleaner was wonderful - came every morning and she made our bed and replaced our linen - took away our rubbish and vacuumed and best of all she had a happy lovely nature - if you want to be treated like a 5 star guest but not have to pay for it - COME HERE!!!

Room Tip: We loved our room - Room 17 - Double King Room - had an ensuite and huge double king bed - and heaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Wow- Thanks so much for the review- it looks like I might have paid you to write it- but I didn't!!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are so pleased you noticed and appreciated all the little touches we like to do in the rooms to make sure everyone is as comfortable as possible.

We would love to have you back with your dog. We have two dog friendly rooms- our Paws suites at either end of the property to be closer to the dog running areas and dog friendly beach. These are not king rooms, but just as comfy as all of our rooms have new queen beds with lovely warm toppers on them....unless you happen to get the room with NO bed in it! (We had a little laugh at the practical joke you played on katie)

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Regards
Cyndia Hilliger (justin's better half!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    95
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
155
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We drove into this old motel to stay a night thinking it would be very ordinary. It was right on the water, the beds were the must comfortable, the breakfast was good, the staff we so helpful. We had our best night sleep in this motel. Enjoyed walking out the front door to walk along the waterfront in the morning. Would differently stay again.

Room Tip: All the room face the water front and all were very quite during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Gayle P

Thanks so much for your review and feedback. We are constantly upgrading and working to improve the motel and its facilities, including work on the exterior as I know many people have made the same comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to soak in the sea side atmosphere!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Cyndia Hilliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel was such a find.. absolutely gorgeous location, friendly town, funky cool decor, beautiful breakfast, great - helpful staff, quiet location, central to the north west coast! I can't say enough except - WE WILL BE BACK! We discovered the brilliant markets, second hand shops and the amazing homewares shop at the northern end! We stayed here for the last two nights of our vacation and are so pleased we did - thanks guys!

Room Tip: We were in room 17 which was perfect! No issue with noise, but I really don't believe that anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi Eleanor H

Thanks so much for your review and feedback. I love mid century stuff (a child of the 70s) so my passion is to restore the motel with fun stuff of the era, without sacrificing on quality or comfort. Justin gets nervous every time I go into a secondhand shop as to what I am going to come out with! I am so pleased you liked it!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the waterfront again sometime in the future.

Regards
Cyndia Hilliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a small hotel in a small town, it's very well priced but basic. The staff were very helpful and the location is on the water so there's always something to watch. Walking distance from restaurants and we found it convenient and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 292fiona292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Fiona

Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on having the best staff on the coast as everyone in our business genuinely cares about service and about our customers. So pleased you expereinced that.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future some time.

Regards
Cyndia Hilliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Although we only stayed overnight we found this motel to be best that we stayed at on our recent trip to Tasmania.
Although the staff were young we found them to be very courteous, helpful and very professional.
The room was spacious, clean & very comfortable. Great position was also a bonus.
Would definitely stay again next time in Wynyard.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skitraveller-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Skittraveller

Thank you so much for your feedback and review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at out little motel. We aim to please, and our staff genuinely love customers, so its not hard for us!

Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Tassie.

Regards

Cyndia Hilliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This older style Motel is the best yet!!!! Staff are wonderful so helpful. Room was spotless and the bed was great. Young Staff member heated our muffins in the morning and made sure the eggs and the rest of the best Brecky in Tassie was perfect!!! Might be older style but this is tops in Tassie. would revisits in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Stay here you will enjoy it!!! Wharf pub across the road has a great steak and Tassie Salmon- great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LrrieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. Our housekeepers have all worked for us for years and love what they do. They take pride in having those rooms absolutely spotles, so I am so pleased you noticed.

We try to keep our service professional, but more importantly we like to treat our guests like friends coming back to see us- as they often do! In fact we can't get rid of them!! Which of course is exactly the way we want it!

Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future

Regards
Cyndia Hilliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I went to Tasmania in October primarily to visit family but decided to choose a couple of places to spend a few days. Not having been there before whatever we chose was going to be a chance. This motel may not be one of your grand 5 star or even the wonderful 4 star that we find through SE Asia but for position I don't think you could find one prettier. Rooms are fairly standard but the staff are lovely and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them And when you say waterfront that's exactly what you get. I used to take my morning coffee, take 5 steps acroos the driveway and sit on the wall and watch the Pelicans and other birdlife.
the towns has everything you could need in it, supermarket, chemist a couple of pubs etc. And such a short drive to the beautiful Table Cape tulip farm. We were lucky enough to time it that they were in flower.
We like thsi place so much we have already booked to go back early next January.

Room Tip: choose a King room - lovely comfy beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy291150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thanks So much for your feedback! We are constantly updating the rooms to make them as comfy as possible. The king beds are of course the best!! So glad you got to enjoy the magic of the river side setting with your early morning cuppa! Its part of the magic that we just cant sell in a picture.

Regards
Cyndia Hilliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynyard
19.5 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.9 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coastal Pods
Coastal Pods
#1 of 3 in Wynyard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wharf Hotel
The Wharf Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wynyard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
7.6 mi away
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Wynyard

Property: The Waterfront Wynyard
Address: 1 Goldie St, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Wynyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterfront Wynyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at The Award Winning Waterfront Wynyard. Situated on the banks of the Inglis River in Wynyard, this well appointed 3.5 star motel will keep you coming back for more. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, Cable Television, blazingly fast ADSL broadband internet and all the views you can handle. Relax by the fire in our lounge area and read a good book from our guest library. Our onsite guest lounge prides itself on sourcing the best local produce to give you an everlasting taste of Tassie at its best. Breakfast like a king, in our cafe with freshly baked muffins, eggs and bacon on sour dough toast or a hot cup of our Lavazza espresso for a real kick start to the day. For work or pleasure, you’ll be back to stay at the Waterfront, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waterfront Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Wynyard Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing